We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisure club is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Ranked #305 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Leisure club is terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am a member of the Gym "Leisure Club" of the Marriott which allows for use of the Gyms in all Marriott locations. Having had a meeting in North London, i decided to try the Marriott in Swiss Cottage. For those who look for amenities especially gym in making your decision as to which venue to stay, this Marriott should not even b the last on your list, i had a horrible experience. As soon as i started working out, the hotel cleaner suddenly arrived and started spraying toxic chemicals on the equipment cleaning, hence all the airborne liquids being spread by the airconditioining which was on full blast and no visible controls in order to turn off. Coughing and gasping for air i went to the hotel lobby and waited for the cleaner to finish her job and returned. Upon return, i found a staff member of the gym, standing next to a member of the gym chatting away for at least 45 minutes. The voices were loud and the language became foul, at one point one told the other "shut the fu.. up"!! and they simply laughed throughout. I decided to leave and only then arrived in the changing room to find the it so messy and in desperate need of cleaning that i decided to quickly change and leave without even a shower. I simply find it a shame that a true blue brand like Marriott doesnt have proper processes and training in place in order to avoid such unprofessional and unhealthy behaviours and turning clients away. This is anti marketing at it's best!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Reza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear ‘Reza G’,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our Leisure Club; your feedback is important to me as it plays a vital role in enabling me to improve the way the members and guest view and use our Leisure facilities.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the experience you had on this occasion. I can assure you that the improper conduct of the staff which you experienced in the gym has been addressed with our fitness team. With regards to the cleaner on shift at the time, part of my current plan within the Leisure club is to ensure that our cleaning team are using their time effectively and not disrupting our guests, while still maintaining a high standard of cleanliness in the club. In this instance it is clear that the cleaner in question should have been focusing on the changing room areas and not on the gym floor whilst our members and guests are working out. This issue has been addressed with our cleaning staff.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please do accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused; I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park’s Leisure Club in the future in order to showcase the true Marriott Leisure Club service that you have come to know and love.

Kind Regards,

Oliver Deen
Leisure Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    807
    279
    102
    71
See reviews for
852
417
111
397
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of 2nd Feb 2013. Stayed here before on several occasions and my comments are similar for all our stays.
The hotel is well situated for north london. Its within easy walk of Swiss Cottage Tube and Camden. Hampstead is up the hill and needs a little more fitness. The Hotel staff have always been very courteous and attentive. Breakfast is average, coffee always good but the menu is uninspiring and just good enough but has never made me interested. The food just looks a bit boring. THe croissants are always cold even when down early, I have never ordered a la carte so cant comment on that.
The rooms are large and we have always had ones with double beds. Beds this visit were very soft and uncomfortable. The stay was ruined by renovations on nearby balconies at 8 am with drills and noise. If you are staying soon check on this at checkin, they gave me the rooms at 50% off but I would of preferred the rest. Pretty cynical not to warn guests of this at checkin.
There is good parking below the hotel which sometimes comes FOC but beware its a very tight fit to get car in, take it slowly. The gym pool is clean but very shallow, definitely no diving. Didn't use the gym this time.
My overall impression is good staff, average food, average gym and pool (clean) but very, very tired and terribly soft beds. This hotel desperately needs a decent makeover, new beds and much more ambitious food. It could be great its currently just very average for the money.

Room Tip: get one away from where they are renovating
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LanisLunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park.

Your main feedback was around the hotel’s ‘need of a makeover’ and we totally agree. The ‘balcony refresh’ project that is currently taking place is one of the solutions to this, however, we deeply regret that it inconvenienced you during your stay – this was not our intention. Our expectations of the team undertaking this project, as detailed in the lift posters, are that they do not commence any work prior to 0900hrs and any more intrusive work should not start prior to 1000hrs. We have spoken with the team again after receiving your feedback and this will not happen again. In addition, our Front Office team have been briefed to explain to all guests allocated to B block that work is taking place outside their bedrooms, so we have reviewed our expectations of the brief on the premise that you were not made aware of this on check-in.

I am delighted to let you know that we are launching a new restaurant concept called Zaike NW3 on 22nd February available on Fridays & Saturdays, which we believe is exciting and fits the talents of our highly skilled Chefs perfectly. Zaike NW3 is an authentic fusion of Indian traditional recipes and street food with a contemporary twist. Starters and mains to share and desserts to tempt your taste buds. We hope that you will be back to let us know what you think…

Thank you again for your feedback – we truly believe that we cannot expect to improve if we do not receive a balance of constructive and positive feedback and you provided us, and other readers of your review, with both.

We sincerely hope that the staff and the enticing thought of our new Zaike NW3 menu will see you visit us again, where we can demonstrate the standard London Marriott Hotel Regents Park experience to you.

Kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is made by its wonderful staff. Very comfortable bed and quiet location yet so easy to get anywhere as jubilee line is so close. The outside of the building is looking tired but refurbishment is about to start so hopefully will soon be looking better. Will definitely be back soon. Also very good value for money particularly for this location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park.

We are delighted to learn that you had a lovely stay with us and would like to thank you very much for your positive comments regarding our associates, bedrooms, location and value for money. We shall be sure to pass on these comments to our entire team.

We would also like to take this opportunity to share with you and any reader of your review our plans for the soft renovation of the exterior of the building, which you have mentioned: the project work will take place between 9:00hrs and 17:30hrs, Monday to Friday only, the outcome of which will be a full balcony and exterior refresh to celebrate our 40th anniversary this year.

Thank you very much once again for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy the renovated products!

Best regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've been to this hotel more times than I can count. Right there, that should show you how much I like it. So let me suggest the things that you need to make this perfect:

--A jacuzzi/whirlpool in the Leisure Club. I know space is tight, but that would make it perfect.

--Bring back Staropramen beer into Chats.

--Fix the annoying little stupid clock in the elevators, which are always off by about 20 minutes.

As you can see, I'm not asking for much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park and for the great ratings you have awarded us. We are delighted to learn that you have chosen to stay with us time and time again and would like to thank you very much for your loyalty.

In response to your suggestions: as you mention, there is not currently adequate space available in the leisure club to accommodate a Jacuzzi, but we will certainly keep your suggestion in mind for the future. Unfortunately, Staropramen had to be removed from the bar because it was just not popular enough; but again, we will take your comment into account should we review our offerings in the future. Finally, regarding the clocks in the lifts, the issue has already been noted and will be addressed during the next monthly service, with the hope of rectifying the problem.

Thank you once again for your feedback; we are always keen to hear our guest’s point of view on what we could improve.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I visited London with my Friends for a couple of days, to meet some of our friends who are working in London. As soon as entered the Area where the Hotel was located, I started getting Good Vibes in me. The Location of the Hotel was indeed a Perfect Location for everyone, as it was a Peaceful Area, Tourist Friendly, & in the Center of everything present there. The Staff of the Hotel was right up to the mark, in helping us recommending places to visit, ways of transport and many other things. The Variety of Dishes they offered were indeed Delicious. We even felt like increasing the days of our trip because of such Comfort and Service. Indeed, If You're going to London and are not sure which Hotel you wanna go to, this Hotel is Truly RECOMMENDED to Everyone. You Will LOVE It.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patelrajdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. We are all thrilled that you felt so comfortable and welcome in our hotel and had such positive things to say about every aspect of your stay, as is reflected in the excellent ratings you have given us.

Thank you very much once again for your glowing comments and for recommending us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and to make your next trip to London just as amazing!

Kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent a weekend in London beginning of December with my sister. The staff at the hotel was really going for the extra mile with suggestions on places to visit, musicals etc. Moreover, the property is located in a quiet yet good central location. The room was nicely furnished and spotless. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahUdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. We are very pleased that you had such positive things to say about the hotel and that you would recommend us to others. We shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to our entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your sister back for another amazing weekend in London soon.

Many thanks and kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at most Marriotts around London over the years.

I tend to keep coming back to Regents Park. Whilst it is a little away from the centre, it is a 5 minutes walk from Swiss Cottage tube and good for the Jubilee line straight into the main areas of London.

Staff are always friendly, rooms clean and well kept, good bar (drinks prices not bad for London) and good little gym / pool.

Breakfast typical Marriott affair, exec lounge small and can get busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adkuk2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONRP_General_Mgr, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a lovely review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. We are very pleased to learn that you often choose our hotel when visiting London and would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our facilities, location and service.

Concerning the executive lounge, we are continuously trying to improve its layout and had rearranged the furniture in December in order to create more space. But we certainly take your comments on board and will have another look into its layout. Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your review once again. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to London.

Kind regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#582 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Regents Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Property: London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Address: 128 King Henrys Road, London NW3 3ST, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in London
#216 Romantic Hotel in London
#216 Family Hotel in London
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — London Marriott Hotel Regents Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Marriott Hotel Regents Park provides a convenient base for the astute business traveller and leisure guest. This 4 star North London hotel offers spacious facilities and competitive rates combined with a close proximity to the city centre. Located a short walk from Swiss Cottage underground station on the Jubilee Line, the hotel is perfect for shoppers, visitors to the city and sports fans alike with direct connections to Wembley Stadium, Lord's Cricket Ground, Bond Street, Buckingham Palace, Parliament Square and Canary Wharf. In addition, the lively markets of Camden Town, Primrose Hill with its chic shops, quaint cafes and panoramic views across London, and ZSL London Zoo in Regent's Park are all just a short walk or bus ride away. The hotel has 304 spacious bedrooms. The Leisure Club's extensive onsite facilities benefit from a 15m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, solarium, gym and hair and beauty salons. Additional services include an Italian restaurant Carluccio's, 24 hour room service and on-site car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Regents Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott Hotel Park
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing