We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & all fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #282 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Location & all fine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a long weekend. Everything ok. Small rooms, but this is central London. Quiet. Properly cleaned as far as I could notice. Nice lobby, not too informed front staff, but friendly and trying. Would probably be better top have at least one londoner at duty at all times, beeing able to give advice on locations, restaurants etc without googling everything. Location is the best, less tham two minutes from Trafalgar Square and Embankment subway. Lots of eating possibilities nearby. The nearby Sherlock Holmes pub is all right for the tradtional pub visit, hotel breakfast boring, but lots of take away breakfast in the next street, incl Subway, Pret a manger etc. Location superb for a weekend, easy walk to loads of attractions, Parliament, Big Ben, and so on. If you want a drink in style, cross the street to Corintia and head for the piano bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turistkjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    910
    263
    84
    50
See reviews for
820
668
86
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in room 512. Beautiful double studio room, plenty of lighting, spotless, comfy bed, powerful shower, great air con. The hotel is located 2 mins walk from Trafalgar Square. It was a perfect base for our 4 night break to see all the sights. The receptionist was really welcoming and the staff smiled whenever you entered or left the hotel. Great price through lastminute.com. We chose not to include breakfast and had a full english every morning at the breadline cafe which is a couple of mins walk away. Travel for two using the underground for 5 days going here there and everywhere cost us 40 pounds in total. The one thing the hotel could look at is the WiFi because we only got it working on a weak signal every now and then.
The hotel made our holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intheknowbeforeyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This was a great location and the staff were really plesent and helpful. The thing hat surprised me after staying in various London hotels on how quiet it felt at night.. The room was very clean and tidy with more than you need for a a short break..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VKP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked this for our famiyl trip to London. We have two teens and didn't really want to share a room for four. This was very expensive especially when they add on the VAT but anywhere in London is expensive for four and this location turned out to be perfect! We probably saved money on taxis and tubes as we walked everywhere.

We didn't go to any shows this time but every theatre in the West End is a 5-10 min walk. Masses of restaurants to choose from and the shops on regent Street and oxford Street are also in walking distance. The London eye is just across the river

Citadines is on a gorgeous street in a lovely building. The aprtment was small but clean and well equipped with dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, two hobs. The sofa bed pulled out to two separate beds - one very comfy; the other not. Breakfast was included for us but was very basic and there was a long wait for the waffle machine - the onyl hot food available.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor (out of 8) and the lifts took forever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiceylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is located right where you want to be! A stones throw away from Trafalgar Square & a short walk to everything including the tube stop.

It's modern, Wifi is decent, has small kitchen (a few stores open 24-7 very close to the hotel if you want to pick up a few things to eat/drink in the room), solid shower & decent size room for London (from what I understand that's not common for London so I was pleasantly surprised).

If you haven't been to London try one of the on-off double decker buses. Ours was good for 48 hrs and included scheduled walking tours as well as a boat cruise down the Thames.

There's lots to do at night in the Soho area including shows and a cool Jazz Club named Ronnie Scott's which I highly recommend if you enjoy live tunes. Mostly jazz & blues but the musicians are excellent. Go upstairs on Wed nights for the open jam session.

I would definitely book this hotel next time and I definitely plan on returning to this amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a great location! Walking distance to anywhere in central London. Two tube stations with connections to north, south, east and west. The rooms vere no luxury, but neat and clean. And the price-level was much lower I could imagine for a modern hotel in such a central location. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madesjarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night before a conference and found it to be in a good location. Receiption staff were friendly and helpful and I even got to practise a little Spanish. I had a small studio that was adequate for a couple of nights. Very clean and trendy decor if a bit dark brown and impersonal. Bed was 2 single beds pushed together to make a double and I found this very uncomfortable. Bathroom was big but very slippy bath with no anti slip mats. The position of the shower made it difficult to get in and out without slipping. Breakfast was a pretty average affair with a poorly laid out continental buffet. I would prefer a full service hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Trafalgar Square London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing