We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel in every respect”
Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #410 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in every respect”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been staying at the Blandford , on and off, over the past fifteen years, and i always find a warm welcome and a very comfortable experience! Rooms are well equipped and cosy , the breakfast is copious (buffet); and above all , the staff are always incredibly helpful, flexible, knowledgeable and patient!
As a bonus , the hotel is very well situated for bus/tube travel, and is in a rather "safe"-feeling upmarket area of London;

Recommended without hesitation !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brusselsbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear brusselsbryan,

Thank you for your fantastic review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We cannot be happier - such a great review from a frequently returning guest is the best feedback we could ever get. It's good to know that we meet with your expectations every time you're staying with us and we will keep working hard to provide this standard.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    297
    85
    40
    14
See reviews for
151
181
79
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Well run, clean and friendly. My room was good though a little small, but this is London. No evening meal available but lot of restaurants close by so not an issue. Breakfast good. Possible to walk to Oxford street and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, there is plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and things to see around here! Thank you for the positive comments on the breakfast service and the staff's performance.

Looking forward to welcome you in the Blandford Hotel again.


Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is located quite close to the Baker Street tube stop so its quite convenient. The room I stayed in was small but well equipped. Breakfast was great with good & friendly (russian!) staff. The staff at the reception was quite helpful too & some one was at the reception all the time. There was free wi-fi plus they even lent me a converter! The hotel was quite clean too.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors because internet doesn't work well on the 1st 2 floors. Choose 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrapali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, customer service and the little - but important - extras which make your stay pleasant.

Hopefully we can welcome you in the Blandford Hotel again.


Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was very pleased with the Blandford and would happily stay there again. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Impeccably clean building and I loved feel of the wood panelling throughout. The room itself was perfectly adequate in size and again, very clean. Breakfasts are good although not outstanding but there is a nice range of options. My wifi was fantastic although a colleague staying at the same time had some difficulties with his. There was some construction noise on weekday mornings, which is not the fault of the hotel. Apart from that, though, it was very quiet. The location is fantastic. Being close to Baker Street underground station is great because that station is served by so many different lines that it is easy to get to from many different places in the city. You are also close to many shops and places to get food, and not far at all from Oxford and Regent Streets if you want to go shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as our famous customer service. Great to hear that you have found the cleanness of the hotel outstanding.

Hopefully, we can welcome you in the Blandford Hotel again.

Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is an ok place to stay, but it won't set your life on fire. Tucked away behind Baker St this is an ideally placed hotel if you want to explore Fitzrovia and indulge in some upper-echelon shopping.

The hotel is a short walk from Baker St Tube so getting there is no problem if you're a rail traveller. The entrance is narrow and this really defines the rest of the place.There is a small TV room by reception but 5 people would fill it. Checking in was painless and easy. Very old fashioned 'proper' keys on a huge plastic fob also holds your electricity activator. The corridor to the lift is narrow and the lift is a squeeze.

The bedroom was adequate with enough space but the end of the bed leaves you just enough room to navigate to the clothes storage. Lots of storage space though. The usual telly, coffee, iron, hair-dryer facilities were present. The room reminded me of the kind of hotels I used to stay in 25 years ago; dark wood and traditional soft furnishings. Good shower space and enough hot water, although this didn't apply after 11-ish in the pm, so don't come in late grubby!

There is aircon in the room but even on the highest temp (28) it still couldn't heat the room quickly, take jammies.

All in all an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't whine because it's not perfect, nothing ever is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are happy that you have found our location convenient - it is indeed, no matter if you're in town for leisure or business. Also good to hear that you were happy with the services and you didn't miss anything during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

For over 8 years the blandford hotel has been my retreat in London.it is clean,comfortable and welcoming. I always feel very safe, the staff remember me and endeavour to make everyone welcome and fulfill all reasonable requests. The small grocery shops on the corner are useful and there are many reasonable priced restaurants within the vicinity. Close to Baker Street tube. I highly recommend bland ford hotel but I am loath to do so as if may mean they get fully booked and so unable to meet my requirements.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jempsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was truly happy reading your positive review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you repeatedly enjoyed your stay with us, our convenient location and highly rated customer service and that extra mile we always go for our guests.
Your feedback means a lot to us and we will do our best to keep up to your standards as always.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2013. The hotel is very well located, just next to Baker Street. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very, very small. The breakfast was alright, there wasn't much served. I was missing some fresh stuff, fruits and veggies and such.

The wi-fi was very poor. The staff at the reception said that the wi-fi hotspot was just outside my room and therefore it should work perfectly. However I had to sit on the floor right next to the door for it to even remotely work.

The street outside the hotel wasn't noisy, instead I could hear everyone talking in the corridors outside the room. I could also hear people walking in the room above.
The shower was like a spaceship, couldn't quite figure out how it worked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumiloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you enjoyed our convenient location and highly rated customer service and that extra mile we always go four our guests.
Our building is a converted building, therefore we have different sizes in each room category. We certainly have bigger rooms as well, but in London the independent hotels are pretty much offer the same.
In our room rate the continental breakfast is automatically included - but you also have a choice of the bigger English breakfast for extra charge.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#619 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#295 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#59 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#150 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Property: Blandford Hotel
Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in London
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing