We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an ageing Hollywood star.Sad and not a patch on it's heyday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #334 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Like an ageing Hollywood star.Sad and not a patch on it's heyday”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overpriced and fading.Bathroom fittings in major need of overhaul.In-room hospitalities eg tea/coffee/biscuits paltry.Bottled water with price tags miserly. In-House Adult Movie promotion tacky.Decor naff.Wardrobes inadequate. Don't even start me on the Breakfast Buffet.Broken toaster.Empty hot food trays making it impossible to eat more than two items at a time.......additional charge for basic cooked to order dishes.At £220 per night I will never re-visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences with us; it is through continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations. It is truly disappointing that we have failed in creating a memorable hotel experience for you. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our Hotel Management for immediate review. I would also like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact me at juliane.hohnstedt@hilton.com in order for me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the service shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Juliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    1,219
    746
    332
    165
See reviews for
801
1,840
136
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for a Sunday night for our anniversary. We had an executive room with access to the bar which was very well presented and a good selection. Our executive room was large and modern and spotless. However, on returning from dinner, we discovered that there was a wedding on and we could hear the music from the disco and it was loud enough to sing along to! On phoning reception they told us that this would continue until midnight! This was supposed to be a relaxing break, so we werent impressed! However, when I asked what could be done, the staff were very professional and moved us to a suite on one of the top floors! Wow is was huge!! Breakfast had a big selection of items although we noticed that it wasnt kept topped up that well. We also had the afternoon tea and cakes and were very happy with this experience. All in all, quite expensive, but would recommend for a soecial occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclark6694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post ypur review on Trip Advisor. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are being recognised. These positive comments are greatly appreciated and I have passed your kind words to everyone. Moreover,we thank you for your constructive comments regarding our breakfast service as they help us to monitor the standards and services we provide. We are honored that you chose our hotel for this special occasion and hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Juliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just stayed at The Waldorf on Saturday night with my husband. We were bringing clients to London for a special weekend and wanting a real WOW hotel, and thats we got. From the moment we arrived at check in the staff were amazing, always there in the back ground to check if everything was ok. We were allocated a refurbished rooms and they were fabulous. It's the little touches with this hotel that just oozes class, from the robes and fruit in the room to the little china tea pot with the abundance of teas and coffees sachets so you could enjoy a lovely pot of tea in your room both in the evening and the morning, not like other hotels where you get the minimum 1 sachet of tea each!!!The rooms were so quiet considering the location of this hotel we never heard anything on Sunday morning from the outside.
The refurbishment in the rooms have been done very tastefully complimenting the wonderful architecture of this fantastic building with the modern touches that we come to expect at a five star hotel. The fittings were exceptional especially the bathroom door!!
Breakfast on Sunday morning was an absolute treat. The room that it is served in is stunning and the staff that served breakfast were fantastic with always being attentive but leaving you to enjoy the fantastic surroundings but being there in the background if you needed anything.
We would just like to say if you fancy a treat the next time you are in London go and check out this Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for posting this exceptional review on Trip Advisor. It is very rewarding to read such nice comments about your stay. Thank you for highlighting them. We do want to make our guests feel at home from the moment they arrive and I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable time at with us at the Waldorf Hilton.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Juliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the London Waldorf Hilton last week of Oct 2012. We really liked this hotel! We had the Exe room with Exe lounge access. Love the Exe Lounge food and drinks!
The location is superb!! In the theater district with tons of shops and places to eat. Covent Garden is around the corner.
Hotel Staff was excellant. The doormen were especially helpful. They would get us taxis, umbrellas, and directions.
We will stay here again when in London.

Room Tip: Exe rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will gladly pass your kind feedback to our doorman.
I hope we have another chance to have you here with us in the near future, Please let us know when you are planning to come back so we can look after you.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is not a normal review as we were staying in the hotel because our friends were getting married there. We had a standard queen room on the first floor, which was bright and modern, with a view over the glass roof at the bottom of the inner courtyard. Everything in the room was fine, although we are used to sleeping in a king-size bed, so the bed felt a little small. As part of the wedding package all the guests had a private breakfast together, the food was great, but as it was a private buffet we can't review the normal hotel breakfast. We also had a room service meal which was perfect, and delivered quickly.

We did have some issues though, but they are unlikely to affect normal hotel guests. Our allocated room was not available at the promised time, which did not impress us, so we had to insist on taking a different room as we could not wait because we needed time to unpack and change before the wedding. This move of rooms caused all sorts of problems, resulting in us being overcharged for our stay, and also meant we missed out on our slices of wedding cake, we hope whoever stayed in our originally-allocated room enjoyed their surprise cake! The overcharge took a while to get refunded, but was sorted out in the end, with many apologies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I hope you have enjoyed your wedding and your time with us at Waldorf Hilton, although you had some issues with the room allocation.
On the other hand I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our room features.
I do hope we have another chance to have you with us and perhaps you can have more time to use our hotel facilities.
Should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A wonderful birthday weekend . Arrived a little early but room quickly found.
Very comfortable bed. Suggest get a high floor if possible.
Daniel Hubbard was such a helpfully greeter and made sure everything was organised for us throughout the weekend.
The food in the restaurant was some of the best we've had in London hotel and we normally stay at the Savoy . The Yarg souffle is to die for. try the chicken with lobster ravioli.
Restaurant staff were not phased at increasing table from 2 to 5 on a Saturday evening at short notice and were so attentive throughout despite having a busy restaurant.
Service at breakfast was again of a very high standard
Usually checking out in London is a pain. Not here .Car arrived in 10 minutes ( takes 45 at the Savoy) Daniel had bags waiting.
Thoroughly recommend Waldorf as a great hotel and so convenient for the theatre.

Room Tip: Try second floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will gladly pass your kind feedback to Daniel and to our restaurant Manager who will praise the staff on duty.
I do hope to see you soon in the near future and if I can be any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just stayed for one night, free with Hilton Honors including breakfast and an upgrade to a refurbished room because I am a gold member. What could be better than that? Nice room thohgh difficult to get the temperature right. Great bar where we managed to spend a lot but very relaxing. Staff were all friendly and professional. Breakfast buffet was good but to be honest I've had fresher food staying in a B&B. However as a freebie, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will gladly pass your kind feedback to our Bar Manager who will appreciate your kindness.
Although I am stunned to hear that you did not find our breakfast buffet as good as you would expected, we are famed for having a variety of fresh food from cold to hot dishes.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for your constructive feedback, rest assured I will pass your concerns about the breakfast buffet to our Food and Beverage Manager.
Please let me know when you are planning to visit us again so I can personally look after you during your stay.
Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#430 of 1,069 in London
9,386 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing