We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay whilst husband in hospital nearby.”
Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #436 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay whilst husband in hospital nearby.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed in this very comfortable hotel whilst my husband was in hospital nearby. We booked the executive twin room incase our daughter was able to come and join me during the week which indeed she did. I was very happy with the hotel from the warm welcome I received and the spotlessly clean and very comfortable room to the kindness of the reception staff in extending my stay for an unexpected extra couple of nights.I would definitely like to stay at the Blandford hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelharris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

We wish quick recovery for your husband.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service. The cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the breakfast and our good price are always highly rated by the guests. We are more than happy, that you were also satisfied with your stay.

I hope to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    298
    86
    41
    15
See reviews for
153
182
79
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family of 4 just stayed 5 nights in the family room. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready for early check in, which was much appreciated after flying all night. I cannot say enough about the location. It is steps from the Baker St. tube stop, many buses, and the Marylebone rail/tube stop are all close by. We bought a rail travel pass at Marylebone and used this for multiple 2 for 1 entry discounts/Days Out around London. Bring passport size photos to save on the expense of printing on site. We were even able to get them for our kids, which was contrary to what I read on line before arrival.

A Tesco Express (grocery) and Pret Manger (sandwiches) & multiple coffee shops are around the corner. There is also an amazing cheese shop- La Fromagerie nearby, that is not to be missed.

The family room was on a very quiet floor. The room has a very comfortable double bed and two singles which take up almost the entire room. We had some very comical moments trying to pass each other. The bathroom was quite large & the room was very clean. The hot water fluctuated but was sufficient for 4 of us to take showers in succession. The glass door does not make an adequate seal and leaks over the side causing a small flood with every shower, and was a bit hazardous climbing in and out, but was manageable. Bring shampoo if you are used to ones that lather, and & conditioner if you need it.

The breakfast was very nice, and made for a good value, although it is early and we managed to sleep through it twice. We had wi-fi included which was great to have. We also loved the coffee/tea maker & water cooler in the lobby. The lobby is also a nice area to hang out in.

We would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Maddy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

The location of our hotel, the cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the breakfast and our good price are always highly rated by the guests. I am very pleased that you have been satisfied with our services.

I hope to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seljord, Norge
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is such a charming little hotel in the middle of London. Close to everything :)
Really good service. We had to travel early in the morning and the had private taxi or something waiting for us, when we checked out :) Just make sure to order the day before.
Really helpful with were you should go etc.. :)
The breakfast was good and served in a cute little basment dinning hall.
With lots of small tables etc.
Rooms were clean and normal size :)

I would really recommend this place.
Only negative on our trip was that the shower only had cold water. But probably just a problem at that time. We visited back in Fall 2011. So it`s probably fixed by now xD

So nice to find such a hotel, close to the center of the city :D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonStarWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Blandford Hotel.

Or aim is to provide clean, affordable accommodation combined with our great location and customer service. We are working hard to avoid every single maintenance issue and we always make sure that it's get fixed as soon as possible.

We do hope that we can welcome you in our hotel in the future again.

Best regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Best welcome at a London hotel I think I have ever had. Very courteous and efficient staff and comfortable little reception area with daily papers, coffee, water, nice sofas. Excellent first impression which did not diminish as the stay went on. Fair sized room for a budget London hotel - spotlessly clean and well-maintained. Good breakfast - fresh coffee, juices, cereals, self-service cooked breakfast items, croissants, cheese, cold meat, yoghurts - the works! On top of all this, it's only few steps along the street from one of the entrances to Baker Street Underground and a short bus or Circle Line ride from the mainline stations north.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-In-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service. The cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of the breakfast and our good price are always highly rated by the guests. We are more than happy, that you were also satisfied with your stay.

I hope to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I like this hotel. The prices are very reasonable for a good quality accommodation in London.. Stayed there twice now in the last year. Its quiet on Chiltern St. I always have a room looking out there on the 2nd floor. The guest rooms are smaller than other places outside of London that you might stay at but hey its London, your not going to be spending time in your room except to sleep. The one downside is probably the lift, its quite possibly the smallest i've ever been in. 2 people and 2 cases is all it can handle but it gets you where you want to be.
The staff are very friendly and helpful which always helps too.
Breakfast is good with plenty of choice (for me) with proper bacon!! something i miss greatly being a Brit living in the US.
And work a deal out with them to get the wi-fi free. It can be done.
One downside is the getting of a new username and password every 24hrs but i believe that can be extended too

Another downside is the thin single pane windows. It was snowing when we were there and the person closest to the window felt it a few degrees colder than the person on the other side of the bed. You can actually see the breeze blowing the curtains

Great location just up from Oxford St and Baker St Tube.Starbucks is close by as is a Tescos supermarket.

I think the Blandford is really a 4.5 in my book for good value, comfortable accommodation in London, but i like the place so i'll give it 5.. All in all very good and i'll be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review about The Blandford Hotel.

And thank you for choosing us as a regular guest - it means a lot to us.
We aim to provide clean, affordable accommodation and this combined with our location will ensure a very comfortable stay with us. I am happy to read that we seem to have delivered on all these areas.

We are looking forward to receiving you again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were three friends who went to London in March! Have been there several times before, but have never been satisfied with the hotels! Blandford is located a couple of minutes walk from Baker Underground station, which connects several lines, so it is easy to get there from the airport, as well as to get around in London!
The staff was helpful and polite, the room clean and the breakfast tasty!
We`ll stay at this hotel next time we`re in London as well :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randih404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

It’s great to read that such an experienced traveller as yourself rates us highly.
I am delighted that you liked our central location and hospitality; and even more that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here as a last minute scramble when I needed a two night accommodation. I stayed here with my brother who is studying abroad in London. We were on a budget and the price and location of this hotel can't be beat. I would definitely recommend staying here if those are your two biggest concerns. Make sure you don't get a room on the first floor, it is very loud. We tried to switch rooms the first night but there was nothing available, but they were able to move us the second night and it was fine on the third floor. The rooms are a bit smaller but normal by euro standards. The fixtures could use updating in the bathroom and maybe new carpets but these issues are not a huge deal if you are just looking for a decent room to sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f1yerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and highly rated customer service. We naturally always do our best to meet with the guest expectations. We have a range of rooms here at the Blandford from standard to executive and they do vary in size and layout to cater to all types of stays.

I hope to welcome you back at the Blandford Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#253 of 1,067 in London
178 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#616 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#289 of 1,067 in London
235 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#147 of 1,067 in London
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Property: Blandford Hotel
Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in London
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing