We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location - very tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #287 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location - very tired rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 and were a group of 4 friends. We had a duplex with two seperate bedrooms and seperate lounge with kitchen area. The rooms were very very tired, awful decoration, very shabby looking. The bathroom was awful, the shower had no pressure, and the temperature switched between scalding hot and cold without even touching the tap. It was good value for money and the location could not be better.Right next to Trafalgar square and Charring Cross. The people at the reception were very nice and check-in was very quick.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    880
    256
    84
    49
See reviews for
785
637
85
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and i booked this apparthotel based on it's location and it did not fail us! Perfect location, just a moments walk to the rail line. In walking distance to lots of attractions. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: High room to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bec-simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 26 nights in April/May 2012 on a business trip. My company were a bit put off by the price as it didn't include breakfast but I stayed anyway. Excellent kitchenette meant I could have all sorts of meals without the need to constantly eat out, which in central London is expensive. Free WiFi included which was fast and reliable. Room fine although on the small side to accommodate the kitchenette. Bathroom modern and plenty of shower power and hot water.
Location is fantastic, very close to sights, underground and loads of pubs,clubs and restaurants. A great choice for business and pleasure. The only reason I won't give it 5 stars is the hotel would not negotiate over the price, even for such an extended stay
Don't miss out, Stay here.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square back in May on our first visit to London. Booked direct with the Hotel and got a great deal for our stay. We were very happy with the location with being first timers to London, it was central to all of the major attractions and to transport if you wanted to go further afield. The room was great for just two of us, very handy having a kitchenette, but the Sherlock Holmes around the corner is great for a meal and an ale! The option of a guest laundry was very beneficial. We could see the London Eye from our room and being so close to everything made the cost worthwhile. It would have been handy to have another chair in the room (which we did request at the booking, but were not provided with), but with the amount of sight seeing to do, we coped without it. I would recommend this fabulous hotel to anyone new to London looking for a central, comfortable, well appointed place to stay. If we are ever lucky enough to return, we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: A higher floor is a good idea if you are a light sleeper. But it is London and it is central!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlRobC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I booked a studio at this hotel in march, this year and we were pleased. I need to stard with the location wich is more than great! The room is clean, spacious, well equipped; the breakfast is varied and fresh. Balcony lack would be the only inconvienent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0redana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was a very nice apartment which had just been renovated. The rooms looked great but the bathroom was tiny. The water pressure in the shower was very low which was frustrating but all in all it was a good place to stay. The location was brilliant. At the end of the street was Trafalgar Square and we ate in the Sherlock Holmes pub next door which was great. We found a laundry which had a washer and dryer which is a great amenity for a traveller. Everything was in walking distance which was fantastic. We didn't have the breakfast there since Garfunkels was at the end of the street where we ate an English breakfast for a lot cheaper than the hotel pricing.

Room Tip: I did find this a very expensive place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaurenandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am giving this hotel a one star because of extra charges to my credit card that were undisclosed during our stay. They don't tell you that the danish and coffee that is placed in the small dining area is not complimentary. We signed the sheet of paper at the entrance and put down our room number and grabbed a quick pastry on our way out in the morning during our 5 night stay. There were times that I ate nothing and neither did my daughter. Little did we know that they were charging a breakfast fee every time and for every person we signed in. We weren't even told about it at check out! I am disputing this $300.00 charge with my credit card company. I think that it is a shame that a hotel where we paid 600.00 a night would try to cheat its guest this way. Sorry Citadines, never again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank rscope4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#99 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Trafalgar Square London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing