We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money in central London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #330 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed there for one night in a basic double room which cost £220 exc breakfast through a discount booking web site. Room was smallish but very well designed and had everything you could need like iron, trouser press, tea/coffee etc. Modern design, very comfortable bed and reasonable air conditioning.

Staff were extremely helpful. Pleasant bar and public areas. Easy walk to river and public transport

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
We are very delighted to hear about your stay. I am happy that you liked our room styles, just to let you know we have different room category with different sized to accommodate every guests requests and needs.
I hope we get another chance to have you here with us.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,962 - 3,968 of 4,327 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is really nice and the staff are awesome! I love the location.

Room Tip: I got an upgrade so the room is on the top floor and really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opalka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nader N, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
We are very delighted to hear about your stay. It would be my pleasure to pass your nice comments to our entire team.
We are looking forward to have you with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Nader Neishabouri
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Key reason to stay here is the great location. Also a fitness center in lower level. Rooms are incredibly small and variable...you may have a reasonable room for one visit and a dreadfully small, tired room the next. Service is average...you'd expect at least that or better from a Waldorf.

Stayed: June 2012
Thank Tracy3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear Tracy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers about our hotel.
We were very pleased to hear your praise to its location; however your comments about average service you experienced raised a concern. Would you be so kind to contact me with some more details about it so we could improve?
I truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back at the Waldorf Hilton in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us when making your reservation so we could ensure the service you expected in the first place.

Sincerely
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This isn't the worst hotel I've stayed in, far from it, but it's amongst the most disappointing. The location is great, but that isn't down to the current management, that was decided in the early 1900s. I'm actually lay in the bed of one of the newly refurbished rooms and actually mustered enough inclination to write my first tripadvisor review.

I returned from the theatre tonight to a message on the answer phone checking that everything is okay. It's the modern idea of 'good service' but in reality, why is it up to me to report that the shower door doesn't open properly because it's hinges we're fitted incorrectly leaving the door scraping against the floor. Why would anyone in full control of their faculties not design rooms with doors on the toilet area. Wanting a door on my toilet area is the same reason I don't install one in the lounge at home.

To be honest, in terms of room quality, I look around me and wish I'd saved the money and stayed in a premier inn or something akin. At least at those establishments, I have set expectations based upon the price, the Waldorf Hilton meets the same standard but the cost doesn't compare.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear Neil,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us your thoughts and feedback about our hotel. We are extremely proud of it and all the refurbishment that has been done recently; therefore we were surprised and disappointed of your experience.
Please rest assured that our executive management is aware of it and that we will do our utmost to rectify all mistakes immediately.
I hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again.
Please do contact me directly so I could ensure that the room is allocated for you according to your preferences.
Sincerely
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had some points and I needed one night in London, and the Paddington Hilton wasn't available.
Pros- location is excellent. Convent Garden is around the corner. The River Thames, Trafagar Square, and Westminster Abbey an easy walk. It is a pretty older building, with a lovely lounge and bar area.
They knew it was our anniversary and provided us with a little treat, always appreciated. I also appreciated the complimentary plate for fresh fruit and chocolate. The best thing was being able to push back our checkout time - that was deeply appreciated and made our last day in London excellent.
Cons - concierges not particularly warm and not so knowlegable - gave my husband the wrong info on which bus to take. At check in I was told we were upgraded, when in fact we were not - it was the category I reserved. We stayed in 523, queen bed, a view of other rooms, with a half-cocked renovation - modern art and light fixtures (walls a nice color though!), but a worn bureau, and bath with cheap tile, a toilet that wouldn't flush, a lukewarm towel warmer, and lukewarm water in the shower.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank denany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you and your husband and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary celebration.
Please rest assured that your feedback about the knowledge of our concierge team has been forwarded to Head Concierge to make sure that none of our guests leave with similar impression.
All of us will be looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the Waldorf Hilton twice in the 8 months. Both times, there were:
- an appalling lack of customer service
- no attention to detail
- poor followup and response time on messages/requests/issued raised

During my first stay, among other things, a simple request for a power extension cord was only attended to after half a day of waiting and many calls to check what the hold up was.

In my most recent trip 2 weeks ago, I checked-in in the late afternoon and encountered from the start, service unbefitting that of a Hilton branded hotel and issues that shouldn't have even been issues:
- the room was not ready
- there was no hot water
- the in-room safe was faulty

Inspite of my request and messages left at 5pm and my following up at 11pm, the situation remained status quo.

The day after, the hotel moved me to another room as they failed to restore hot water to my room. It wasn't much better, unfortunately. The water was tepid which defeated the purpose of a bath tub. And I was very casually informed that 'nothing can be done' by the staff.

The evening of my departure, I requested for an advance taxi booking to be made for my departure to the airport the next day. It wasn't attended to, again, inspite of multiple reminders.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share such detailed feedback following your recent stays at The Waldorf Hilton.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfalls in service you experienced. It is not our usual service standard and that is not what we tolerate. Rest assured that our management team is following it up to ensure that none of our guests leave with such a bitter taste.
I would kindly ask you to contact me directly so I could discuss your future stays and ways we could restore your faith in our hotel.
Sincerely
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend with my sister and brother-in-law, at the begining of July to celebrate three birthdays.

We were greeted by the reception staff who were so friendly and informative, they took our bags and arranged for them to be taken to our room when the rooms were ready. They then showed us up to the executive lounge for light refreshments, where we checked in and waited for our rooms. Gratefully appreciated after our 4.5hr journey. (arrived at 1.30pm) Again the staff were very friendly and helpful, informing us as soon as our room was ready. (ready by 2pm)

As it was myself and husbands birthday a day apart, we received a cake and a complimentary sparkling wine and beer voucher in our room.

Unfortunately I had developed a stomach bug on Tuesday and my husband caught my bug on the Friday evening.
The evening meal tasted fantastic (I chose caesar salad with prawns followed by lobster) unfortunately I couldn't manage it because I was unwell. To make matters worse my husband became unwell during the evening meal and had to leave. My sister and husband were very impressed with their meal and my brother-in-law in particular praised the attentitiveness of one of the waiters to the restaraunt manager.

We spent the next two days in bed only getting up for an hour to have a couple of sandwiches in the executive lounge. We missed both breakfasts, but my sister and her husband said there was a superb choice for breakfast. The executive lounge also offered a wide selection including the full English breakfast.

On the Sunday morning about 5am my husband was so poorly that we rang the reception to see if we could get a Doctor or some medication to enable my husband to travel home the same day. After declining the offer of a Doctor, the receptionist rang back and advised that there was an all night food store behind the hotel which may sell imodium. As my husband was so poorly the concierge offered to go to the shop for him. Unfortunatley they did not sell it. But he said that Tescos were opening at 7am and would collect some then for us. He returned with the imodium just after 7am. This concierge went the extra mile for us. His kind deed enabled my husband to be able to cope with the travel home.

We had booked afternoon tea but we had to cancel this as we were unwell, however they extended our check in as our train was not until 5pm. We were also able to stay in the executive lounge while my sister and husband had their afternoon tea.

The hotel is exceptionally well located and only a stones throw from Covent Garden and theatre land. The hotel bedroom was large, clean and very comfortable, with a settee, armchairs and a desk, and the large bathroom had a rainshower. The safe in the room is free. There was also an iron, ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a large umbrella.

The staff are excetionally friendly, informative and helpful and are truly a credit to this hotel. I would definately return again to this hotel the next time I am in London.

Room Tip: Book an upgrade to an executive room it is good value for money and you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamamyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra G, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,
We can’t thank you enough for such warm words and praises to our team following your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton.
It was a pleasure to look after your family, especially knowing that there were so many occasions to be celebrated. We are very proud to hear that some team members made your weekend so memorable.
Please contact our Guest Relations Team any time you are planning your visit to London. We will be more than happy to look after you again.
Sincerely
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#456 of 1,077 in London
9,922 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#75 of 1,077 in London
2,831 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Hilton London Kensington
#507 of 1,077 in London
4,360 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#236 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#330 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $265 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing