We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice long weekend in london”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #342 of 1,088 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice long weekend in london”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great long weekend in London, our stay was at the Waldorf hotel.
Our room was nice, clean and with all the space we needed.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, I will recommend this too all my close friends.
Breakfast was a standard continental breakfast but staff again was great and friendly.
Looking for any faults as some people have Wright about as the room was not nice and the staff was rude I must say I did not find it.
Next time I am in London this will be my pick again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wietzeklijnstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Wietzeklijnstra,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on Trip Advisor. I am always happy to read reviews from guests that have enjoyed their experience at our hotel and hope that you will be returning very soon.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    1,161
    711
    313
    155
See reviews for
727
1,711
131
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I just returned from another fabulous visit to London's West End. I stayed at the Waldorf-Hilton on Aldwych, such a perfect location walking distance to the South End (The Eye), the theater district, Trafalgar Square where I saw Prince Harry, and Covent Garden. The Concierge Team, led by Daniel Firth, was beyond any expectation. I had access to theatre tickets that were phenomenal, and every courtesy you could imagine including... I woke up with a sore throat and in 40 minutes there was a doctor at my hotel room door. Daniel and his team let NOTHING interfere with my fabloulous vacation. I never lifted a finger. They sent packages for me, arranged my baggage and arranged for me a luxurious (and less expensive) ride back to Heathrow. The in-house restaurant, Homage, provided healthy and delicious meals and the service was outstanding. I was a princess for ten days. Thank you to a competent and courteous and most kindhearted staff in a venue whose name speaks for itself. I recommend the Waldorf Aldwych wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: I would arrange the room through the hotel (in-house reservations) and tell them EXACTLY what your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMireille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear LindaMireille,

Thank you very much for your review. I was glad to hear that you returned to our hotel and found your stay just as enjoyable as your previous stays with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Booked this well located, well known hotel at the last minute expecting a five star experience and was bitterly disappointed. Arrived at the hotel carrying two pieces of luggage, greeted by unsmiling door man, and an efficient but also unsmiling receptionist. Main reception is very unimpressive, bland and soulless. Carried my own luggage to my premier deluxe room( paid an extra £15 for an upgrade which I assume was for a refurbished room). At first site the room was fairly impressive, large, airy and clearly recently refurbished, with an extremely large and well appointed bathroom. Didn't have time to think about it too much until I returned late from dinner. The room was unbearably hot and I discovered that the a/c was not working, also no instructions on how to operate it, tried to open the window, but restricted by locks to just 2 inches which was not enough to cool the room, therefore bad nights sleep. In the morning, had to hunt the tea tray, which was weirdly positioned right at the back of a walk in wardrobe, along with the mini bar, wardrobe was deep and badly lit. Horrible UHT milk on the tray, no fresh milk in the fridge. Water in bathroom was luke warm, and the water pressure in the shower was ridiculously low, dirty marks on the back of the bathroom door, towels clean but we'll past their sell by date.
On a B&B rate so decided to have breakfast in the main restaurant where I was greeted by first friendly member of staff! Ordered poached eggs as part of my breakfast, I had to ask twice, when they eventually arrived after 15 minutes they were cold and rock hard, the breakfast buffet was extensive but of poor quality, e.g streaky bacon, undercooked, fatty and tasteless. Serving staff were pleasant but clearly disorganised and appeared to have no real grasp on service delivery. Noticed unused conference screens and tables in the lobby area on my way back to my room.
This hotel strikes me as a property that is being run on a very tight budget, where decisions on design and presentation have been made on cost, not with customer experience in mind. It has a feeling that staff have been told what to do and are going through the motions !
In summary, no style, no finesse, no warmth..... hugely disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Chris D,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton. I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations and that you felt that you did not receive our usual standard of service.

I hope that you give us the opportunity to show you that we are able to provide the exceptional service you expected and should have received during your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The room we had booked was not available on check-in. While at the time of check-in and checkout I was extremely disappointed at the way our booking was handled, it did not seem the time or the place to complain or spoil our weekend by complaining. I express my utmost disappointment that a booking as a present from our children, booked in December 2012 and confirmed by myself when we added a further day, and which was followed up with a phone to the hotel by myself in January 2013, where a gentleman confirmed the two bookings and the room would be available. While I appreciate the addition of breakfast and a bottle of house wine were necessary gestures, it in no way confirms to me and none of the hotel staff have yet explained, why was our room not available, after being booked so long in advance. I would appreciate an honest response.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank BERTWESTSUSSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear BertWestSussex,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Without guest feedback we would not be able to monitor our service standards and keep them at a level we have become known for.

If you could please contact me on benjamin.deane@hilton.com and explain exactly what happened I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I arrived in London from the US at 9am. I booked a room for the night prior so I could have a bed to take a nap in when I arrived. I got there and checked in right away. When I got to the room I was absolutely disgusted. It was room 703 and I could believe how old, outdated, dirty, and just not well appointed the room was. The air condition was on the floor and was just so old it hardly blew out anything. The room only had one super small port hole window in both the bedroom and bathroom. It felt more like a prison room that a hotel room. I went to the front desk to let them know this room would not work for me. I spoke to a very rude and snotty clerk whose name was Amilton I believe. He was just not accommodating at all. I booked through Expedia so I called them to ask for their assistance and they were of no help either. They actually hung up on my twice.

Then I received a call from Elisa with Guests Services. She was TERRIFIC. She showed me a room on the 4th floor that was so beautiful and very well appointed. It felt like it was in a totally different hotel than the first room. I quickly moved to the new room and all fo my experiences from that point on was great. The renovated rooms are beautiful, the front door staff is so friendly and the concierge team worked hard to find us reservations for dinner each night.

The location for this hotel couldnt be any better. The amount of theaters, pubs, and restaurants in walking distance was unlimited. I would certainly recommend this hotel but only for the floors with renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room. I knwo the rooms on the 7th and 8th floor are not renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livingintampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear LivinginTampa,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on Trip Advisor. I am always happy to read reviews from guests that have enjoyed their experience at our hotel and hope that you will be returning very soon.

I have passed your comment onto Elisa and she was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights last week, floors 1 through 5 have been refurbished and are very nice, room was good on first floor no noise from street with secondary glazing. very busy so other than breakfast, which was good did not eat in hotel on this trip. Staff very friendly and helpful as always. right in the middle of theatre land and below covent garden.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear PinkHolidayMan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Waldorf Hilton on TripAdvisor. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location allowed you to have a great time in London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Waldorf several times over the last few years and I usually enjoy the experience of staying in one of London's older, grander hotels. As you might expect, the service levels here are pretty high and the food is generally good but it all comes at a really high price, which I sometimes struggle to justify. Rooms are good enough - not huge but reasonable. The real value of this hotel lies in its location on the edge of Covent Garden, which is about as good as it gets in London.

A couple of disappointing features of the Waldorf include the public spaces, which are really limited. The bar is tiny for this size of hotel and the "reception area" is like a corridor that runs across the front of the property. Not at all impressive for a 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels tend to be quieter, as are rooms that face out the back of the property (thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJWWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear CJWWW,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ben Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#70 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#177 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#390 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,961 reviews
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#326 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#246 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing