We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel.... would stay again......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Principal London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Principal London
Ranked #434 of 1,087 Hotels in London
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel.... would stay again......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here Mid September for one night. Despite a disagreement with check-in, and not having my booked room avaliable due to " a computer failure" eventually got an upgrade. Hotel staff were friendly,room was very clean and comfortable. situated in a room at front of hotel, although traffic noise nothing to hinder a good night's sleep. Breakfast although busy between 8-10 am was nice. Only downside of the stay was the ignorant, rude, and greedy guests encountered at breakfast!. Nice Hotel will def stay again Thanks!......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andidroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    1,433
    858
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,405
334
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I selected this hotel based on a price I could afford and the reviews here at TA. I have never traveled out of the country and was going into my entire trip to london blindly. I am beyond pleased with this hotel. It was a great location, nice part of town so I felt safe. It was just my daughter and I traveling, so safety was a big issue. Right around the corner was a nice station for the tubes (subway) and we learned our way around quickly. Just a short 5-10 min walk is a station for the overground trains, also in a nice part of town. There are several places to eat within a 5 min walk, we thoroughly enjoyed a pizza hut just down the block. There is a currency conversion and post office just across the street. There is a pretty park across the street and bus stops all around. As for the hotel itself, it was very nice, very clean and the staff were helpful (albeit a bit rude, but we found that to be true most places in london, we are from texas so we are used to very friendly people), but not rude enough to really complain. The rooms were small for what we are used to but it was a fine size for what we needed and from what I read, quite large for london. We had our own bathroom with a shower and we also had air conditioning. Everything worked well. our beds were comfortable and we slept nicely. The lighting in the rooms is poor, but when on vacation, your room is for sleeping and cleaning up, so not a big issue.We had breakfast included in our hotel package, which was a 20 pound per person benefit, but we did not eat it, just not to our liking, though if it were, would have been a nice breakfast. The food in the hotel bar was good. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyacozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Russell on our recent three day trip to london. We found our room very clean and quite adequate in size for a london hotel. The breakfast was good and there was an excellent selection. The russell square tube stop is literally round the corner and there are resturants and a cinema within a short walk. Excellent base for a london stopover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September to take in a show and a concert in hyde park. The rooms vary according to what floor you are on. The first room we had had a problem with the lampshades - one actually fell off and nearly hit us. We were then shown to a much nicer room on 6th floor.
We chose to pay for breakfast both days and nothing wrong with that, just not as good or varied as you would hope - also needed to pay for internet access which was a bit unexpected, especially as all the cafe's along the road had free internet so we felt ripped off!
Beautiful building combining ancient and modern genres and so convenient for everything

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Despite reading some very negative views about this hotel I can have nothing but praise for the facilities and also the excellent staff who were so helpful from start to finish. Ideal location for getting to all the main attractions. Only complaint would be be bar prices but suppose this is only to be expected for large hotels. Would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovenyc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked through TravelZoo in July for a night at the Russell Hotel in September.
3 days before we were due to stay there they rang to cancel the room.
We had paid in full in July - now trying to get a refund.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TripMember08152016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices_10, Guest Relations Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed due to your cancelled booking. We would only cancel a booking if requested in advance from a guest. I understand that you had chosen to cancel this and a refund has been processed as requested.

If you require any further assistance or would like to discuss this matter further please contact our Guest Relations Executive, Bebita Dhaya at bebita.dhaya@principal-hayley.com as she will be more than happy to assist you.

I do hope that you may have the opportunity to visit us at Hotel Russell in the future.


Kind Regards


Yiannis Constantinou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in historic building very ornate outside and in public areas however still has modern facilities and the rooms appear to have been recently refurbished, although Shane the historic features aren't really visible in the rooms.

Just round corner from tube station and bus stops so easy to get around London. Also nice little row of local shops and a shopping centre near too.

Good points:
- Helpful staff
- Clean rooms and public areas
- Full room facilities eg tea/coffee/hair dryer/iron/tv/toiletries in bathroom

Room for improvement:
- Beds too soft
- One small half size wardrobe very few hangers

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices_10, Guest Relations Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location of our hotel.

We are very proud of the rich heritage of our hotel which appears throughout the building in our lobby area, corridors, Tempus restaurant and banqueting halls. Each room has been recently refurbished and we still endeavour to capture the charm and charisma of the building.

I am sorry that you found your bed too soft and required some more wardrobe space, I only wish you had informed us as we would have done the utmost to meet your needs. Nevertheless, please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

I am pleased that you found our team to helpful and appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the amenities provided as we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to all of our guests.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind Regards

Yiannis Constantinou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#78 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#327 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#405 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#309 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing