We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two night mini break offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #446 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good - Location, Food, Building, Hospitality, Bar,
Not so Good - Traffic Noise, Dining Room & Bar Heating, Queue for Breakfast, Lack of furmishings/Table cloths during Dinner
Russell Square Underground can be little difficult
Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,868)
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,198 - 2,204 of 3,868 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel Russell is a good hotel. It is clean, the breakfast was great and our room was decorated nicely. Some parts of the hotel does need updating but it isn't too bad. Our sleep wasn't particularly good, but that was due to the bad weather outside. However, the windows were only single-glazing so maybe that needs to be addressed. Great central location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was a fantastic deal - let me make no bones about it, because we could never consider a place as classy as this normally. So, from the first impression, of huge chandiliers, fine christmas tree at the foot of the marble stairs, the lift that would always be ready, the staff who were always friendly and efficient; this was excelent service & quality.
Just down the road from Euston, St.Pancras, or Kings Cross, a tube station right behind, then it's a handy little spot.
The Russell is one of the few originally built hotels, not a former house converted into one; and it shows. The hallways are so wide, not the narrow things that you have to squidge yourself past the maids cart - not an easy thing with my expanding waist. You could waltz your way to your room, somthing you feel like doing in somewhere that whisks you back to a time when service was the norm, and life was finer in every way.
Breakfast was very nice, pork and leek sausages, black puddings, fruit, cereal, meats, cheeses, and a coffee that would rival some of the finest baritas skills to equal.
The bedroom had a extra corner room with a writing desk and views of the side road from the three curved windows. There wasanice flat screen tv that pulled out of a very solid unit that also housed the full sized metal kettle, a fridge hidden in a cupboard, and two side wardrobes. Nothing regal, but extremely functional - although we weren't too happy having the kettle boiling water unter the TV, which we thought was a slight design fault.
Two very comfy wing backed chairs sat either side of a table, and two very cmfy single beds madd up the main room. The bedside units had two flexible LED reading lights; very new, very thoughtful. The bathroom was large, funtional, and clean.. The shower had the normal shower head and a separate rainshower head, which was sensational.
So, overall, a wonderful weekend had in fine luxury. Will we go again - oh yes, without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: We had 407 which had the extra corner writing room, a lovely addition.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lobby, the bar, and even the corridors are all decorated in lavish marble. The staff were very good. The only downside was our room (152) which was tiny and freezing- I'm talking Baltic! (It was zero centigrade outside and felt colder inside). If we put the air con on to heat up the room it was too noisy to sleep.The bathroom was miniscule and didn't have any shelves to put anything anywhere. Bed was comfortable though. Breakfast was good but wasn't as hot as it should've been. Our colleagues had a twin room which was much bigger and warmer with two big double beds in so I guess we were unlucky to get room 152 - especially when we were paying for all 3 rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid room 152 - tiny and very cold.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend. Firstly, the reception and concierge staff are excellent - a credit to the hotel. Really welcoming and friendly and will do anything to help you. For me, their colleagues in the restaurant need to follow through with a similar approach. We had dinner on the Friday night and there were four waiters and about 15 tables. We had a starter and a main course and it took nearly two hours. Not once were we told "sorry for the delay..." - we assumed that there was a function on somewhere else in the hotel to cause the delay in the kitchen. The staff were perfectly polite but seemed to be running around with no plan or leadership. The same could be said for the breakfast shift. Our room was on the 7th floor and was really nicely decorated - really comfy bed and good bathroom. We were at the front of the hotel though and it was quite noisy as the windows weren't double glazed - they may well be on lower floors.
The hotel itself is a beautiful old building in a great location - a 5-10 minute walk from Kings Cross/St Pancras through a nice area. 5-10 minute walk to the West End and the British Museum. 10-15 minute walk to Covent Garden. And if you don't like walking, Russell Square underground station is 2 minutes round the corner and Holborn is a couple of minutes walk down Southampton Row. Would probably go back if we got a good deal but would probably go for room only based on this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLE1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Friendly staff on arrival and thats about it..
Not well sign posted to room which was about a half mile walk from the lift..room was nice but deco wasnt as expected, too oldy worldy something yr granny would have not what you would pay £132 a night for...took me a while to go through every drawer and such to finally find the hairdryer which was away from the dressing table, in a wardrope by the door.
Had to fill Kettle via bath tap as awkward to put under sink tap to fill..not amused..
But the real pleasure was being woken by house keeping at 8 am!!! what the hell were they thinking i was still in bed and check out was 11am...road works were heard from the room which i wasnt aware of!!!! made a complaint but whats the point as a lost nights sleep is exactly that LOST...i did mention the fact that i wouldnt be returning and to be honest i much prefer Premier Inn. more comfortable and better priced..
Your paying for a name only at this hotel.....look around as there are plenty of other hotels in that area...

Room Tip: ask for room with no road works and close to the lift or better still go somewhere else and yes dont...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices_10, Guest Relations Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay.

On each floor as you step out of the lift we do have signs pointing guests in the direction of their room and I am sorry if you had not seen this.

Each of our rooms have been individually furnished and they are a mixture of traditional and modern rooms which captures the charm and rich heritage of our building. I only wish you had informed us that you had preferred a modern room as we would have been more than happy to allocate this for you.

All of the necessary amenities are neatly tucked away in the room for our guests and I do apologise if you found them difficult to locate. We have not received any other similar concerns regarding this, however will certainly take your comments on board.

Behind each room door we have a selection of signs including a 'Do Not Disturb' sign for guests who do not want to be disturbed and I am also sorry that you were unaware that this available for you to use.

To our knowledge we were not aware of any road works that were being done by the local council in the area and would have done our utmost to rectify this for you.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to turn around your experience for you at Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind Regards

Yiannis Constantinou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

As many have already commented Hotel Rusell is housed in a very grand victorian building on one side of Russell Square. The public areas are very ornate and grand but the bedroom I had was very small with a queen sized double rather than a king sized double. The room itself was pleasant and the bed comfortable. Bathroom was small but functional. Very good air conditioning. It is central London so the price although comparable to other hotels always seems high for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices_10, Guest Relations Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel is part of a rich architectural heritage in which we have captured the charisma and elegant style of our Hotel.

Due to the history of our magnificent structure, each room has its own unique shape and charm. We have a variety of beds from a single to a king size beds available for our guests. I am pleased that you found your bed comfortable. We endeavour to meet of all of our guest preferences and do hope that you may have the opportunity to experience a king size bed in the future at Hotel Russell.

Kind Regards

Yiannis Constantinou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#297 of 1,073 in London
820 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#373 of 1,073 in London
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#436 of 1,073 in London
1,058 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#569 of 1,073 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#513 of 1,073 in London
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $348 - $1,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing