We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves a lot to be desired for a 5 star hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Ranked #504 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've never before felt it necessary to take the time to leave a negative review, but after several letdowns and overall poor quality at over £300 per night, I feel something needs to be said.

As a Starwood Member, I was given a special "Preferred Guest" room and access to the Club Lounge for complementary breakfasts. The room was a good size but had large stains on the carpet. Otherwise the room was acceptable but nothing to make it stand out as being in a 5 star hotel.

The breakfast offered in the Club Lounge (exclusively for Starwood Members) was thoroughly disappointing. No hot items whatsoever... meaning no eggs, no bacon or sausage as you would expect at breakfast buffet. What happened to the famous English Breakfast!? We are in England no?

The gym/spa area is however above average with ample room to workout, squash courts, a beautiful swimming pool and steam room. This is the hotel's strong point, but in my opinion, not enough to make up for the essentials that are missing.

Did I mention that despite the price of the room, Internet access is still extra at £0.50 per minute or £16 per day making this review valuable indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear John P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

I do apologise for the fact that you were dissatisfied with your recent experience at the Hotel. Our guests are our upmost priority and we strive to ensure that every guest has a very enjoyable time at the Hotel. I have asked the Property Manager to check the room carpet in the room you occupied so that this can be removed.

Please be advised that in the Terrace Grill & Bar we have a buffet with a wide selection and we serve a full English Breakfast as well as having an a la carte menu. We feel that our continental breakfast served in the Club Lounge offers a good value and personalised service to our SPG platinum guests and those who pay for a Club room or suite.
I was pleased learn that you appreciated our Health Club and my sincere apologies for any inconsistency in product you may have experienced during your stay.

I sincerely hope that your mixed experiences will not deter you from choosing Le Meridien Piccadilly for your next visit to London. Please feel free to contact my office to assist you with a room allocation on your next stay.

Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent few nights in this nice but oldish hotel in the west end. For a 5 star hotel I expected something more. The breakfast area is nice and there's a lot of choice but the rooms need a restoration, expecially because the bath looks like "I had nicer periods in my life!!!", and this isn't acceptable for this kind oh hotel. What makes very good this hotel is the position, just few steps from Piccadilly Circus.

Room Tip: The best and more quiet rooms are on the mezzanine of each floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieldenoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear danieldenoto

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

The Hotel certainly has a privileged location within easy access of all that London has to offer. However, we were disappointed that the room you occupied was not to your liking, although we aim to provide a good value, personalised service to all our guests.

I sincerely hope that your mixed experiences will not deter you from choosing Le Meridien Piccadilly for your next visit to London. Please feel free to contact my office to assist you with a room allocation on your next stay.

Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have returned to Le Meridien in London and it is pretty good as usual.
Beside being located in a fantastic spot it boast very courteous staff and good breakfast.
Pity that you must be 18 to have solo access to the Gym, my son (15Y) can fly solo back and forth to boarding school, boards trains and cross London on his own but he is not considered mature enough to train by himself........

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear villaaldegheri

Thank you for your choosing to stay with us again and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to see that you had another enjoyable stay as well as appreciating the breakfast selection provided. The Hotel’s amazing location in the heart of London is perfectly well placed for business and tourism.

It was marvellous to learn that you valued the level of service provided by our associates as they are an excellent asset to the Hotel. I have noted your comments regarding Le Méridien Piccadilly’s policy on access of minors to the Gym. The policy is that during manned hours the age limit for access is 16 years of age and during the hours that the Gym is unmanned you are correct this is 18 years.
Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to Le Méridien Piccadilly and Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We very much look forward to seeing you again in October.
Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times, and it's consistently good. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The location can't be beat--minutes from Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, and Trafalgar Square. The only thing that's a tiny bit annoying is the fact that the Club Level closes at 10pm--it would be so nice to come in after a night out and be able to grab a cold bottle of water. Other than that, though, it's wonderful!

Room Tip: The water pressure in the shower seems to get worse the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Megan S

Thank you for staying at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your favourable comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

It was a great pleasure to read your wonderful comments regarding your stay and that you had a most enjoyable time with us as well as appreciating our spacious and beautiful rooms. Although the Club Lounge is closed at night our Longitude 0°8' Bar is the perfect place to visit with its lively and relaxing atmosphere to spend the evening or indeed after a night out to enjoy a drink before turning in for the night.

The Hotel is indeed ideally placed for travelling around London with ease and for visiting most of its major attractions, sites and theatres either on foot or by public transport.
Thank you again for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is located in Piccadilly and is convenient to main shopping area's such as Regent Street, Oxford Street and many of the city's other attractions including restaurants and theatres. We had a bit of a drama with our bathroom in that it got flooded while we were out. The night duty responded immediately and we were located into a junior suite which was excellent. The breakfast choices were as you would expect and all the staff I encountered were both very friendly and helpful. Despite the bathroom mishap I really enjoyed the stay here and it's location is just fantastic. I will have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Jim B

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your constructive review on TripAdvisor following your stay.

It was great to learn that you had an enjoyable time as well as appreciating the Hotel’s facilities, especially the junior suite. I was truly sorry that you had to move rooms due to the emergency maintenance issue in your bathroom, however, I was very pleased to read that the Night Manager handled the situation in a professional and efficient manner.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for posting your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Piccadilly.

Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a lovely 4-night stay at this ideally situated hotel in central London. Standard room was large and comfortable. Turn down service at night - with bottled water and chocolates - much appreciated. The hotel is steps away from Picadilly Circus, Regent and Oxford Streets as well as Soho. It does not get much better in terms of location...
Staff was warm and friendly - I was sick one day and requested the room be made up after 4 pm; the woman on the Service line when I called was so sweet... we didn't eat or drink or use the fitness room - too busy out and about having fun! Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Travellingnurse50

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your kind review on the TripAdvisor website.

Our location is indeed ideal for moving around London and for visiting most of its major attractions, sites and theatres. It is difficult to be more central in London than at Le Méridien Piccadilly. I was also pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that in particular you appreciated your spacious and well-appointed room.

It was encouraging to learn that you appreciated the level of kindness and service provided by our associates, especially on the day that you were unwell, they are a great asset to the Hotel. I have shared your kind words with all of them.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to Le Méridien Piccadilly and Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visit London frequently and this is the third time we stay at le Meridien Piccadilly. Its situation is great, , but not only that. All staff we met was very attentive and friendly. This time Virginie H. at the Reception Desk was very helpfull to solve any potential difficulty. Many thanks! We like it a lot to have diner at the terrasse restaurant. No doubt that when in London, it will be le Meridien Piccadilly again.
.

Room Tip: Try to book a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Luxembourg

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

I was delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay as well as appreciating the Hotel’s facilities. It was hugely inspiring that you appreciated the high level of service provided by our associates and I have shared your kind comments, as everyone works very hard to deliver Le Méridien Brand standard of service.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and for choosing to stay with us, we very much look forward to welcoming you again to Le Méridien Piccadilly on your future visits to London

Yours sincerely

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#403 of 1,077 in London
2,029 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#128 of 1,077 in London
4,078 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
#414 of 1,077 in London
1,490 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,271 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Piccadilly

Address: 21 Piccadilly, London W1J 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $281 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Piccadilly 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Piccadilly is set in the heart of the West End one of London’s most fashionable destination, and only moments away from London’s cultural attractions, including Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, and Covent Garden. The hotel features many amenities including meeting facilities and banqueting suites, the Piccadilly Health Club and one of London’s largest indoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Piccadilly Hotel London
Le Meridien Hotel London
Le Meridien London
London Le Meridien
Le Meridien Piccadilly London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing