We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #447 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights with some friends and had 2 superior deluxe rooms. Not the most luxurious hotel in London but perfectly adequate, clean and tidy. This is a grand old building with a magnificent staircase and a number of huge (clean) chandeliers. This was our 4th or 5th visit over 7 or 8 years and the same doorman is still there....a smiley happy chappy!
Some traffic noise but hey, you're in Central London. If you think it may bother you, ask for a quiet room.
Our room was large with a big bed, or rather 2 joined together without the dip and gap that normally occurs when you join 2 beds together. Big TV which was great for the morning news whilst Mrs John occupied the small bathroom. The shower was the strongest I've ever encountered anywhere and I would guess that with that much pressure coming out of the taps, it would challenge the Dorchester's claim of having the fastest filling baths in London.
The mirror had also been treated as despite being a small bathroom which filled with steam from the hot shower, the centre of the mirror remined crystal clear. A nice touch.
A couple of points that need addressing......the hotel claims all rooms have a safe....ours didn't. There's nowhere to put your used t-bags other than the nice clean bin (without a liner) and there's no biscuits with the tea/coffee. Hardly spoilt our weekend though.
Yes the drinks are expensive in the bar but there is a lovely quiet atmosphere....a bit like an old library or reading room with comfortable high back chairs.
£230 for 2 nights and 4 great breakfast spreads is real VFM.

John

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolk-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,



Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you have visited Russell regularly over the years and we truly value your custom. I am happy that you enjoyed your time in our well appointed bedrooms and facilities and standards offered met your expectations. Thank you for the comment about bathroom mirror, we pride ourselves on our attention to details to ensure every aspect of a guest’s stay is taken care of.

I have noted your comment about the safe and amenities in the room and assure you this shall be addressed. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we continue to be one of your favourite destinations on your future visits to London.

Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,867)
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

From first stepping into the hotel on Friday 31st Jan to leaving on Monday, enjoyed every moment. You climb a few steps to the entrance which is promptly opened for you by the charming door staff and step into another time. An era where elegance, gracious living and service where key, a magnificent chandelier and a stunning marble staircase face you, beautifully maintained and inviting, you actually want to use these stairs and forgo the lift. The staff were friendly and helpful with genuine smiles on their faces, throughout our stay we had nothing but prompt and efficient service. We had a quiet room, very clean and well maintained. Well done Hotel Russell will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Apparently can ask for quiet room, we hadn't, but we were away from the road on the 2nd floor an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubileebabe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.


I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here at Hotel Russell, the architectural beauty in the heart of Bloomsbury where we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service day after day.

I am pleased that our standards and services impressed you and you will consider visiting us again in future.

I look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked this hotel for a London break to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary ! ( Jan 8th & 9th 2014 )
On arrival to reception we were pleasantly greeted by the staff , it was only mid day so were expecting a wait for our room , however the lady at reception made a call to housekeeping and informed us our room would be available in about 10 minutes . We sat for a few minutes then were given our keys , we had also kindly been upgraded to a superior room !
Our room was on the 5th floor with views over looking Russell Gardens !
The room itself was immaculate with superb décor , a fantastic super large comfy bed , 40 inch plus tv , two comfy chairs and a fantastic bathroom . There was also complimentary , coffee , tea and water , with quiet well functioning air con ! There was little if no noise from the the street below . All in all a super room !
We unpacked our bags and went for a short stroll around London , on our return we entered our room to find the most delicious piece of chocolate cake , and the words congratulations in syrup on the plate ! With a card from from Bart and the staff at the Russell ! What a lovely surprise , a very thoughtful gesture
Drinks in the bar in the evening were superb with a great atmosphere .
We went straight in for breakfast in the morning , which provided everything that you would want , bacon , sausage , fried eggs and a variety of cereals etc. , Very enjoyable.
A beautiful hotel , pleasant and helpful staff , every where clean and tidy ! no need to ask for more , We will be recommending The Russell Hotel to all our friends and will certainly be looking forward to returning in the near future ! Many thanks to all at the Russell for helping to make a Silver wedding anniversary a memorable one.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor , always a lift waiting for us , no noise from the street and superb rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinxydebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you chose to stay at Hotel Russell on such a special occasion and equally pleased that we could contribute in making your Silver Anniversary a memorable one!

Thank you for such wonderful comments, it is a pleasure to know that the team accommodated your request for early check in and the room allocated impressed you.

I am glad that you enjoyed the special treat in the room and your overall stay was fantastic. Thank you for recommending us and I hope to welcome you back again in not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Was attracted to this hotel by it's architecture which is fabulous. It is also close to a tube station and universities which was the purpose of the visit. The room was ok, quite spacious but dated. The noise from the road outside was quite considerable but understandable given the location and original sash windows. The restaurant was expensive and the food, well, average. How can cream if broccoli soup be brown? Breakfast was better and afternoon tea delicious. Probably won't stay again as there are many other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Russell .

Though I am glad that your overall stay was comfortable, I was most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy certain aspects of you stay. I have noted your comments about the traffic noise and whilst it is beyond our control, I am sure the team would have provided suitable alternatives on being notified.

In respect of food not being to your liking during your evening meal in Tempus Restaurant, please accept my sincere apologies for this and be assured that your comments have been discussed with the Executive Chef and measures shall be taken to further improve the standards offered.

On a positive note I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast selection and afternoon tea at Hotel Russell and our location suited you well.

I am sure we shall exceed your expectations on your next visit. I look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have passed this hotel on many occasions. We didn't think we would be able to afford it, but there was 20% off so we took the plunge. We were not disappointed.. The location is superb, only half an hour walk, if that into town, with St Pancras and Kings Cross 10 - 15 mins walk in the other direction.. We called in to drop off our bags, but the room was ready at just before 1.pm..The room was lovely,. on the side of the hotel, (with a balcony) it wasnt massive but we have stayed in much smaller in central London The decoration was modern.and well apointed The room was clean as was the en suite.(The water pressure on the taps was a bit ;iffy ; but the shower was fine. We had bed AND breakfast. You could have as much food as you liked and it was ok. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are plenty of restaurants around Southampton Row . All in all it was a very goood weekend in a lovely hotel. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time here at Hotel Russell, in a well appointed comfortable room and location was perfect as per your requirements.

Thank you for commending our team, they continually strive to achieve highest possible standards. I trust we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed with a voucher 2 nights with bed and breakfast tzoo deal.We stayed Friday and Saturday night and went home Sunday 2nd Feb.The hotel is approx. 10/15 mins walk from Kings Cross and in a built up area overlooking Russel Square.We arrived at 1-15 pm on Friday and we were allowed to check in which was great,as the stated time was 3pm.Reception was fine,a pleasant receptionist,only there for 2 mins and we were given our key for room 130.
Our room was on the 1st floor and right on the corner of the hotel overlooking Barclays Bank and the square.The room was fine,a large comfy double bed,tv,shower,bath,wardrobe,iron,kettle,tea,coffee etc.In fact the shower was one of the most powerful showers I have ever used.
Only slight prob was the noise from traffic outside,there is a road junction outside and London being a 24 hr city you do get some noise,i know you don't spend all your time in a hotel room,but I would ask for a room at the back next time,but it didn't spoil our overall impression of the hotel.
Its a beautiful Victorian building and its in a great location,with a tube station next door,and lots of pubs,restaurants and shopping centre within 2 mins walk.
Breakfast was excellent,although be prepared if its not on your deal its 19.50 each though.
Good hot and cold buffett,and the sausage and bacon were very good standard.
We didn't use the bar or restaurant and we heard they were expensive,but there are plenty of pubs,cafes etc within 200 yards of the hotel which are adequate,
Overall id book again if we could get the same deal....198 for 2 of us Bed and Breakfast 2 nights,but I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAlBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Russell and the standards offered met your expectations. I am pleased that early check in at Reception was prompt and you enjoyed your stay in a well appointed, comfortable room with powerful shower.

I am dismayed to learn that traffic noise caused disturbance. Being a City centre Hotel this is beyond our control however we shall make sure we meet your preference for a room at the back of Hotel on your next stay.

On a more positive note, I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast selection in our Tempus Restaurant and our central location was perfect as per your requirements.

I look forward to welcome you to Hotel Russell in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last couple of months on business. The rooms are variable in size, but all are adequate. I wanted to post this to thank Miriam and Francesca on reception for being so pleasant and so helpful in sorting out a problem with the booking - on part of the booking agent - and going to so much trouble for me. Looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: If there are two of you, check the size of the room and the bed!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you frequently stay at Hotel Russell on your business trips to London. We value your custom and hope we will continue to provide the best in service and quality as demonstrated by Miriam & Francesca on your recent stay.

I am glad they assisted you promptly and resolved the booking situation to your satisfaction. I have congratulated them for their outstanding service.

I look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Russell soon.

Kind regards,

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#69 of 1,072 in London
369 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#307 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#371 of 1,072 in London
2,125 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#437 of 1,072 in London
1,057 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#571 of 1,072 in London
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $344 - $1,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing