We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #447 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Having read the mixed reviews I was a little concerned,but - couldn't fault it. Staff were friendly and efficient- all areas of the hotel were spotless- housekeeping manager came round to the rooms checking everything was ok. Breakfast was busy - but what do you expect in a large hotel - although busy very well organised. There was some noise from the street in the early hours but that's teh fault of the drunken idiots not the hotel. Would definitely go and again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northwaleswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,153 - 3,159 of 3,868 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2008

I stayed at the Russell Hotel for four nights recently. The first night we were in a superior grade room which was fabulous ...... after reading the reviews on here it seems the rooms vary greatly.

The superior room was huge !! and had a view over the square. This room cost £30 per night more than the standard room & well worth the price. The bathroom was also large and very well decorated. ( recently renovated )

The standard room we stayed in for three nights was of similar standard of furnishing but much smaller... and was cheaper too ..
we paid £42 per person for room with breakfast.

The hotel is a spectacular building & the main stairway is beautiful .
We found the reception staff to be really friendly and helpful .

Breakfast service is shambolic ... There was a huge queue for a table .. lots of untrained staff roaming around not clearing tables ... which held the queue up ... hot food is £1.00 extra and they continually ran out off eggs/bacon/suasage

I enjoyed the stay as the location is superb ... walking distance to oxford Street & Covent Garden & the room was value for money ..

If they got their act together with the serving staff it would be a pleasure to stay there

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank JanOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed at The Russell Hotel on an overnight stop in order to catch an early Eurostar. Well it was just awful! The room was tiny, Just sqeezed in a 4'6" bed . In order for my husband to get in to it he had to climb over a coffee table, and chair. There was no room to go into the furniture removal business. The bathroom had a very short bath and the smallest of cloakroom sized basins. The windows looked out on to a "well" into which all the air conditioning units seemed to discharge. The noise was unacceptable and on all night. At 4.00am the noise level doubled. A sleepless night. So much for total refurbishment. All the old furniture must have gone into that room, it was battered and not matching. This was not a last minute booking as we had reserved it in July last year and I am sure they were not fully booked at that stage. Maybe all the money was spent on the entrance hall........... I would not touch this place with a barge pole in future.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank V-alpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

arrived early saturday morning given room on first floor
it was a long way from lifts up and down steps and along shabby corriders the room was small dark and at the side of all the hotel fans not for me thank you
second room was on the 8th floor lift to 7th floor not a problem
the room was a lot better brighter and when the heating was on got quite cosy
no hot water up there morning or evening forget a shower!
breakfast was excellent
the bar is a total rip off 2 plates of sandwiches 1 red wine 1 whiskey came to £30.40p ouch!!!
the hotel is well placed for all sights but beware of your room and the bar!
i feel this hotel looks very tried .

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elaine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed one Friday night in this hotel which was 100% full. We tried to check in at 11:00, but the rooms weren't ready, so we left our bags with the concierge and came back later. We had two single rooms overlooking the square, on the third floor. The room was small but had plenty of furniture, although the wardrobe was very small for anything other than a short stay. You had to manoeuvre round the easy chair to get into the bathroom.
The bar service (at 11pm) was very slow and the staff didn't seem to be in any hurry to clear away empty glasses from the tables. The bar was very busy.
When I checked the room on arrival, I noticed the heated towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working and I mentioned it to reception, who said they would send someone up to fix it. It wasn't fixed during my stay. I think the towel rail was the only form of heat in the bathroom, so it was quite nippy when I had a shower the next morning!
The bed was comfortable and despite facing the main street, the room was remarkably quiet. I only heard one lot of guests making their way past. The bathroom was fine, apart from the lack of heating, shower worked well and everything else was OK too.
We had breakfast included in the rate and this is where the hotel let itself down. We had to queue to get into the small restaurant, and queue again to get to the buffet. The cereals and juices were separate from the main buffet and were easy enough to obtain, although the juice jugs were all empty and there were no glasses available.
The fruit and yoghurts etc and the hot breakfast were all in the same place, so the same queue was serving two different parts of the buffet, it would have been better to separate them. the food was OK, but the value at £19 was appalling, I'm just glad it was included in my room rate. This is an OK hotel, and I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

After having difficulty finding a room in London we eventually ended up at the Russell Hotel in Russell Square. The location is ideal for getting to most areas of London, but it is very expensive!

My room excluding breakfast was £250 and this was a standard room. Outside the hotel is very grand and the entrance and reception areas don’t disappoint. The rooms themselves are more like small studio flats. The layout was very stylish and modern with a flat screen and LCD TV and chrome and glass bathroom fittings.

After checking in and getting ready to go out for the evening I gave the bar a try. As with a lot of hotels I ended up having to have an argument over my room allowance which they didn’t have a record of until they bothered to check! The bar wasn’t very well managed as there was only one draft beer left out of three and one choice of bottled larger. Everything else was “out of stock”. After our night out we tried the bar again. £16 for two glasses of standard scotch. Yes that’s right a total rip off. We calculated they must be knocking a £18 bottle of whisky out for about £75!

The breakfast area was excellent with carved sculptures in the ceiling a really grand area, and the selection of breakfast options was pretty good.

Overall this hotel is beautiful and in an excellent spot, but is extremely expensive and I’m sure there are equally good hotels in London for a better price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

The Russell is a stone's throw from the tube which is brilliant. Staff on check in were nice, very polite and the reception area was impressive. Our room was a curious offering, in one of the turrets - and as you'd expect, was a round room! With that in mind it wasn't a huge room, but it was comfortable. We had a small problem with heating, and after reporting it, a maintenance guy arrived promptly to fix it. Bathroom was lovely, almost new, well maintained and very clean - fabulous shower and fluffy towels. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, we tend to find them too pricey if you don't get a deal with it included, but there's a mini-mart not far and a couple of cafes either within walking distance or a hop or two on the tube. We did eat in the bar for a lunch which was nice and a generous portion and price wise, wasn't bad for a London hotel. We booked late and consequently got a good deal. We walked from there to the British Museum, probably about a 15 minute walk, but worth a visit if you get the chance, it's just a great place. And if you want a breath of fresh air from your hotel room, you have the gardens of Russell Square opposite.
All in all, a good London Hotel at a good rate even without late booking discounts. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissV-MiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#364 of 1,077 in London
829 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#389 of 1,077 in London
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#588 of 1,077 in London
663 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $269 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Principal London will open in stages throughout the course of this winter, and will fully launch in March 2018. Whilst the final touches are made to some areas, be one of the first guests to experience a sneak preview of the newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Bloomsbury, London’s most literary neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
The Principal London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing