We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Ranked #296 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for city break”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel with my wife after booking via secret hotel on last minute.com. It as situated very near Baker Street tube station but also 10 minute walk to Oxford Street. The room was very good for the price. Yes the room was not huge but it was clean and the temperature was just right. My wife found the glass door to bathroom strange but gave a modern aspect to the room. The old floorboards also set the room off and the bed was superb one of my best nights sleep in a hotel. Plenty of restaurants nearby but menu for hotel looked reasonably priced. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your glowing feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel.

I hope that we will have pleasure of your company next time you are in town. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    882
    324
    123
    75
See reviews for
467
793
144
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very well situated a bit off the busy Oxford Street, although near enough if that is wanted. The room we occupied was a bit small but OK, the strangest thing I thought was the glass door to the bathroom. I agree with previous reviews that it is too warm, we turned the heating on and the window was wide open.
Very nice neighbourhood and I would surely stay there again. Staff very friendly and the Chardonnay excellent. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel, for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor and for all the kind words about us.

We are pleased to hear that you value our care of our guest. It will be an honour for us to have you with us again during your next stay in London.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular visitor to this hotel and normally find it is perfect but the last two stays have been spoilt by the room being far too hot. On both occasions the hotel staff have been very polite and tried their best to be helpful but unfortunately supplying two noisy fans isnt what you expect for the price of the rooms.
Hopefully the hotel will rectify the problem soon but for the time being I will be staying elsewhere.
On a good note the food is still excellent especially the breakfast and the steak and ale pie.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rsb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor. It is regretful to hear that we missed the opportunity to create a positive experience this time so, please accept my sincere apologies for that.

All of the points that you have raised will be reviewed immediately.

The next time you stay with us please email me on jsobral@pphe.com. It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and we really look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm Regards,

Joana Sobral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Only stayed one night but had very quiet twin room at back.staff very friendly and hotel very clean and comfy! However needed a bit of TLC in our room, only one mirror in bathroom,being two ladies one over desk would be improvement,!But location is fabulous, and so accessible to all of London,buses were brilliant ,staff v knowledgable
All in all,a good stay,considering last time I was here in this hotel was 1964, when it was YWCA,for 2years as student! Wondered if I had slept in the room before!!

Room Tip: Back rooms although no views very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyhols_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your glowing feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel.

Our staff work very hard so positive feedback such as yours is always a pleasure to read.

I hope that we will have pleasure of your company next time you are in town. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were warmly greeted on our arrival our cases were looked after as we checked into our room,although we had arrived before 2.00 pm our room was ready.

Our room was well maintained and presented.Our view was over Baker Street.The noise and bustle of a busy road did not interfere with our sleep as the double glazing was most effective.

There was plenty of storage space for our weekend stay.I would recommend guests bring slippers as the floor is wood and can be cold.The bedding and bed were comfortable and the towels in the Bathroom were big and soft.

We returned late from the theater and were able to have a night cap at the Hotels Bar before returning to our room.

Breakfast was excellent with a choice food from continental to full English.

Checking out was swift and we were asked if we required a taxi for our onward travels.

We would return to the Sherlock the next time we visit London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunbanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel, for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor and for all the kind words about us.

We are pleased to hear that you value our care of our guest. It will be an honour for us to have you with us again during your next stay in London.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my first time staying at this fabulous hotel and I only picked the hotel for the location as I needed to be close to Baker Street for work but found it to be ideal for everything (shopping, The O2, tourist locations, Wembley)! The staff were brilliant on the reception desk and in the restaurant. The whole place had a warm feel to it. Very spacious rooms especially by London standards. Highlight of the stay was Breakfast, walked to the restaurant and saw a massive queue so was about to leave and grab something nearby when the hostess offered to seat me in the lounge. Enjoyed a delicious Full English in the cosy and tranquil lounge before reading the paper by a faux fireplace (the authenticity of which was fiercely debated by a couple nearby). The departure was quick and the staff left me with a lasting impression in the form of a very handy hint as I plotted my route to Euston and contemplated which line to get. Been to down to London a lot and never realised how short a walk Euston train station is from Euston Square underground! "'You see, but you do not observe. The distinction is clear."
I loved the Sherlock Holmes theme as I am huge fan. Will I stay there again - elementary!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street if you a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your superb review. I was so glad to read that you had a great time on your first stay with us and that you enjoyed the whole "Sherlock" experience. - 'There is nothing like first-hand evidence.'

I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Sherlock in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Catarina Santos
Guest Relations Executive
csantos@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is my second trip to this hotel, slightly disappointed for two reasons ..... the hotel's communal areas upstairs are in need of a little bit of a smartening up - carpets showing wear in the corridors and the bathroom in our room needed the grout attending to, as it was discoloured. Second reason was that when we returned after a fab night out, the night porter could only serve us bottles of beer, despite the selection of alcohol in the bar being on display and potentially available. What a disappointment for this non beer drinker!
Apart from these two things, the hotel is cute, reasonably priced and really well positioned for the West End and a good night out. Happy to recommend, but come on Park Plaza attend to the decor and the late night bar.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two rooms, one at the front and one at the back both perfectly acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your very valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel.

According to the hotel liquor license we are not able to sell any spirits or cocktail drinks after 23:00. We can only sell bottled beers and wine. I apologise for the inconvenience this might have caused.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#419 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#298 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#271 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#191 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Property: Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in London
#201 Business Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#229 Family Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing