We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So British ;o)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Ranked #286 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Joinville-le-Pont, France
1 review
“So British ;o)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

The location and sherlock Holmes Theme make this hotel a typical Britsh Hotel.

Service is really good and helpfull.

You're near transports and Oxford for Shopping.

really a good trip

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben94340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please allow us to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London.

Your review is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us

We are happy to hear that our service was good and up to your expectations.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Sincerely,

Pascale Fioretti
General Manager Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel +44 (0)2074866161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    854
    316
    120
    71
See reviews for
444
778
139
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

stumbled upon the park plaza sherlock holmes, hidden away on baker street. a beautiful boutique hotel. room was large, very comfortable, big LCD TV and a lovely bathroom with nice products. The Staff couldnt do more to help, thank you.
the bar is great too, would definatly recommend this hotel and stay here again.
its in a nice area, close to tube stations and main line marylebone

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thame_hoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London.

We are happy to hear that you found our services and accommodation pleasing and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your great comments are highly appreciated and it has been brought forward to our team.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes, we wish to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Pascale Fioretti
General Manager Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel +44 (0)2074866161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

very good hotel - was not our first choice but we had a wonderful surprise. we stayed in the executive room, which was quite roomy, with nice and warm decor (no smelly bedcovers that youcan't waite to put away...).hot water all day long and the ac worked well.we asked that the minibar would be emptied so we could use it as a frige - and it was done with a smile. the staff were great - helped with any thing and everything we asked. we took the continental breakfast which was served as a buffe and was quite rich and good ( fruits - fresh and dried, vegies, selection of cheese, breads,cereals, eggs, saausages and beans.... realy good). location is wonderful - tube and many buses - even all night bus - close by. good area for tourists - busy, close enough yet quiet safe,

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yael3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to begin by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel London.

Our team here at the Sherlock Holmes always tries to do their utmost to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are very delighted to hear that you felt our service was great and that your stay with us was enjoyable.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza, thank you for your amazing comments and we wish to have you back soon.


Sincerely,

Pascale Fioretti
General Manager Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel +44 (0)2074866161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

When able to go to London we only stay at the Sherlock because we have consistently had good service and the staff are always friendly. We always leave with a feeling of being genuinely welcome during our stay. Natalie Nieto was particularly helpful with a minor query and addressed it very promptly. I think that I can only say thanks to all of the staff at the Sherlock and we will see them again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel London.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comment on our staff and our Guest Relations Manager Natalie Nieto, they were very pleased to read that their friendly attitude and the quality of the service they provided made a difference to your stay.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write amazing comments on our service and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes.

Sincerely,


Pascale Fioretti

General Manager Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel +44 (0)2074866161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed here as I was attending one of the hotel's murder mystery parties.

We had intentionally arrived early (11am) so as to have time to explore London before the evening party.

I was pleasantly surprised that we were able to check in and get the keys to our room rather than just leaving the bags. The reception staff were very helpful.

The room was fine. Not particularly large (but then this is London!). The bed was comfortable. There was a wide range of TV channels and music options. The only massive let down was the bathroom door. The entrance to the bathroom faced the side of the bed and consisted of a sliding frosted glass door with clear glass panels in the design. it seemed highly inappropriate as it was clear to see exactly what someone was up to in the bathroom! The heated mirror was a nice touch (no amount of steam would fog it up) however the door was unforgivable.

The location is great. Our train had arrived into Marylebone and the hotel was a straightforward 10 min walk from there. We also found it a great base to explore the London sights on foot - Trafalgar Square, Oxford Street, Buckingham Palace, Westminster. it was a nice change to have this option rather than having to rely on the tube. Although it was walking distance to everything it wasn't noisy at night.

The murder mystery party was good fun with lots of opportunity for getting involved. The food wasn't great - looked really unappetising - typical mass produced party fare. It was a shame that the 'disco' took place in a different room below, in what seemed like a tiny conference room. it didn't really add to the party atmosphere! As a result we ended the night in the chilled out hotel bar so it a bit of an anti-climax.

Breakfast the next day was excellent. A lot of different options available on the buffet and some delicious options to order from the kitchen - we had scrambled eggs & smoked salmon and ham, poached eggs, spinach & hollandaise on a toasted bagel. The breakfast waiting staff were extremely attentive and helpful.

We were able to store our bags after checkout, to allow us more time for sight seeing.

The hotel is a good central base in London and one I would consider using again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to say thank you on your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London.

We are delighted to hear that your stay and the Murder Mystery Event with us were enjoyable, and also we would like to thank you for your positive comment on our service which I have passed on to all our staff.

I am sorry to hear that the bathroom door in your bedroom and the disco party were inconvenient, unfortunately I can only apologies to you!

You will be pleased to know that we are frosting some of our bathroom doors as we understand that this Hotel design can be an issue in some of our rooms.

Regarding the disco, it always takes place on the lower ground floor to minimize noise disruption to Hotel guests; however we take your comments on board.

Please note that I passed on your feedback about the food presentation to our Chef for review.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to write an amazing review and for bringing these issues to my attention. Guests’ feedback enables us to consistently review our standards and improve our level of service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes.

Sincerely,

Pascale Fioretti
General Manager Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel +44 (0)207 486 6161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

This is our second time staying at the Sherlock Holmes Hotel and it certainly won't be our last. My husband and I travelled to London with our girls and had two executive rooms. The rooms are immaculately clean and the housekeepers are always ready to provide anything that you require with a big smile on their face. I actually found that the hotel was even better than the last time because they now have wi-fi internet in the rooms and they have changed and upgraded the TV's and the amount of channels provided to watch.

What I love is the fact that you are made to feel so very welcome and everyone is out to please. The location is also perfect because it is right opposite two bus stops and a few steps away from the Baker Street tube station. Breakfast is also great because they provide you with hot dishes too besides the usual cereals and cold cuts of meats. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and individually controlled air conditioners. I also find the rooms to be large compared to the usual London standards which is great...

I'll definitely go back to the Sherlock Holmes.. to be honest I can't think of a nicer place to stay in London as it's also good value for money for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write an amazing review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear it was an enjoyable experience, and also we would like to thank you for your positive comments on staff which I have passed on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes.

Sincerely,

Pascale Fioretti
General Manager Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel +44 (0)2074866161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

We booked a murder mystery dinner and overnight stay for my hen do.
The murder mystery was great fun and the food was nice.
Unfortunately I was given a bad hotel room which really spoilt my stay. Apparently we have all been upgraded to a better room we were told when we checked in. So I was rather surprised when I got a room that was really noisy and incredibly hot. The noise was caused by the air con ducting and the heat was due to a broken thermostat. At this point I would like to add that I'm not a fussy hotel guest at all. I have been sleeping in youth hostels all around the world for many years and are not bothered easily. However, if I pay £140 for a room which was even upgraded, I expect to be able to sleep. I complaint and was told that there are no other twin rooms available so our only alternative was a double room. Hm, not really alright but better than the noisy and hot room I thought. Unfortunately, the second room was about the size of a shoe box and the mattress was so soft that I'm still surprised it didn't touch the ground when lying in it. Also, this time the heating wasn't working at all so it was absolutely freezing in the room. There was a little mobile heating unit provided (so they knew the heating was broken!) but again, it made so much noise that we had the choice between freezing or noise that prevents you from sleeping. I had to leave early the next morning to get a friend to the airport and I'm still annoyed that it meant I didn't have time to ask my money back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsfireblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSHLondon, General Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to sincerely apologise for any frustration and inconvenience that you have been caused following your stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel London. I am always grateful to receive feedback from our guests, as it enables me to consistently review our standards and improve our levels of service. As we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations I was very disappointed to hear of your experience.

I am very sorry that you had to stay in 2 rooms where the Air Conditioning unit was not working. I would like to inform you that we have investigated this matter and our Maintenance team has resolved the issue with the Air Conditioning System in both rooms.

Together with the Housekeeping team I have also taken immediate action on addressing the issue with the uncomfortable mattress.

Please feel reassured that these incidents do not reflect the usually high standards of service provided by Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to my attention, and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascale Fioretti
General Manager
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel
+44 (0)2074866161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#116 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#415 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#341 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#279 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#215 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Property: Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in London
#201 Business Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#229 Family Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing