We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #444 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Had a great room”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Stayed with colleagues at a work event.

Had a fantastic room at the front, with extremely comfortable bed.
Breakfast in the morning was quite crowded and difficult to get served with toast and coffee, but the food was fine.

Service in the bar was good, but a bit pricey, but it is central London.

  • Liked — Room and location
  • Disliked — Service at breakfast, not enough staff for number of diners
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

I found the Russell to be a wonderful hotel. The location was quite conveinent, right off the Piccadilly Line, handy for getting to the airport, and getting around on the tube, and very close to Covent Garden as well. The hotel faces Russell Square which is a lovely park in and of itself and is right around the corner from the British Museum.

Our room was nothing less than spectacular. We were on the 3rd floor facing the square. The room was pretty large, with a sizable bath, and comfortable beds! The shower was awesome, it had a big rainfall shower head with great pressure (we didn't find this everywhere we went!). There is a Tesco Express around the corner so we loaded up our fridge with wine and other refreshments so we could relax when we got back from each day's adventure. The room also had a kettle, teas, coffees, and snacks left in it each day. We could on occassion hear the noise from the traffic (horns/sirens), but even as a light sleeper it didn't bother me at all.

Reception was very helpful as well, both during checkin and with questions about the city itself.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Russell and would recommend to anyone traveling to London.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing (well they could have left even more biscuits in the room for me :) )
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonkey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Booked via Laterooms. Great location. Literally right next to tube station. Good 10-15 minutes walk to Covent Gardens...however a Weatherspoons is on the walk down so a great place for a stop off drink or ideal for breakfast. I would recommend to others and also stay again. Good rooms and very helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooch1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels in the UK, so I am quite used to the vagaries of hotel room quality.
The Russell was simply awful. Knowing the location, I had asked for a quiet room on my reservation. The first offering was a single glazed room on the second floor looking straight out onto the HVAC fans. The second room was a joke. We only stayed because we were already late for a meeting.
The bedlinen was worn and torn; the security chain was missing; the phone didn't work so we couldn't ring housekeeping; the secondary glazing had been removed; the walls and skirtings were dirty and scruffy; the window catches didn't work; there was no soap; the mattress was small, and worn out, so it gave no support; there was a banging door to the service stairs opposite; housekeeping were knocking the following morning even though we had not checked out;
so - what should a hotel room offer? Clean, safe, comfortable, quiet? Not at the Russell and at £128 without breakfast, this should be against the law.
I'll not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and good towels
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Came to London for a romantic break, and Russell Hotel played a big part in accomplishing this!

On arrival at the hotel, the receptionist informed us that she had upgraded us to a suite! The suite was decorated in an old fashioned style but was very 'Londonish', and added to the atmosphere.

The suite was lovely with a 4 poster bed, warm and had a fabulous view across Russell Sq.

The staff were very friendly, and the concierge were very helpful.

The hotel itself is a magnificent sight, especially the mosaiq floor and the staircase!

The location is fabulous and a 2 minute walk from Russell Sq Station, which is on the Picadilly Line.

We had a wonderful time at Russell Hotel. We would recommend it to anyone going to London.

  • Liked — The Suite, the location and view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I stayed here with my 11 yr old son. We had a twin room which was cosy and the bed was really comfortable. No view but that wasn't important as we didn't feel we paid a huge amount. The breakfast was included in the price and was excellent. The service was great and staff friendly. Transport was close by as well as supermarket and post office. High price for internet but there's an internet cafe down the road which only charge £1 for 30 minutes. Can't comment on the bar or dinner as we went out to some of the local eateries which were all within walking distance. We walked to Trafalgar sq in 15 minutes but if you don't like to walk - public transport is easy. The hotel is very close to the Russell Sq station. Although the room was serviced late - it can be done earlier if requested. Concierge very helpful and friendly. Only real negative is the smell that permeates the room every now and then. Other than that - it was excellent.

  • Liked — location, price, breakfast
  • Disliked — occasional foul smell
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

The smallest room I have ever stayed in. Tiny TV, no refrigerators, cold, smelly heating. Beware rooms are mis-advertised on Expedia. Tried 3 different rooms all with different problems, noise, cold. Old and shabby, a 2 star hotel.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank tr_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#345 of 1,067 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#508 of 1,067 in London
3,414 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,067 in London
1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#419 of 1,067 in London
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#299 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing