We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Principal London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Principal London
Ranked #434 of 1,086 Hotels in London
leicester uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2006

Impressive on entry and we were not disappointed with reception service and bedroom. Bedroom clean and tidy and the facilities were very good. A slight smell of stale smoke knocks off a few marks. Must be ingrained in furniture BUT the place was good and very accessible to St Pancras and the West End. Easily walked to both. Would definitely stay again but ask for a non smoking area. Got double room with full english breakfast £87! Breakfast was chaotic but hey it is London!!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank tinaturner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    1,433
    858
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,405
334
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland,england
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed at the Russell in Aug. 2006. When we checked in the room we where given was tiny, we complianed to reception and were given an alternative which was much better. The staff at the hotel where great and breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice. The hotel was in a brilliant location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The windows are not double glazed and we were woken a number of times during the night by people in the street. We did not get the newspaper we ordered, had only one towel between two and had to ask for a second one twice. Our door card became deactivated, the door handle came off in my hand as we were leaving to go out on Saturday night and although it was fixed before we came back, someone woke us on Sunday morning to see if it had been fixed. The room was too small and too hot, and the rubbish was not emptied for the entire three days we were there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The wedding reception where the music was so loud that the windows vibrated until 1am.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JaneO'T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

Stayed at the Russell for three nights last week, and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was spotless and the facilities were great. We were given a complimentary upgrade, and the room was enormous with everything a business person or holidaymaker could want. There was a huge range of foods at breakfast, and the service was excellent. All staff were polite and friendly, with ready smiles. All in all, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trippingtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed 1 night in a single room, which was refurbished, contemporary look, very spacious and clean. Only negative was that the room was facing the road, on the 4th floor, and there was a lot of noise from the traffic on Russell square. There is a Tesco metro opposite the tube station, handy to get some nibbles & drinks. Tube is 2 min walk away, Covent Garden only 2 stops.
Booked through laterooms @ £79.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

We moved to this hotel from a non-A/C hotel during July 2006 heat wave. Great rooms, great location, nice staff. Very close to the Tube Station (2 minute walk). Bonus feature was North American electrical socket, with 120 V. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Beds are grand
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mtcopland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stopped at the Russell Hotel in August, we have previously stayed here before. First of all they are dreadfully slow at checking in and most of the staff do not speak very good english! We left our bags beacuase as usual the room was not ready, we came back around 5pm and was given our room key. As soon as I walked in the room, I could smell fags, no way could I stay in this room - then I remembered I wasn't even asked when booking in what my prefence was. We hot trotted it back to reception, back into the queue. I was told there were no more rooms availiable. I explained to the recpetionist that I couldn't even stand in the room, never mind sleep in it. We was eventally given a suite - mmm your'e thinking luxury WRONG! WE had a 2 floored duplex room, were the double bed was wedged up the wall as the room was that small, which meant my husband had to slide out of the bottom of the bed to get out. Then you go down the steep small stairs to the bathroom, with a fully glass panned door, just in case you wanted an audience when your'e on the toilet - hey some of you might be in to that - if so ask for room 214! The sink was obviously made for people with doll shaped heads, it was the size of a tea cup.

The service or rather extreme lack of it at Breakfast is a farce, you queue for ages, get seated and then you become invisble, no one asks if you want coffee or toast, half of the dishes of hot food are empty and you'll be lucky if theres a plate to put in on. I think you are suposed to scoop the food into your hand and carry it back to the table. Yet these people serving are totally obvlious to the english cutting sarcasm that is aimed at them.

Beautiful hotel with some very ornate marble work inside, fantastic location for all that London has to offer, but just get the service sorted out!


PS it might be a good idea to get bunk beds in room 214!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — SERVICE
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank llarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#93 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#330 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#310 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#452 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing