We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Principal London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Principal London
Ranked #434 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Newport, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Definitely one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in....althought it was quite dear...it's location...food...service and staff all were worth it!! Definitely one to return to!! We were attending a wedding in the city and afterwards when we returned the staff were more than happy enough to cater for us into the early hours with no fuss or complaints only a friendly smile on their face!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGirlie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

Our team endeavour to provide an exceptional service to all of our guests throughout their stay and we are so pleased that we were able to assist you and make your stay as relaxing as possible.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    1,433
    858
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,405
334
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork,city iteland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

had a great stay location near tube station / tesco /hosiptal/ all walking distance very friendly staff
will stay there again last stay in london 28 years room nice and clean great view to the park i would recommend people to stay there we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We have endeavoured to maintain the rich charm of our building and do hope that this was the case for you 28 years ago.

We are ideally located as we are within walking distance of many London attractions and transport links. We are glad that you found our location so beneficial.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend on shopping & champagne deal. Upgraded to superior twin from standard well worth the extra £25 a night as you overlooked the park ( Russell Square) & you had more room as most London hotel rooms tend to be on the small side. Staff are very welcoming and helpful from the reception staff to the doorman the aim was to make you stay as pleasurable as possible. Ideal location . Downside was the full English in the restaurant was rather cool but the selection of cereals/ fruits/pastries etc was excellent. First night had room service which incurs a £5 tray charge. The butternut squash & chick pea curry good but the spicy bean burger left a lot to be desired.
Try the pub around the corner- Friends at Home -excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deec1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room as well as the park view. We have a variety of different rooms which are individually furnished to enhance their charm.

Our team endeavour to make each guest feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible during their stay with us. We are so pleased that everyone was so welcoming. Your very kind comments will be shared with our teams.

We are glad that you found our location ideal as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions and transport links.

We are so sorry that our dishes in our full English breakfast buffet was not as warm as we envisioned and will certainly highlight your feedback to our team of Executive Chefs as they pride themselves in their food.
We are glad, however that you enjoyed the wide variety of dishes available to suit any palate.
As per most hotels there is a £5 tray service charge for room service. We are glad that you enjoyed the butternut and chickpea curry, however do apologise that the bean burger did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my husband and child for a couple of nights. Located right next to the Russell Square tube station and has several restaurants and a Tesco Express close by.

We upgraded to a junior suite at check in inclusive of breakfast for an extra 40 pounds per night which I thought was a good offer. We also got a 20 pound voucher to use in Harrods which was useful.

The 7th floor suite has been refurbished and has modern furniture although I didn't like the decoration much, it was fine. The bathroom could have been better. It didnt feel like a hotel bathroom and looked old though everything in it worked fine. I was warned about cold air coming through the windows so wasn't bothered much about it and the heating made up for it.

Breakfast was good and the staff was very attentive.

If you are looking for a clean 4 star hotel with a good location, the Hotel Russell is great although because the building is more than 100 years old they have had to compromise a bit with their interior furnishings and facilities. Don't dismiss it based on some of the terrible reviews here, I thought it was worth the price and I liked the historical aspect. I had seen some of the regular rooms which looked good as well, so I don't think I was biased based on getting a refurbished suite, though I did have a very beautiful view over a park unlike those who said they got backs of buildings.

Would recommend it if you need to stay in Bloomsbury.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to the junior suite. Ask for a room that faces the front park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We are proud of the rich heritage of our building and have ensured that the essence of this has been maintained over the years.

We have a nice mixture of modern and traditional rooms as we understand our guests have different preferences. Each room is unique and has been individually furnished to enhance the charm of the room. We are glad that you enjoyed your upgraded, more spacious room as well as the breakfast experience.

We are ideally located within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links. We are pleased that you found our location so convenient.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my mum to see a show and the hotel was just fantastic. From the outside it looks extremely grand and after stepping inside we were not disappointed. Reception staff were very friendly and check in was very organized and straight forward. We were given a room on the 7th floor which was very modern and spacious, with all mod cons and we could not have wanted a nicer room. Breakfast was plentiful and staff were constantly checking if we needed any more tea and coffee, overall I would certainly return to this hotel as the location is also perfect- tube station 2 mins around the corner and covent garden a 20 min walk, the British museum is a stones throw away which is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that both you and your mum had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each stay memorable for our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed our range of modern rooms on the 7th floor.

We are ideally located within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links and we are pleased that you found our location so beneficial especially for the British Museum.

Breakfast is extremely important to us as we want all of our guests to start their day happy and content. Our team of Executive Chefs create a wide variety of dishes each morning to suit any palate. We are pleased that our team were so attentive and you enjoyed this also.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved the grand facade and architecture of Hotel Russell and its ornate foyer, staircase and public rooms - and the location is superb. It was great to walk back from Drury Lane after the theatre and have Bloomsbury and the British Museum a short walk away.

Our room was on the fifth floor and at the back of the hotel overlooking rooftops and backs of buildings and was very quiet. It was a bit on the small side - but this is very Central London - but was adequate and had everything we needed and very importantly was comfortable and very clean.The standard sized double bed was also very comfortable and the bedlinen fresh and clean. Heating was from an air-con unit on the wall. The bathroom was a very good size and well lit with nice mirrors. We had a shower over the bath and very good water pressure and a very effective heated towel rail which kept the bathroom nice and warm. We had been offered an upgrade to a junior suite at the front of the hotel on check-in for £40, but we were not going to be in the room long enough to benefit, so did not take the offer, but it was nice to be offered it. Although certain parts of this very large hotel eg some upper corridors, are obviously undergoing/waiting for maintenance and redecorating, everywhere appeared very tidy and clean.

We enjoyed an excellent breakfast ( particularly liked the herb sausages, the spicy porridge and the breads) in the ornate restaurant which was said to be of the same decor as that of the Titanic. At check-in we had been offered a special promotional rate of £12 for this, which was excellent value.

All staff we encountered at the Hotel Russell were very pleasant, helpful and efficient and the concierge and doorman were particularly personable. Overall, it was a lovely experience and a real treat to stay in a character London hotel right in Central London.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to all of our guests throughout their stay.

We are ideally located within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links and we are pleased that you found our location so beneficial.

Each of our rooms has been individually furnished to enhance the charm and style of the particular room. We have ensured that our beds are of the highest quality as we want each guest to have a good night’s sleep. All of the amenities are neatly tucked away for you in your room to ensure a relaxing stay.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your breakfast experience. Breakfast is extremely important to us as we want all of our guests to start their day happy and content. Our team of Executive Chefs create a wide variety of dishes each morning to suit any palate. Please be assured that I have personally highlighted your very kind comments to our team.

Our team really do endeavour to make all of our guests feel as special as possible and we are also delighted that this was a lovely experience.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel Russell dates from 1898 and was designed by the same architect who worked on the Titanic. It is a historical luxury hotel with a wonderfully grand staircase and beautiful dining room (similar to that on the ill-fated ship). The rooms depicted in the website's photo gallery are roomy and modern, but if you expect such a room when booking at a low discounted rate, you will no doubt be disappointed. We were offered an upgrade when we checked in, which we declined. Our room was small, the bathroom even smaller. The pipes made interesting noises, and the hair dryer was wisely placed in the bedroom. Though we were on the sixth floor, we could still hear a bit of street noise.

If you want a luxury hotel with emphasis on "luxury", this is not for you. If, like me, you are interested in historical luxury and are don't mind minor inconveniences, you will probably enjoy it as much as I did. (I'm always mindful -- and grateful -- that owners of historic sites are restricted in the changes they can legally make to their properties.) I was glad to be able to find a very good rate to stay in this very historic place.

Breakfast in the lovely dining room, which we purchased for an additional cost, was adequate, but nothing special. We never had to wait to be seated and stopped in at different times each of the 4 mornings.

The staff was uniformly friendly and check in and out went smoothly. There is a free business center with 2 computers and printing capabilities, but a steep charge for internet access elsewhere. There are about 10 steps to the entrance, but elevators inside.

Room Tip: Street noise so ask for a room as high up as possible. If you want "space" -- take an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely proud of the rich heritage of our magnificent structure. Charles Fitzroy Doll designed our Hotel and did in fact also create the interior dining room of the Titanic. You can certainly see the similarities of his creations throughout our Hotel.

We have a nice mixture of traditional and modern rooms ranging from single rooms to suites. We endeavour to meet all of our guest preferences including room style, view and bathroom type and do hope that you may have the opportunity to experience one of our more spacious suites in the future.

We are extremely proud of our 4 star status and strive to create and maintain our high standards. Your thoughts have been taken on board.

Breakfast is extremely important to us as we want all of our guests to start their day happy and content. Our team of Executive Chefs create a wide variety of dishes each morning to suit any palate, we usually receive many compliments on this.

We ensure that our rates are extremely competitive and hence does not include any incrementals such as wifi charges. We prefer to give guests this option rather than include this in the room rate.

We are pleased our Reception team were so efficient and friendly and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#78 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#327 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#405 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#309 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing