We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #195 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stay one week. Loved the neighborhood and the calm place where the hotel is so no noise in the night. Excellent breakfast. The rooms are well decorating and the bathroom new. There is bus station and tube station very close to the hotel. There something very important that I would like to comment. We just forgot all our passports and a good amount of money in the safer. And just remember about this when we were close to Stonehenge......We return to London after 3 hours we had left. We explained what happened and a staff member went with us to the room. There was a person cleaning the room but all our belongings were in the same way on the safer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gisele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was delighted to read all your comments regarding the hotel and staff. I was very pleased to read how our staff helped you locate your passports and money.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future for another excellent stay.
Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
There are newer reviews for Hilton London Angel Islington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

was a little more upscale than we usually do so was very nice for us. location was a bit of a walk from underground but not bad. staff was helpful. internet was a little hard to connect to but dont give up. for 3 people, only had two washcloths? kleenex box was empty when we arrived but staff was quick to help. lots of eating places nearby. next time would stay somewhere more central but its great for access to kings cross station.

Room Tip: we were on third floor but elevators quick so no issue. no noise issues. was a little hard to get...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cgs3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the Internet this is something we are currently making improvements to with BT.

I have also shared your comments with Housekeeping regarding the washcloths and the tissues for them to focus their attention on this.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were a party of four friends who stayed here for 10 days in late June to early July. We had booked our rooms through a travel agency almost 8 months earlier. We specifically reserved and paid for 2 rooms with 2 beds in each room (or so we thought). A fifth person was traveling from France and she booked her room separately from our reservation. We get to our adjoining rooms and there's one bed in each room. NOT HAPPY. Especially after being awake for 32 hours straight. After being told several different stories why this was the exact room type that we reserved despite what was printed on my reservation voucher, we were told that there weren't any rooms with 2 beds available which I knew not to be true since my friend from France who checked in after our party was assigned a room with...you guessed it...2 beds! After some heated discussions and some fingerpointing between the hotel and the travel agency, we eventually swapped one of our rooms for the single person who was assigned a room with 2 beds and another room with 2 beds was eventually located.

Despite the first day hassles, it did not ruin the trip and I can still recommend this hotel. The location is excellent. It's located in a nice but busy neighborhood with lots of restaurants and pubs and grocery stores. It is very close to the Angel tube station and there's a bus stop nearby. It is an ideal starting point for people who have never been to London. Wifi would be inconsistent at times but I was able to check my emails so I was happy and I didn't want to spend my whole vacation using wifi. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job of cleaning the rooms and were always accomodating if we needed extra towels or tissue. The hotel in general always seemed very clean. The breakfast staff were all pleasant and friendly. The front desk staff were courteous and professional and helpful when we asked for assistance. Hilton should be very proud of their employees as they represent the company quite well.
I guess just be careful if you book through a travel agency and make sure there's no misunderstanding of the type of rooms you reserve.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank midwestern1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the mishap and confusion on arrival with regards to room types. Please be advised that we only assign rooms that have been booked and requested to which we did do with the agent you booked through. I am glad to see that we managed to rectify the issue and give you the rooms you originally wanted. I am glad to see the rest of your stay was a good one and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

But not worth the money. We thought the rooms would be bigger and there might be a gym or jacuzzi (we checked after booking :(). In future I would look for a similar experience (bland/shiny/corporate) for less money or perhaps a less shiny experience for the same money. We only stayed one night. The staff were friendly & efficient and the food good. Rooms equipped but small.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry to see that your expectations were not entirely met but we are hoping to have some gym facilities at the hotel and I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is my third reviewer and very happy to say that the hotel continues to improve.
The staff were very friendly and pleasant and check-in was very efficient.
My assigned room was really nice, extremely clean and well appointed. The décor is neutral and well designed.
The bathroom is also well appointed and the shower safe and easy to use.
I had breakfast and it was up to the usual standard with a large choice to pick from.
Only one comment and that is the bar prices - I had one large glass of red wine as a night cap and to be charged GBP9.60 was just a bit too much, especially when there is a service charge line presented on the invoice in addition!
Overall, an enjoyable visit, a great location and of a high standard, which makes the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorkinginAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the Hilton London Islington with us. It is so great to see you like the hotel which makes you come back and enjoy all the convenience the hotel and staff has to offer.

It would be great to welcome you back soon and we will have a breakfast table ready for you.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is by all means a nice accommodation, free wifi, front desk help with my bags to the room, air conditioned rooms , clean environment, lovely fresh full English breakfast with omelette made to my taste by the on site chef. Fantastic location with night life and many wonderful restaurants and bars within a stone throw from the hotel. Highly recommended ,will stay here again and so must you!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Heroesnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed everything about your stay and have shared all your comments.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a really nice hotel that is located in a good part of London. We have stayed in a B &B in Belgravia twice before and found that this Hilton in Islington is far superior and much less expensive than the B & B. We enjoyed the walk from Islington to Piccadilly and Westminster, although it might be a bit of a hike for some. One drawback is that the Wifi isn't free in each room but it is available for free in the lobby. We ate at restaurants outside of the hotel therefore cannot comment on the hotel restaurants. Front desk staff were helpful and the room decor was brand new and very comfortable and attractive. We would highly recommend this hotel and would return there ourselves. The price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read all your comments and have shared them with all the Team and Management.

With regards to the Internet, since your stay we have included complimentary Internet in all our rooms.

We hope we can welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#132 of 1,072 in London
2,500 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,072 in London
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#71 of 1,072 in London
3,521 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Angel Islington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing