We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the internet charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #340 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have a bee in my bonnet about hotels charging for internet connection. More of them are waking up to the necessity to offer free internet, but too many of them are, bluntly, ripping off their guests with charges of anything between £14 and £20 a day. It costs the hotel nothing (they would have internet for their back office functions anyway) so why charge the guests.
The Waldorf Hilton is a good quality hotel with excellent staff and super rooms. We paid £40 a night more for the upgrade to an executive room which gave access to the executive lounge for breakfast, high tea and canapés, so good value if you make full use of these things - and internet was free in the lounge.
The restaurants were also good and offered excellent value for pre-theatre dinner too. It would have been a five-stars from me but for the internet angle - if you are paying around £250 a night, you don't expect to be hit with an internet charge on top.

Room Tip: The executive floor at £40 a night more is worth it - if you are going to fill up on the free food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton.
We are very pleased to hear that our team members impressed you by providing excellent customer service. I will definitely share your kind comments and suggestions for improvement with the management.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,031 - 4,037 of 4,374 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel knows how to go above and beyond when it comes to decor and customer service. They are so lovely and we were made to feel special from the moment we walked through the door. Great location too. Would definately revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pommieaussie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share such lovely comments about our hotel.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was treated to a night here and went with my friend in April 2012. Full of old world charm. Our room was huge and comfortable and was a good mix of hi tech and classic, the bathroom was as it was when the hotel was originally built in the early 1900's and was wonderful. We ate in the restaurant from the a la carte menu and the food was first class. Breakfast was buffet style and ample. Staff were very accommodating. The hotel is full of history and we were very disappointed to find that we could have booked on a tour of the hotel in the afternoon. I definitely intend to return to sample the famous afternoon tea and do the tour. A real treat

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoopschick1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
We can’t thank you enough for your wonderful words about our hotel. It was such a pleasure to see that you have taken your time to share even smallest details with other travellers.
We hope to see you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and two friends, to be quite honest I expected more for the price. We had two executive rooms which were ok, nothing special, the room was clean and bathroom clean, staff friendly, breakfast ok, just did not impress me at all and I think they do trade on the name, the exec lounge was ok, in fact it was all just ok but at £240 a night I have stayed in better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mypithat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear traveller,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.
Could I kindly ask you to share some more specific details of your experience in order for us improve the service we provide?
I would appreciate if you could contact me so I could follow it up.
Sincerely,
Sandra Guiskyte
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Arrived at 7pm after a long day of work and travel to be told my room wasn't ready. Kept waiting for an hour in the lobby. I've had better service at a Premier Inn at a quarter of the price. Not what I expect for £220 per night

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Sir or Madame,

We sincerely apologise for keeping you waiting for the room at such a late hour. I assure you that this was an exception as we have number of emergencies at the hotel on this day. If you are not happy with the compensation you received, please do contact me directly at the hotel and I will follow up.

Once again we apologise and we thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,

Katarina Vlkova
Executive Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I only visited the Waldorf Hilton briefly, however I rate it highly, the staff are very friendly and approachable, and over-all it's a very clean and well-run hotel. Perfect stay for a theatre break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear Lucy,

We thank you very much for your lovely review, we are glad that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you back one day.

Sincerely,

Katarina Vlkova
Executive Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Booked into this hotel using the secret hotel offer from last minute. The booking said we could check in at 13:30 turned up at 14:15 and was told the room wasn't ready and would be guaranteed by 15:00. Fine! Went back at 15:20 and room wasn't ready. What's the point in a guarantee? Reception staff just said it wasn't her fault - great team work! Then the toilet in our broke and were told to put our hand in the system and manually flush it. Breakfast was great as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andymays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Andy,

We apologise for not having your room ready at 3pm as promised and I confirm that we have compensated for this error by discounting your room rate.

We were shocked to hear about the response you received with reference to the faulty toilet. We take your comments seriously and we would like to ask you to contact the hotel duty manager to provide further feedback. This will help us to identify the team member in question and follow up.

Once again we apologise and we thank you for bringing this to our attention which gives us the opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,
Katarina Vlkova
Executive Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#76 of 1,078 in London
2,860 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#460 of 1,078 in London
10,045 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton London Kensington
#515 of 1,078 in London
4,388 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in London
#239 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $233 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing