We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities improved a lot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #282 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities improved a lot!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here a few years ago when it had more of a budget feel. Now everything is smarter from the electronic key system to the new kettle and iron in the room and the free fresh coffee on tap in the lobby. it's not actually in Trafalgar Square, of course but only a minute or two walk. Only criticism is that the wi-if doesn't reach the 8th floor, and the bath could be a bit bigger. Oh, so could the TV screen. But it's still the best value for money I've found in this part of London.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a bit quieter and lighter but less chance of accessing wi-if in hit he room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Euromnlostatsea,

Thank you for the review. Citadines Trafalgar refurbishment was completed in 2012, so am glad you liked the improvements that were made. In regards to the WIFI my apologies this was slow, we have replaced some of the modems and should also be having Fibre Optic installed in the coming weeks. Once again Thank You for the positive review and we look forward to you returning on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    910
    263
    84
    50
See reviews for
820
667
86
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
310 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you like to be walking distance to Trafalger Square, the National Gallery, Westend Theatres & Covent Garden, this apartment hotel should be for you. We look forward to staying here again this fall for its convenience to favored venues, transportation, restaurants & beyond ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Laurie B,

Thank you for the great posting, I am glad we will be your home in London and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is in the BEST location in London, walking distance to all the major sites. There are 2 underground stations feet away, Charing Cross and Embankment, at present time Embankment is not serving the Bakerloo or Waterloo lines, only District and Circle lines.

The room was very clean and spacious.The bathtub is very slippery, so please use the rubber mat supplied by hotel. They have a great coffee machine in lobby, for 24 hour use, great cappuccinos, espressos and hot chocolates. They also had a water dispenser with both sparkling and still water. There is a Tesco down the street and a Marks & Spencer in Charing Cross station, great for buying sodas, bottle water, croissants, etc.

Oyster cards are a great way to get around London.

I would like to thank all the staff at Citadines, especially Iniku, he always greeted us with a smile.
Next time in London I will definitely stay at Citadines Trafalgar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Angelique R,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay. I am glad you had an excellent time with us and enjoyed your time exploring London. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, I have passed them onto the team who all look forward to you returning on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent localization, with all facilities, perfect for small families. If you wish, you can save money cooking and whashing your clothes. Near the main attractions of London, with lots of cheap options to eat, including food markets nearby. You can rent bikes or just walk in the Thames banks. Beside the hotel the famous pub Sherlock Holmes. The employees are polite and kind. We loved the place and recommend it. The downside? Don't expect luxury. But it's clean, quiet, practical, with fine shower and bed. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book with several months in advance. We did it through the hotel website. Good experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciano W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Luciano W,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you found everything perfect for your visit to London with your family. As you mention there are lots of things to do as we are so central, and the Sherlock is a great pub! Once again Thank You for the review, the team at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel midweek and it's in a great location between the City and the West End so easy to get to and soooo central.

The reception was busy with guests for a do so it was hard to see the check in desks but once I managed to get through a nice simple check in and good security having to use the keys for entry and the lifts.

The room was spacious with a small kitchen in it and the bathroom was fine except the bat was a little narrow so the shower curtain kept on attacking me when I had a shower. The shower wasn't powerful enough to at all but other than that the hotel was good and clean.

You can't beat the location being a 5min walk to Covent Garden and a minute walk from Charing Cross and Embankment.

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Helen B,

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our room configuration was ridiculous. The spiral staircase was steep, too narrow for a suitcase, and a dangerous trip from the bedrooms - upstairs - to the toilet - downstairs. This set-up was not anything like the website representation. One member of our group slipped on the carpeted stairs during a nighttime visit to the toilet; he bumped down 4 steps. This accident was very bad for his already painful herniated disc. The thermostats did not work. The rooms were hot and stuffy. With the windows open, the rooms were noisy.
The toilet room was so tiny that you had to straddle the toilet to close the door.
For first-time visitors to London, navigating from the train station to the hotel was difficult.
The hotel dining area did not provide seating to accommodate the many hotel guests. The snippy cashier refused to let me take my breakfast to the room; when she finally allowed it, she insisted that I return the dishes to the kitchen.
The promised laundry amenity was in the hotel but not in room - undisclosed on website.
Front desk employees not really on top of things. I had a question; I stood in line while a desk clerk and guest had a lovely chat that was not room / stay-related.
Ridiculously expensive for a tiny space with treacherous stairs and lousy customer service. The only positive is its location, but there are other accommodations at Trafalgar Square which I have to think are better. At everything.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CleanfreakChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear CleanFreakChicago,

Thank you for your posting about your recent stay. I am sorry that the layout of the room was not to your liking, we do have some other rooms that are slightly different so I am sorry we didn't offer to change your room. All our 2 bedroom units have stairs with hand rails to ensure our guests have safe access. We usually do a follow up call after all guests have check in to ensure everything is to their liking, so am sorry if this did not happen.

I am surprised by your comments about being difficult to find, we are located on Northumberland Ave, one of the main streets to Trafalgar Square. My apologies you had to wait for reception to finish with another guest, we do try and make sure all guest feel like their at home. In regards to the price we do run promotions and offer advance purchases though out the year, so am sorry you were not able to take advantage on this stay.

Once again Thank You for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay, all feedback helps us improve our service and product to ensure we meet all guests needs in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at CITADINE after being recommended. We had been let down at the very last minute by Viliers33 London, which now when I look at their reviews they have an appalling record!! I must say after all the stress Villiers33 caused us, they did us a favour as CITADINE WAS EXCELLENT... the location, rooms and staff. They have made every effort to make your stay welcoming and a pleasant experience, with all sorts of added extra's should you need them... Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have very small windows, but not a problem if you are only staying 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Parker1488,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your great stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you got to enjoy your time after being let down by the other property. Thank you for your kind comments about the team I have passed them on. Once again I am glad you had an excellent time with us and we look forward to you returning.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Trafalgar Square London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing