We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower standard than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #441 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lower standard than expected”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The location of the hotel was perfect for my visit, but the hotel was not what I expected.
The room was small, noisy and run down there was no opening window or extractor in the bathroom for the steam. The breakfast was mediocre and I had a struggle every morning to obtain coffee, one morning I was seated next to the rat poison box, which was off putting to say the least!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesss_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I recently stayed at the Hotel Russell with my boyfriend who treated me to the lovely break away in London as part of my Christmas Gift. It was my first time in London and I was really looking forward to staying in the Hotel because I had seen pictures and it looked fab. I was not disappointed!! I have stayed in many hotels and I can safely say the hotel Russell was one of the best. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were quickly reassured by the polite man at reception that it wasn't going to a long wait. The staff were very pleasant and nice to deal with. The hotel is in a fab location, right around the corner from Russell Square Tube Station! If I had to point out one thing it would be to do with the breakfast, I thought there could have been more to choose from in relation to confectioneries, muffins, danish pastries etc because sometimes a big “English Brekkie” didn’t interest me! I had a lovely stay and would highly recommend this hotel. If your looking for a nice, peaceful and hassle free hotel to stay in while in London, then the Hotel Russell is ideal place!! :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberchic25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

breakfast quality is mediocre, room decoration decent, (but equipment works), staff is friendly, the noise through the window from the hotel yard

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is really impressive from the outside and the public areas, lots of marble and chandeliers. Sadly our bedroon did not live up to expectations. It was drab with shabby furniture and a soft saggy bed. It was clean, the bathroom had been updated and we had warm fluffy towels which was nice. The hospitality tray was awful, no water, biscuits or chocs to be seen, and only one tea bag between us!! No mini bar either although there was room service. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room for £20, but as we only stayed one night we didn t bother, might be woth asking for a refurbished room though.
The position of this hotel is excellent, close to the British Museum and Theatreland.
Breakfast was pleasant, but make sure it is included in the cost of your room , otherwise its £19.50 each.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianab55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

stayed for 4 days in the middle of march, from the outside this hotel looks like it may have alot to offer however this is where the good points of this hotel pretty much end.
upon arrival the receptionist quickly asked for my credit card, "nothing out of the normal there", i thought to myself, but then he tried to charge £150 to my card which seemed strange considering we had already paid for our stay, when asked what it was for he said it was a deposit for restaraunt usage!! i quickly told him that i would not be paying this...
eventually we were given our room number (518). we headed up to our room and walking along our corridor we noticed several rooms had dirty dishes outside which were giving the corridor a very nasty smell, we got to our room which was very compact, had damp on the walls and some of the wallpaper was coming off, a little annoying considering the hotel had supposedly undergone a £30 million renovation,
the next day we complained to the reception staff about the dishes in the corridor as the smell was getting worse, the dishes however remained there for another 2 days we eventually gave up and took them to the reception staff for them to deal with themselves. all in all a very poor hotel with extremely poor staff (with the exception of bernard the concierge). so please if your going to london....please....please for your own sake do not stay at the russell hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hokksund
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Lovely old, big hotel in a nice area. We had a junior suite with a very comfortable and huge bed. The airconditon was very noisy. The carpet looked a bit dirty, but otherwise the room was clean. The bar was nice, and the dinner we had in the restaurant was very good. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed here for four days work. On arrival got room 124. From the receptionist who'd missed out on the smiling-training. Or it seemed any customer service training. Room 124 was battered, dirty, smelt damp and there was no heating working. Half an hour waiting for maintenance, who then tried to tell me the air con was just warming up. I told them I wanted another room. Then sat around a further hour whilst a very helpful concierge (Carey) tried to find a room with heating. This is now 9.30pm after a hard week at work. On the fourth try (!!!!!) he found a better room (606), but there still wasn't heating!!!! Carey found an oil heater which I then needed to run intermittently to keep the room at a reasonably ambient temperature over the next four days. Is this 4 star???? The curtains in the room were off the track and needed to be replaced. We were looking after international work colleagues in this dive. How embarassing. We queued up to 20 minutes to get into breakfast and drink coffee-flavoured water on 3 days, and proper coffee on one. We ordered dinner on our second night and waited over an hour for the appetisers. They arrived when I complained, with the excuse that the restaurant was busy. We'd pre-booked the dining - no excuse. Sleep was hopeless due to regular police/ambulance/fire sirens - and no double glazing. And so on and so on.
Are there any redeeming features? Well the marble everywhere in the public rooms is nice if you like marble. Pity the bedrooms don't get anywhere near that standard. I guess the location isn't bad but I'd stay at the City Inn in Westminster or the Radisson Grafton any day for about the same money, a better location and a TOTALLY different customer experience.
Never again, if I can help it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#72 of 1,069 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,069 in London
800 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#434 of 1,069 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#504 of 1,069 in London
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#297 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing