We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mandeville Hotel
Ranked #189 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

visited here with a friend for the "Afternoon Tea with Free-Flowing Champagne" deal. Excellent value and great service. The cakes were delicious and there was even a cocktail included (as well as the champagne). Have now recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenP526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    717
    244
    74
    47
See reviews for
269
696
183
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great Location ... i would stay again only for the location, Good Services, Very Clean Rooms, Small Superior Rooms but Great Deluxe Rooms and you really need it if you have children with you and I really Love The interior.

Room Tip: Corner Deluxe Rooms are large and sunny and the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mOseQar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a typical European tiny room. But clean, relatively quiet, comfortable, and in a good location. Good breakfast (not included)! Good restaurants and shopping nearby. The decor was really quite interesting!

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade....most rooms tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RecentlyRetired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love this hotel. I've stayed at nearly every major 5 star in London, but this is the one i come back to. I love the location and it's convenience. The hotel is cute and comfortable (no free WiFi however) and the concierges have always be lovely. But the way the hotel handled a naked man attempting to break down my door in the middle of the night was appalling. They took the naked man's side (!!!) that he was sleepwalking, when he was clearly drunk out of his mind. Meanwhile, i was awoken out of a dead sleep by a nude giant kicking in my door. Think that horrific experience deserved at LEAST a discount on my next stay! But why should they? I've continued staying there trip after trip regardless. C'est la vie.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelationshipGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in February of 2010 and were So impressed with this boutique hotel. The staff was wonderfully accomidating, service at the restaraunt was top notch, and the concierge was always helpful.
The location is perfect, the hotel is within walking distance to SO many wonderful restaraunts, the underground, pubs, and Hyde Park. We loved the Pontefract Castle pub next door. We dined at the Mediterranean cafe for breakfast most mornings, the food was good, but service was spotty. There's a wonderful little curry house in an alley near Selfridge's that is to die for!
The rooms are small by American standards, but the ammenities were nice, the rooms were clean, and I loved the hand made chocolates placed on your pillow at turndown.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melinnc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

One of my favourite hotels in London. Situation just behind Selfridges and Bond Street tube this hotel is perfect base for London's hot spots while being quiet, elegant and efficiently run. The rooms are SMALL so if you like space esp in the bathroom you will be disappointed.
Breakfast is often included which is a lovely touch in London and the qualilty of the food is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location is perfect for exploring central London; 4 minutes walk from Bond St tube: up James Street over Wigmore Street and you are there.

Service is very good; pleasant staff, not stuffy or starchy as you often get in this type of hotel.

Rooms smalish but adequate; air con worked well in mine so I slept well, which was a relief.

Breakfast excellent.

Bar good fun if you stay in but watch out, they will slap a service charge on drinks served - I missed it and only caught it on check out. I decided to leave it on but it left a bad taste if I'm honest, as the drinkswere very expensive anyway. I'd go out next time.

No gym on site.

Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,067 in London
1,559 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#147 of 1,067 in London
1,400 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandeville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandeville Hotel

Property: The Mandeville Hotel
Address: Mandeville Place, London W1U 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
#235 Family Hotel in London
#264 Business Hotel in London
#320 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mandeville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Marylebone, The Mandeville Hotel provides the perfect venue for every occasion. The luxurious bedrooms offer style and comfort whilst bar and restaurant at Reform Social & Grill make The Mandeville Hotel London's premier address for food, drink and luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandeville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandeville Hotel London
The Mandeville Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing