We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely comfortable but missing a few notes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mandeville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mandeville Hotel
Ranked #215 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nicely comfortable but missing a few notes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

It seemed that will a little effort it could have been a terrific hotel rather than just better than average (which it is) My room was a lovely corner room with terrific light but the windows were so dirty it ruined the affect. The bed great and bathroom great too but such a tiny TV that you think they got some mutant discount. The lack of free Wi-Fi just seems stingy. Staff very friendly! Location in central London and right off of Oxford street. Insane lot of restaurants and hanging out drinking in the vicinity; not seedy just super busy street life but thankfully the hotel is a block away so nice and quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Rachel M,

We hope that you had a safe trip home.

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your experience at The Mandeville Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our central location and please be assured that we will pass on your kind words about the Mandeville team.

As you are aware we do charge a small Wi-Fi fee for in room access, but our Lobby and Restaurant offer complimentary Wi-Fi access for all Hotel guests.
Why not book one our Deluxe rooms on your next visit and enjoy more comfort and also complimentary in room Wi-Fi.

Also very soon our Tv's will be upgraded throughout the Hotel to offer "state
of the art" Entertainment facilities.

We hope that we will have the pleasure in Welcoming you back very soon at the Mandeville Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Maurice

The Mandeville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    692
    238
    75
    44
See reviews for
246
655
173
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is just perfect, u got all the cafes, hip restuarants and wide selection of cuisines all walking distance. The mandeville offers luxury at affordable prices! Great rooms, wide bathrooms and lovely friendly staff! Walking distance from the main Oxford st and Bond St Station! I
Mean i cant ask for me! Am definetly coming back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigiwoz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Gigiwoz81,

It is always a great pleasure reading that one of our guests has had a lovely
experience with us.

We would like to thank you for your kind words and are looking forward in
Welcoming you back at The Mandeville Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice

The Mandeville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel room was tiny, we had a bigger bathroom then we did sleeping area! The bedside table, chair, robes, ceiling, bath and floors were all in stained in our room. We got this hotel on an offer and we definitely paid over the odds for it. We went up for my birthday and informed them so, but the hotel made no effort and didn't even wish me a happy birthday when we checked in. They also put £3 on your bill on the assumption that you will want to tip them. We certainly did not. They also charge £19.50 for use of the TV for a day, television or radio. This is the first time I've ever seen this and I think it's a complete con. The hotel also don't offer wifi within the room, only the lobby, how pointless! The location is certainly impressive but not worth the compromise of the room. We would never want to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear SiobhanJade,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us for this very special
occasion. It was very unfortunate that we did not get the opportunity to arrange
a small Birthday surprise for you, but there must have been a breakdown of communication which we do sincerely apologies for.

Please be aware that we do NOT charge for the usage of the TV or Radio, but we
do offer pay-per-view movie channels upon request. We do of course apologies that this was
misunderstood and not clarified immediately.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, we do offer Wi-Fi throughout the Hotelm, but depending on
room category a small extra charge might apply, but our Lobby and Restaurant offer complimentary Wi-Fi access.

Please be assured that The Mandeville Hotel prides itself on offering a highly personalized service and we would be delighted to Welcome you back and I do hope you
will contact me directly to make all the arrangements.

We are looking forward in hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Maurice

MauriceS@mandeville.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Rooms a bit small but still ok, service acceptable, breakfast a bit poor and unfriendly personel; very good location, close to Oxford Stree and on the way to Oxford Street many trendy restaurants - all in all a rather good experience ! A bit strange was that they somehow force you to accept a tip of 3,-- UKP for the personal on your bill !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert K,

We are delighted that you have chosen the Mandeville Hotel for your recent Business trip at the beginning of May.
Its wonderful to hear that you have had an overall good experience with us at the Mandeville and please be assured that your comments regarding the Breakfast will be passed onto our Restaurant Manager.
We would like to extend our apologies for any miss-communication regarding the Service charge which is a discretionary charge and not compulsory.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back, and I do hope you will contact me directly in order that I can plan a very special stay for you.

Thank you again for writing about us and I hope to meet you soon.

Kind Regards,

Maurice
MauriceS@mandeville.co.uk
The Mandeville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My 6 year old daughter and I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights - we had a great time. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent location to shops, great restaurants and the tube station. would definitely stay here again! Thank you Mandeville

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Louise P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next visit.

Please feel free to contact us for any assistance.

Kind Regards,

Maurice
The Mandeville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in the UK that did not have tea making facilities in the room. Yes there was a wonderful Nespresso machine (not many pods supplied though), but what happened to the Englishman's right to a cup of tea first thing in the morning?

The hotel are happy to bring hot water to the room but that then assumes you have brought your own tea and milk of course. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in London with a wide range of ratings and this one does not stand out. The staff are fine, the rooms are nice and there is nothing wrong with the hotel. It just does not stand out as special so when considering all the options there are for London I can't see us returning to this one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main front block hotel look out onto a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MikeTHalifax,

We are delighted that you have chosen the Mandeville for your stay in London but saddened to read that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion.

Thank you very much for giving us your valuable feedback and please be assured that we will of course take into consideration.
As you mentioned our dedicated Room Service team will always be available to deliver Hot Water and cups to your room upon request.

We do hope to get the chance in Welcoming you back in the future and I would be delighted to meet you in person.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience for any further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Maurice
MauriceS@mandeville.co.uk
The Mandeville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in March with a friend for a shopping weekend. We booked via Otels.com. Perfect location, just off Oxford Street and with lots of restaurants, pubs and shops in the neighbourhood. We booked a twin room and the room was OK. Cleanliness OK, beds were so so - indeed no tea and kettle in the room - boohoo. Modest but OK breakfast buffet included in room rate. Friendly waiters.

What made this a very mediocre hotel stay was our experience with the reception desk and concierges. When we asked the concierge for a London map the suggestive answer was: "of course you can have a map, and you can have more too." - throwing us a dirty look. At checkout the reception wanted to charge us a 11 pound telephone bill. We never used the hotel phone, but the receptionist didn't seem to believe us and was very rude ("Well, I'll have to believe you but..."). Our London weekend was great, but the hotel experience was as cold as the wintry weather we had during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice Fabian S, Manager at The Mandeville Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear VickyBelgium,

We are delighted to hear that you had an overall good experience but we are sorry to learn that we did not exceed your expectations.

I have shared the feedback you have very kindly passed on to us with the Front of House team and wish to assure that we will investigate the matter.

Do feel free to contact me directly if you have any plans to visit the area again. It would be a pleasure to meet you.

Kind regards,

Maurice
MauriceS@mandeville.co.uk
The Mandeville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#116 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#327 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#141 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandeville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandeville Hotel

Property: The Mandeville Hotel
Address: Mandeville Place, London W1U 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
#235 Family Hotel in London
#264 Business Hotel in London
#320 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mandeville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Marylebone, The Mandeville Hotel provides the perfect venue for every occasion. The luxurious bedrooms offer style and comfort whilst bar and restaurant at Reform Social & Grill make The Mandeville Hotel London's premier address for food, drink and luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mandeville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandeville Hotel London
The Mandeville Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing