We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #184 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Hilton Islington is very well located near the Angel tube station. The neighboorhood is clean and safe with plenty of good value restaurants. The pricing is very attractive as part of the Hilton brand. The rooms are spacious enough and very clean. Isolation against any street noice is the biggest advantage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and the location.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    565
    130
    42
    30
See reviews for
331
556
88
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

An ok hotel in many ways (although there are plenty of other medium priced hotels in the area that are better value). The one glaring problem is internet access.

Hiltons internet access pricing through its in house facility was about four times more than available casual rates - more than 60gbp for the period I needed.

But far far worse than that - something that in my view seems to be illegal - is that any attempt to access a legitimate wifi account via BT - Hiltons provider - forces you back to their portal and its gouging pricing.

So not only is the internet a rip off but Hilton attempt to make it impossible for guests to find an alternative service, even if they have an existing account to do so.

For any serious user of internet facilities in a hotel this is an outrageous way to treat guests. The workaround is to establish an account with any other wifi service provider (ie anyone other than BT) in the area. Do not use BT or you will find you cannot log into your account and are forced into Hilton's exhorbitant rate structure.

Nowhere in any on their web pages is the true cost of internet services even mentioned.

I made my views very clear at checkout time and understood I was not the first to raise the issue with them.

Never again for me at a Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentle_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay apart from the issue with the Internet price rest assured I have shared your comments with the Management Team.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent there 3 nights due to some business in the proximity.

Never felt that the place would be overgrouded, although they had a Britain's got Talent tv-show recording or try outs going on in the conference facility next to the hotel.

The room was very basic, still it had pretty much what I needed.
The breakfast was normal full British thing, no complains.
Staff was very friendly and polite.

The executive lounge was a very small place next to the reception.
It runs (has something to offer) only from 5 pm to 8 pm, with some food from 5 to 7 and soft drinks, beer and wine from 5 to 8.
A small place, like I said, but always found a place to sit without any problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlatsRetract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was pleased to see that you found the hotel a good place to stay for your business trip.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've been to London many times and my experience of hotels there has been a little hit and miss. No more!! I've found a real jewel in this hotel and will look no further in future. I stayed there with my adult grandson on the night of 23rd November 2013. The tone was set when we were greeted on arrival at Reception by the very friendly, helpful and charming Petra, who is a real asset to the hotel. We found the rooms to be of a good size, immaculately clean and very well-equipped with all that the weary traveller might require. The décor and furnishings were luxurious. The shower was great - very powerful and invigorating. We ate in the bar and found the food to be delicious and the service faultless. I can't comment on breakfast because the beds are so comfortable we both slept very soundly and didn't really have time to eat before checking out to make our way to the airport. (Next time I'll make sure to set a wake-up call!) Again, the young lady at reception at check-out was extremely helpful. This hotel is of a very high standard in an excellent location and the staff are fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibertiesBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I was extremely pleased to see that you had a lovely stay and I have shared all your comments with all the team.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Good, clean, weekend stay! Good location, Islington is worth a visit great little community! Hotel was a good business hotel, the fan was loud in the room! Easy 20 minute walk from Kings Cross, enjoyed the visit! Staff were polite and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harryflashman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights, had to move rooms as water not hot enough for a bath - lovely new room but still only luke warm water. Use of executive lounge was good with adequate supply of snacks & beverages. At breakfast on Monday had to ask for butter, was told there wasn't any so went to get some from the exuctive lounge then was brought some! On the whole staff very firendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank CalaPi112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept my apologies for the short falls regarding the water and butter in the restaurant, rest assured I have shared your comments with the Management Team for improvements to be made.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Not only is this hotel recently refurbished--and very nicely--but the location is also excellent. We have stayed in London many times but never in this area, but you can be sure we be back and will stay in the Hilton London Islington. -- The hotel rooms are nicely decorated and of a good size, especially for London. There was adequate storage space in both the room and bathroom, the bed was very comfortable, and all the linens were of high quality. The room was quiet (3rd floor, away from the elevator) but had no view. The hotel's close proximity to more restaurants and cafes than you can imagine is a definite plus, and it is convenient to the Angel Underground station as well. The area felt safe to walk around, daytime and at night. We did try the hotel restaurant, both for drinks and for lunch. The prices for both were about what you would expect from a hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CONAIRAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I was pleased to see that you found the refurbishment very nice and the location excellent.

We look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#128 of 1,069 in London
2,414 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,069 in London
4,044 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#71 of 1,069 in London
3,419 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#650 of 1,069 in London
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Property: Hilton London Angel Islington
Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Angel Islington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing