We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite meal on a deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #340 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked a LivingSocial deal for two with champagne cocktail. This included a three course meal as well as the champagne cocktail of the day. We booked two couples separately.

I emailed the hotel and asked if we could combine the two bookings for a table of four, they couldn't have been more helpful, asking for any specific dining requirements and confirming up booking quickly.

We booked on a Friday evening. The dining room (Grand Homage) is impressive and stylish. One of our diners was vegetarian and was immediately offered a choice of alternative choices from the three course set menu in case the one veg option didn't appeal. This type of flexibility was very welcomed and we took their offer, opting for a Goats Cheese and Pumpkin main course.

All the meals looked very attractive on the plates and were served impeccably. The drinks arrived swiftly, and we ordered an additional bottle of wine which was reasonably priced.

I would relish the opportunity to dine here again, it is a romantic venue for couples, and conveniently located for a wander around Covent Garden afterwards.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent dinner experience with us at The Waldorf Hilton. We are delighted to read such fantastic comments, particularly on the service you received from our team. This review will be forwarded to all of our team and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Juliane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,822 - 3,828 of 4,374 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very good first stay at this hotel. An excellent location for Covent Garden, Theatres etc.
We booked a Queen Deluxe (room 242) - I am not sure what determined the 'deluxe' description - it was a very nice standard room with a comfortable large bed with lovely pillows, a desk, flat screen TV and ample wardrobe. No settee or sitting area but perfectly adequate for the time we spent in it. We also got bathrobes (perhaps this is the deluxe bit?) and they were very nice as long as you are no bigger than a size 14/16!
The Shower (no bath) was good and roomy (but a few stray hairs let the cleanliness down) though the lay out of the room meant that the glass (frosted) sliding doors of the toilet/shower were on one side of the bed - this did not afford a great deal of privacy and some people I am sure would not like this. The view was of the service yard at the rear and there was a constant hum of machinery below and this particular room is next to the lift - this didn't worry us as we are good sleepers but again some people may have a problem and again made me wonder where the 'deluxe' label had come from.
All that said we were very warmly welcomed by all the staff we met, they were excellent in their attentiveness and helpfulness and this is what makes the review very good and not average.
The breakfast was good, plenty of choice, served from 7am on a Sunday - we ate at 8am and the porridge was lukewarm and the hot buffet a little tepid but that is a timing thing, the people after us probably got hot fresh eggs and bacon. This review as I am writing doesn't sound like a 'very good' review but its difficult - I don't easily make a fuss and we had a lovely stay but if it was not for the excellent staff this hotel would be bordering on just OK but nothing special. It has a lot to do with expectation and price - we paid £219 one night B&B which at London prices is not too bad but this is THE WALDORF and conjures images of something with a bit extra and its not, the building, public rooms and staff are great but this is definitely more Hilton than Waldorf if that makes sense but nice all the same.

Room Tip: Room 242 rear yard view next to lift - not good for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pollyschoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear valued guest,

We are indebted to you for your positive comments, particularly referencing the friendly and excellent service you received.
However, I regret to hear that you did not entirely approve of the design of our Deluxe rooms. We will be undergoing a bedroom refurbishment starting from beginning of next year and your feedback will be a valuable contribution .Therefore, we thank you very much for your input.
I would like to reassure you that we have passed your comments to the Housekeeping and Engineering department as we work diligently to maintain the hotel to a high standard of cleanliness.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and would be delighted if you contacted the Guest Relations Team for your next reservation.

Sincerely,

Juliane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overpriced and fading.Bathroom fittings in major need of overhaul.In-room hospitalities eg tea/coffee/biscuits paltry.Bottled water with price tags miserly. In-House Adult Movie promotion tacky.Decor naff.Wardrobes inadequate. Don't even start me on the Breakfast Buffet.Broken toaster.Empty hot food trays making it impossible to eat more than two items at a time.......additional charge for basic cooked to order dishes.At £220 per night I will never re-visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with us; it is through continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations. It is truly disappointing that we have failed in creating a memorable hotel experience for you. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our Hotel Management for immediate review. I would also like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact me at juliane.hohnstedt@hilton.com in order for me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the service shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Juliane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for a Sunday night for our anniversary. We had an executive room with access to the bar which was very well presented and a good selection. Our executive room was large and modern and spotless. However, on returning from dinner, we discovered that there was a wedding on and we could hear the music from the disco and it was loud enough to sing along to! On phoning reception they told us that this would continue until midnight! This was supposed to be a relaxing break, so we werent impressed! However, when I asked what could be done, the staff were very professional and moved us to a suite on one of the top floors! Wow is was huge!! Breakfast had a big selection of items although we noticed that it wasnt kept topped up that well. We also had the afternoon tea and cakes and were very happy with this experience. All in all, quite expensive, but would recommend for a soecial occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sclark6694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post ypur review on Trip Advisor. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are being recognised. These positive comments are greatly appreciated and I have passed your kind words to everyone. Moreover,we thank you for your constructive comments regarding our breakfast service as they help us to monitor the standards and services we provide. We are honored that you chose our hotel for this special occasion and hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Juliane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just stayed at The Waldorf on Saturday night with my husband. We were bringing clients to London for a special weekend and wanting a real WOW hotel, and thats we got. From the moment we arrived at check in the staff were amazing, always there in the back ground to check if everything was ok. We were allocated a refurbished rooms and they were fabulous. It's the little touches with this hotel that just oozes class, from the robes and fruit in the room to the little china tea pot with the abundance of teas and coffees sachets so you could enjoy a lovely pot of tea in your room both in the evening and the morning, not like other hotels where you get the minimum 1 sachet of tea each!!!The rooms were so quiet considering the location of this hotel we never heard anything on Sunday morning from the outside.
The refurbishment in the rooms have been done very tastefully complimenting the wonderful architecture of this fantastic building with the modern touches that we come to expect at a five star hotel. The fittings were exceptional especially the bathroom door!!
Breakfast on Sunday morning was an absolute treat. The room that it is served in is stunning and the staff that served breakfast were fantastic with always being attentive but leaving you to enjoy the fantastic surroundings but being there in the background if you needed anything.
We would just like to say if you fancy a treat the next time you are in London go and check out this Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for posting this exceptional review on Trip Advisor. It is very rewarding to read such nice comments about your stay. Thank you for highlighting them. We do want to make our guests feel at home from the moment they arrive and I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable time at with us at the Waldorf Hilton.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Juliane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the London Waldorf Hilton last week of Oct 2012. We really liked this hotel! We had the Exe room with Exe lounge access. Love the Exe Lounge food and drinks!
The location is superb!! In the theater district with tons of shops and places to eat. Covent Garden is around the corner.
Hotel Staff was excellant. The doormen were especially helpful. They would get us taxis, umbrellas, and directions.
We will stay here again when in London.

Room Tip: Exe rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will gladly pass your kind feedback to our doorman.
I hope we have another chance to have you here with us in the near future, Please let us know when you are planning to come back so we can look after you.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is not a normal review as we were staying in the hotel because our friends were getting married there. We had a standard queen room on the first floor, which was bright and modern, with a view over the glass roof at the bottom of the inner courtyard. Everything in the room was fine, although we are used to sleeping in a king-size bed, so the bed felt a little small. As part of the wedding package all the guests had a private breakfast together, the food was great, but as it was a private buffet we can't review the normal hotel breakfast. We also had a room service meal which was perfect, and delivered quickly.

We did have some issues though, but they are unlikely to affect normal hotel guests. Our allocated room was not available at the promised time, which did not impress us, so we had to insist on taking a different room as we could not wait because we needed time to unpack and change before the wedding. This move of rooms caused all sorts of problems, resulting in us being overcharged for our stay, and also meant we missed out on our slices of wedding cake, we hope whoever stayed in our originally-allocated room enjoyed their surprise cake! The overcharge took a while to get refunded, but was sorted out in the end, with many apologies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I hope you have enjoyed your wedding and your time with us at Waldorf Hilton, although you had some issues with the room allocation.
On the other hand I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our room features.
I do hope we have another chance to have you with us and perhaps you can have more time to use our hotel facilities.
Should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Regards,
Nader Neishabouri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#76 of 1,078 in London
2,860 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#460 of 1,078 in London
10,045 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton London Kensington
#515 of 1,078 in London
4,388 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in London
#239 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $233 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing