We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the key for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Ranked #302 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My sister I stayed here for a weekend away I chose it for its location and reputation. We arrived at 12pm and were able to check in and go to our quiet room which was good. The room was average, although a good size it was a little tatty around the edges, especially the bathroom which did smell slightly mouldy and had a frosted (not 100%) sliding bathroom door that was neither sound or smell proof.

I don't know if I have always taken it for granted but there was also no tea or coffee making facilities which I demeaningly informed by someone at reception that unless I was staying in a loft or suite room then I was not entitled to it.

We were also interrupted 4 times in the morning by housekeeping, I knew I should have used the sign for the door but also expect staff to check at reception especially after the 1st time and have never had this in any other hotel when I haven't used the sign. I think as I had high expectations for this hotel, despite it being part of a chain, I was a little let down. Location is the major plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I appreciate your feedback.
I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, please email me on ktalwar@pphe.com and I will ensure you are allocated a nice room.

Your feedback has been shared as well with the relevant management for improvements.


Thank you,

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

stayed here for two nights; gold status with club carlson so upgraded to a very nice room on a high floor. smaller room but good for london. wonderful bathroom. excellent amenties and welcome gift. particularly liked the multiple power outlets for charging by the desk, a very nice touch i have never seem before. the girl at check-in was very efficient and obviously an asset to the hotel. breakfast was excellent. overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel, not only for staying with but to give us such great feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel is very well located and offers a lovely atmosphere.

The staff is really accomodating and friendly.

The rooms are large and you can enjoy the decoration.

You will find high quality shops in the neighbourhood.

You should definitely try it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the street. The last floor is cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for Choosing to stay at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes. We appreciate you taking the time to complete this review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and would like to thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and the hotel staff.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area with your family!


Kind Regards

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sherlock Holmes Hotel is centrally located in London on Baker St., only a block or two from the tube. It is close to Regents Park, London Zoo, Regents College, shopping on Oxford St and so much more.

The hotel itself is charming with a nice lobby, bar, restaurant (although a bit pricy), fitness/spa, and separate, additional more private fireplace lounge area.

The rooms are comfortable with good TV, bed and desk area. The desk has built in converters for all electrical outlets so didn't need a converter. Bathroom was small but nice. The only problem I had was that the heat was difficult to control in the room.

The staff was excellent...very accommodating. When I needed to work out a split in the two rooms I had booked with a colleague, they spent as much time as we needed to get it right. And, when I got home and needed another copy of the bill, they readily sent it to me by email.

I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel, not only for staying with but to give us such great feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,

Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for one night using a voucher. Upgraded for £20 to a studio room which was great with two large flat screen tv's and a sofa area. Small tray of sweets left in room a nice touch. Good location and we walked to the West End and on to Covent Garden which took about 40 mins but lots of interesting shops on way. Breakfast usual buffet fare with the option to buy other items such as pancakes, smoked salmon etc. Bar downstairs had a nice feeling to it (just right for a pre-dinner champagne cocktail). Overall a good stay and would recommend especially if you get a good offer as we did.

Room Tip: Room 127 studio room was large and had complete privacy as windows looked over a very small terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel, not only for staying with but to give us feedback on your recent stay .

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely hotel, very close to Madame Taussauds and Oxford Street. Great service and spacious rooms. Food in the bar was amazing and the breakfast was also very good. Would recommend this hotel to anyone for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of All the staff at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel, I'd like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and more so that your will recommend us to your friends.

We are working hard to provide the highest level of product and services and therefore really appreciate your enthusiasm and positive comments. We would also like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Thank you
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel using Vivastay. I arrived at lunchtime for a Friday night stay for one night. There was a bit of a cafuffle at check-in with a couple on front of me sorting out a problem with their booking. This meant I was kept waiting for around fifteen minutes whilst this was resolved. I didn't mind too much as I was in no rush, but there were other members of staff about and a free terminal, so this could have been dealt with more efficiently.

However, the surroundings in the hotel are lovely in e communal areas. I didn't have time to visit the spa and gym, but I will definitely do this next time as they looked really lovely.

The bar is cosy and cosmopolitan, the drink selection is good and the cocktails appealing, although it is a bit on the pricey side, I think you expect this in hotel bars. The service couldn't be faulted.

The room we stayed in 202, was very well furnished. My only comment would be that the sink had a crack in it, but I suppose this cant be helped if the previous guest cracks it?!? The room was a good size, no view, and the window opened. This was good as it was a bit hot throughout the night.

The hotel location is perfect for shopping and sightseeing. Nearest tube is Baker St which is a great base from which to do many areas of London. We used it for a night in Covent Garden, and a touristy day meeting friends the following day. Breakfast was a good selection, freshly presented.

I would recommend this hotel, it has something a bit different about it and it feels comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff here at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes hotel, not only for staying with but to give us such great feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you at the Sherlock Holmes and We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Kriti Talwar
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
686 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#70 of 1,077 in London
3,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#245 of 1,077 in London
235 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
251 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#573 of 1,077 in London
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in London
#201 Business Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#229 Family Hotel in London
#241 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $185 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing