We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #418 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is in a great location being a 5min walk from Baker St subway station which will link you with anywhere in London along with a couple of pubs nearby for a last pint before bed. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in June. Front of the hotel is attractive and reception is clean modern and friendly. The gentleman behind the desk was very welcoming and had us booked in within a couple of minutes with our cases being taken to the room by another member of the staff. The elevator is a bit on the small side but reasonably fast. The corridor to our room was clean and bright. Our room, No 33, looked out the front of the hotel with a good sized bathroom and shower, large wardrobe with a safe at the bottom that you can just squeeze a lap top in,desk and chair along with flat screen TV. The room itself is quite small with the double bed but more than enough room for a couple. Breakfast was served between 7am and 9am in a dining room in the basement which was bright, clean and the staff were very efficient and welcoming. As for food available is the usual English fried breakfast which was tasty and not greasy there is also a selection of yogurts,cereals and toast. To sum up this is a great hotel at very reasonable prices for London.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road and being London noise is part and parcel of night time life although it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimneysweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I’d like to thank you for such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Blandford hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide clean, affordable accommodation and this combined with our location will ensure a very comfortable stay with us.

Now we look forward to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel.

Kind regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    296
    85
    40
    14
See reviews for
151
181
79
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Blandford is a friendly, clean and efficient hotel. My room was perhaps a little small but it functioned very well - had plenty of hanging space, an iron, hair dryer, tv, desk, free wi-fi etc.etc. The bathroom had an excellent and spacious shower. I had a very good night's sleep and the breakfast was, while not exciting, absolutely fine to set me up for my meeting that morning. Price seemed very reasonable for such a central London hotel - five minutes from Baker Street tube.All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sophie,

I’d like to thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Blandford Hotel. It's such an honour considering you are a well travelled reviewer.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have highlighted that our rooms are clean, the service is great, and it's all very centrally located in the heart of our wonderful London.

We hope to see you soon again at the Blandford Hotel.

Best regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very good location near baker street underground.Small rooms but the norm for medium priced European hotels.Room was clean,had air conditioning,modern bathroom.good US style shower.
Breakfast was included and was typically English.Very pleasant and helpful staff in the breakfast room and behind the desk.Except for room size definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the Lobby level. Room was narrow and long with 3 single beds.Mattress was good.and room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I’d like to thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Blandford Hotel.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have highlighted that our rooms are clean, the service is great, and it's all very centrally located in the heart of our wonderful London.

We hope to see you soon again at the Blandford Hotel.

Best regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel, a short distance away from Baker St Underground is in an excellent area for visitors. The area is safe, clean and everything you want is within 5 minutes walk. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Staff were always courteous and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and staff in the breakfast room looks after guests very well. Free WiFi was an added bonus.man excellent hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I’d like to thank you for such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Blandford hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy, that you have highlighted that our rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable.

Now we look forward to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel.

Kind regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Blandford Hotel is a pretty, reasonably priced hotel in the fashionable Marylebone district of London. It's location -- just a few hundred yards from the Baker Street underground station and its four connecting underground lines -- couldn't be more convenient, and the hotel makes a great base for exploring the city. For our purposes, it was one of the few non-chain hotels that could accommodate a party of 4. The staff is courteous and helpful. But there were a couple of major issues that kept it from being a great hotel experience, and I'm not sure I'd book there again.

The first problem was the noise. The room we were originally assigned was directly next to the elevator -- and very close to the lobby. We could hear every person's coming and goings, as well as their polite and appropriate interactions with the staff. It wasn't anyone's fault, but the rooms are THAT close to the lobby. If you're a light sleeper, best ask for a room above the first floor. In our case -- needing accommodation for three -- we couldn't change our room until our third day. The poor sleep didn't make for the best couple of days in London possible.

Second -- and I'm aware that this is a very personal issue -- we woke up to the overwhelming smell of bacon on our first two days there! Our room was apparently right above the kitchen exhaust. By the end of two days in the room, I felt like everything I had in my suitcase smelled like an Cracker Barrel uniform. Yuck! Those with an aversion to strong smells will definitely be better off above the first floor.

Third -- as indicated in a previous review (review posted May 29, 2013), there was a very noticeable, mechanical droning evident in our fourth floor room. The noise was certainly NOT eliminated by fixing a fan, as indicated by the manager's response to that unflattering review. It's a dull kind of "white noise," and seems to emanate from the roof. We found that having the air conditioning on masked the noise enough to make sleep possible -- people who like to sleep with a white noise machine might even find it restful. But all three of us noticed it, so I don't see why the manager's response denied its existence, unless it's been a problem for people in the past.

The staff couldn't have been nicer, and accommodated our request to change rooms when it was possible. The included breakfast was adequate to start off the day -- although the coffee was abominable, and we actually brought our own Starbucks into breakfast after the first two days. The rooms are tiny, but that's not the biggest problem in the world. (We actually had to climb OVER our daughter's pull out couch to get to the door when it was extended, and she thought that was just hilarious.) I hate to be so negative, but I can only say that in our case the negatives did outweigh the positives. We will probably look for another hotel when we go back to London next spring, although I realize the price and the location make the Blandford an attractive option.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you have an aversion to noise or strong smells. Be prepared for mechanical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaquitaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I am pleased about the good comments on our great location, friendly and helpful staff and service.

I am very sorry for the bad experience with the food smell, this is an issue what we are working on it, and only came up lately in the unusual warm weather in London.

Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was as advertised. The pictures are very accurate. Everything is clean, organized, and reasonable. They have air conditioning, which is great. The tube stop is about a block away with lots of lines, so it is super easy to get around. Great central location, but quiet. The street is clean and safe. The breakfast is decent. Overall, a great value!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service.
Air-Conditioning, free WI-Fi, and the choice between the continental and the buffet breakfast are very important factors when you choose your hotel. We are more than happy, that you were also satisfied with your stay.

I hope to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We returned to the Blandford Hotel 4 moths after our first stay. This time we were 4 in two double rooms. We did not like one of them and without any hesitation we received another one.
The lovely homey service, the cleanness, the location, the price made us feel as if it is home during traveling abroad.
We recommended this hotel to friends and they thank us for this.
Looking forward for our next stay in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noanirtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is a cherished compliment from a returning guest. The cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the breakfast and our good price are always highly rated by the guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel again.

Best Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#624 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#281 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#97 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#147 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Property: Blandford Hotel
Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in London
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing