We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #334 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Housekeeping issues”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A great location in the middle of theater district. This is a good Hotel but not a five star, rather a 4+. As a Diamond HH member, I usually get an early checkin. Counting I will get it here too, I was surpised to be directed to the lounge and had to wait there until 3.30 pm until the room was ready. There seem to be an issue with housekeeping. The rooms are by London standard big and all the amenities you can expect was there. The hotel is a little old and the design elements are of a mixed characted. Efficient chechin/checkout and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. All our team is working very hard and warm words like these are the best gift we can ever get.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delayed access to your room. We constantly strive to improve and our Housekeeping team is working very hard towards it.
We will be looking forward welcoming you back in the nearest future. I will personally ensure we have your room ready for your arrival.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    1,219
    746
    332
    165
See reviews for
801
1,840
136
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed one night at the Waldorf. Arrived at 2.50pm. Receptionist said that room not ready but would be by 3pm. We were taken to the executive suite, and found other people also waiting for their rooms! In all about 40 minutes wait. This doesn't seem a lot but their terms and conditions clearly state check in will be by 3pm. When we pursued this we were told that they had had unexpected late check outs. That may be the case but the knock on effect is late check ins!!!! Apart from that a very nice stay to a high standard. However, when paying their prices you expect everything to be perfect. Also our toilet seat (room528) was very flimsy - akin to one from B and Q only a small point but I expected better!!!!!

Room Tip: Always get a room overlooking the aldwych on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments following your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton.

We apologise for the shortfalls in service you experienced and we thank you for bringing these to our attention. I strongly believe that these issues you have rightfully mentioned are the exception rather than the rule however we recognise the need for improvement. Please rest assured that our Front of House management team is taking immediate actions following your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waldorf Hilton hotel in the near future and in the mean time if I can be of further assistance, please do contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 1 night for my wife's Birthday and found the whole experience fantastic. We used out HHonors points and upgraded to an executive suite which was well worth it. All the staff we meet were great and very helpful.

The location of the hotel is great near many theatres and Covent Garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
All of us here at the Waldorf Hilton take great pride in making our guests feel special and welcomed.
I hope that you will visit us in a near future and that I would be able to personally welcome you back.
In the meantime please contact me if I can be of any future assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family visited the hotel for afternoon tea on 20th February but it proved to be a huge disappointment. The service was almost non-existant; there was a very long wait from being shown to a table until being provided with a menu and when the tea came we were totally ignored for the rest of the afternoon, to the extent that we couldn't even get the bill when we had finished. The food comprised some reasonable sandwiches, small scones and tiny cakes and although the selection of teas to drink was very good my wife and I had to share one pot (as opposed to the individual pots the other guests received) as we had both ordered the same type of tea. We would have queried this but we were unable to get hold of anyone to talk to. The final insult came when we did finally pay the bill and found we had paid a 12.5% service charge - you get better service at fast food chains. This was by far the worst afternoon tea I have experienced in London and would recommended leaving it well alone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments following your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton.

We were very saddened to hear of your Afternoon Tea experience which usually we are very proud of. Please rest assured that our management team is following it up to make sure that similar experiences do not happen again.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback that helps us to monitor and improve our standards. Please do contact me directly for your future reservations so I could make sure you have seamless experience.

Kind regards,

Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent two nights at the Waldorf Hilton in February 2013. After arriving and them not having information about my reservation it did not get of to a great start. The room was very small (what do you expect for £230! a night) and there was no additional bed for our son. Quite how they got the additional bed in the room was a miracle.

The location was superb as we were going to see 'Shrek the Musical' and the staff were on the whole very pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast was pricey at £22 a head. This felt worse when it was an additional £8 to order something from the menu. However, the room was beautiful.

I guess my review is tainted as I expected true 5* and I guess in the main you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestGSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton. All our team was pleased to look after you and was very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused due to unforeseen circumstances with your reservation. We are working closely with our Reservation department to ensure situations like that do not repeat again.
I hope that you will visit us in a near future and that I would be able to personally welcome you back.
In the meantime please contact me if I can be of any future assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Celebrating our wedding anniversary we looked for somewhere special. Being fortunate enought to have accrued enough Hilton Honors points we decided to stay at one of Hilton's luxury 5 star hotels.

I should say that the location is superb. The Aldwych is in the Covent Garden area and surrounded by great restaurants, shops and theatres. The hotel's exterior, flanked by 2 theatres is very impressive. Once through the door (no doorman in site) we carried our bags into the small lobby. The bar area had a lovely live pianist but was somewhat overshadowed by being full of people sat with their luggage presumably awaiting transport.

The welcome from the desk could not have been warmer and although our room was not ready we were assured our bags could be left with the concierge who would ensure they were in our room (they were). We were also promised a complimentary bottle of mineral water (which did not arrive).

The room was nicely designed if a little small.

Our general view was that we enjoyed ourselves, loved the location but could not really understand why it was a 5* hotel having stayed in more luxuriously appointed 4* hotels. Stay here if you get a deal but not worth the rack rate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Gary,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and service we that provide.
We are not perfect as yet, but we strive to be. And only with the help of our guests’ feedback we are able to do that.
I hope that you and your family will visit us in a near future and that I would be able to personally welcome you back.
In the meantime please contact me if I can be of any future assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for visiting London's theatreland. Drury Lane is only a step away and Covent Garden 3 mins walk. It is a central London hotel; so the rooms are adequate size and the prices comensurate.
Our room was big enough for our short stay, clean and at the back of the hotel so a bit quieter. We didn't eat in the hotel but there are loads of nice restaurants and cafes really close so it easy to find a reasonably priced breakfast close by. We did have a cocktail (once I had applied for a new mortgage!) and it was very nice.
Principally, I think that for British visitors this hotel is an ideal dormitory for visiting a show and everything you need other than a nice bedroom and descent bath/shower room is very close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you are choosing our hotel for your visits to London.
Please do contact me directly when making your next reservation so I could ensure you have seamless experience.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#430 of 1,069 in London
9,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing