We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Ranked #297 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newark
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very Good, great location”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Popular and busy hotel in a great location, £8 in a cab from Kings Cross and buzzing with activity. My room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed and all the staff were excellent. The ONLY reason I haven't given a 5 rating was due to the food .... there's nothing fundamentally wrong with it, breakfast was much like any hotel, anywhere, just not what you would expect for £220 a night B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of All the staff at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel, I'd like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are working hard to provide the highest level of product and services and therefore really appreciate your enthusiasm and positive comments. We would also like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    902
    333
    124
    76
See reviews for
490
807
147
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We chose the Sherlock Holmes primarily for it's location and we were not disappointed. Baker Street station was only a two minute walk and there was a bus stop right outside the door. There were also a lot of good restaurants and shops within easy walking distance of the hotel. The staff at the hotel was fantastic. They were all very polite, professional and efficient. The wait staff in the dining room were especially helpful. The rooms themselves were clean and very comfortable with some modern updates. They would have been nicer still if the windows were from this century and had a little soundproofing. A good choice if you are visiting London.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of noise at night and early in the morning on Baker Street. If that will bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel, not only for staying with but to give us feedback on your recent stay .

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms are nicely done but a bit on the small side. We did not sleep well at all due to the high temperature of the room and not being able to turn down the temp gauge because it was on the lowest setting. The beds are comfy and the bathroom clean but if you like privacy in the bathroom you wont get much as the doors are glass. For some unknown reason a lady who looked to be a member of staff, was knocking room doors and ours early in the morning which was unpleasant after a poor nights sleep. The location is good and just a five minute walk from marylebone train station.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel for your feedback on your recent stay at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes.

The next time you stay with us please email me on ktalwar@pphe.com and I shall ensure a nice room is allocated.

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Your staff was great. The was very good. Your location is just perfect. I personally enjoyed my stay with you. For my first to Europe, I chose to goto London. I had no idea as what to expect. But I must say that your hotel was very easy to find snd a joy to stay at. The breakfast buffet was so well prepared and good. I had such a great time on the Rick Steves tour, and hotel made it that much better. Avery Nichols. Fort Worth, Texas. U.S.A

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun_1_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel, not only for staying with but to give us such great feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stay at this hotel almost every time we visit London. I would not really want to stay anywhere else, because I know what to expect - it has always been good. And it's in Baker Street - close to many places that are of interest to us, and we have discovered a nice pub in the area.

The rooms are large and modern with a lovely big bed (although the additional bed for the kid is not always that comfortable). I am not the greatest fan of the bathroom design with transparent doors etc. but it has never deterred me from having a nice hot bath.

There are always two little bottles of wine, mineral water and fruit waiting for us - nice touch.

I find this hotel really charming - the decor, the atmosphere, the people, the whole package.

The service has always been great. Lovely friendly people in the bar and restaurant. The breakfast is great.

Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden-Goose-Legend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of All the staff at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel, I'd like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are working hard to provide the highest level of product and services and therefore really appreciate your enthusiasm and positive comments. We would also like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for saturday night so we could go to a show and have dinner, we arrived at 11;30am after asking for early check in they got us into our room at 12. They also upgraded my mums room which was great. The hotel staff were all very friendly and professional. My only critism is the cost for drinks at the bar but it is london so that is pretty much standard.

All together it is worth paying less and staying at this park plaza rather than westminster as rooms are just as good and the location is great for oxford street and the west end.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arniejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of All the staff at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel, I'd like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are working hard to provide the highest level of product and services and therefore really appreciate your enthusiasm and positive comments. We would also like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is an hotel located in a really strategic place. it is closed to Baker street tube station and to a walking distance for Oxford Street. it is a very lively street. The hotel is apparently really nice according to a tipycal British style. Unfortunately the staff is not so efficient. Even if people are friendly and nice, the organisation is not so efficient. Really long lines for the repection, long line for consuming breakfast. The price is not so cheap ... therefore quality to price is not well combined. Nevertheless, I may suggest it recommanding to reduce any espectation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cami068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the above feedback. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and would like to thank you for your positive comments on the hotel. In reviewing your response I noticed areas where you rated us below what I consider to be acceptable, including Staff Service.

If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns please contact me directly on ktalwar@pphe.com. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard and the feedback is addressed by the management.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the here at the Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#30 of 1,068 in London
508 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#443 of 1,068 in London
668 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#209 of 1,068 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#264 of 1,068 in London
237 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#61 of 1,068 in London
3,495 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#182 of 1,068 in London
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Property: Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in London
#201 Business Hotel in London
#218 Luxury Hotel in London
#229 Family Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing