We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #271 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Great Hotel. Excellent location. Within walking distance to many London attractions and an underground station is only a 2 minute walk. Rooms were clean and modern. We travelled with our three teenagers and they had their own one bedroom apartment, which was very large. My husband and I had an efficiency apartment which was also large enough. We had a sleeper sofa instead of a bed, but it was very comfortable, not a problem at all. Also, having a kitchen was very convenient.
Because it is an apartment hotel the maids do not clean everyday, but I actually prefer that. It was not a problem for us to use the same towels for three days. The only thing I would suggest is to bring your own washcloths because our rooms did not have any and when I asked the boy at the front desk for some he had no idea what I was talking about. Fortunately I had read some of the reviews here before going and had brought some of our own from home.
Aside from that, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They called us a cab when we needed one to the train station and it was there on time and reasonable.
Again, this hotel is in an excellent location. It is in a nice area, we always felt safe. It is also close to so many London tourist spots, including the London Eye, Aquarium, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace.
I will highly recommend this hotel to families and couples. The price was reasonable and I felt we certainly got a lot for our money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    925
    264
    85
    50
See reviews for
839
678
88
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Basic, smallish room, 6th floor. Nice view, great location. Perfect for West End (musicals), restaurants, sight-seeing. Free internet computer. Good kitchen facility.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Hotel is an aparthotel starting with one room studios with sofabed We have previously stayed in one of these and found that our old bones were not too comfortable. We tried for one of the one bedroom apartments, but these are for minimum of two nights during summer season. The helpful staff suggested we arrived early and they would see what they could do. In the end we were given a twin bedded studio and this was quiet and comfortable.

The great advantage of Citadines is its proximity to all the London theatres and one minute from Trafalgar square, but away from traffic as down Northumberland Avenue. We were in town to see 'Joseph' and the Adelphi theatre was barely 10 mins stroll away.

Also nearby are The Savoy and Fortnum&Mason. London Eye is at the bottom of the street across the river.
A bit expensive but as you are provided with fully equipped kitchen, including dishwasher, meals are easily prepared or can be delivered from several restaurants. 24hr shopping is 50 yds away. One or two meals eaten in your room will more than cover the small extra charge and you will save a fortune on taxis.

Book early as we are not the only ones to appreciate this unique hotel.
Johnep

  • Liked — Ability to self cater if wanted to, closeness to theatres
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Four of my adult relatives and I booked an apartment for three days. The location is fabulous with the tube, London Eye, theatre district and even attractions like Big Ben and Westminster Abbey close by. The apartment was clean and well-equipped though the interior overall is a little tired. We encountered a huge problem with the toilet downstairs and the shower upstairs because my mom could not negotiate the stairs and I would be concerned for families with small children because the stairs are a little steep. Able adults would be fine. However, my greatest frustration was with the front desk staff. The various people attending us took care of the essentials but wouldn't assist us with anything that required extra assistance from something as small as asking for an extra basin (we were told there were none to be had in the whole building) to helping me contact a taxi that would accommodate a wheelchair (clearly, the hotel has an agreement with private drivers). To end on a positive note, a computer with free internet access is available in the lobby.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service at front desk
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank YXEinWAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

I'm actually writing this while sitting at the desk in my studio suite. My window is open and I'm listening to the sounds of London in the background.

My stay has been wonderful. I was a bit put off by the fact I have a sofa bed instead of a "real" bed. I must say it is every bit as comfortable as a bed would have been. The room is clean. Quiet (if and when I close the window). And comfortable. The bathroom is a nice size and has a full tub with a stand up shower. The kitchenette is small but efficient. There is an apartment size fridge with a freezer. There is a two-burner cook top and a dishwasher. Also a kettle and a toaster as well as pots and pans, cutlery and dishes. There are two closets and an in-room safe.

I can't comment on the breakfast, as I haven't been to the breakfast room.

The only negative comment I have is the cigarette smoke. It is a non-smoking building, but my room is right above the front door, where all the smokers stand. I can smell it even with the window closed.

  • Liked — The proximity to a number of tourist attractions
  • Disliked — The cigarette smoke from outside the building
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Cost: $140 pounds per night
Spent three nights, paying $493.50 pounds (with VAT)

Come with
- shower room (with bathtub)
- living room(TV set, writting desk, SOFA bed)
- bedroom (king size bed for two person)
- kitchen (kettle)
- toilet room

Bedroom is large, bed is fine, also, come with a sofa bed.
Which can comfortably fit 3 person into the room.
The hotel also provide free WiFi access.
Laundrette charge $4 for washer, $3 for dryer.

Generally, the room + service is good.
Except :
1. the room's carpet seems a bit worn out
2. checking procedure taking ages (however, the receptionist is considerable polite)
3. no free drinks (have to boil water yourself)
4. separation between shower room and toilet room

  • Liked — Sofa bed and free WiFi
  • Disliked — carpet, checking procedure take ages
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deception Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

This is a fantastic location.

Staff are a little indifferent but who cares when you are right in the right place.

Highly recomend and will be returning to this hotel in the future for sure. We usually stay in South Kensington.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Not much staff could be more friendly
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank OIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#182 of 1,069 in London
1,145 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Trafalgar Square London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing