We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #181 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Not only is this hotel recently refurbished--and very nicely--but the location is also excellent. We have stayed in London many times but never in this area, but you can be sure we be back and will stay in the Hilton London Islington. -- The hotel rooms are nicely decorated and of a good size, especially for London. There was adequate storage space in both the room and bathroom, the bed was very comfortable, and all the linens were of high quality. The room was quiet (3rd floor, away from the elevator) but had no view. The hotel's close proximity to more restaurants and cafes than you can imagine is a definite plus, and it is convenient to the Angel Underground station as well. The area felt safe to walk around, daytime and at night. We did try the hotel restaurant, both for drinks and for lunch. The prices for both were about what you would expect from a hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CONAIRAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I was pleased to see that you found the refurbishment very nice and the location excellent.

We look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    553
    125
    42
    28
See reviews for
319
542
86
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights mainly because it is very close to my son's home. I was pleasantly surprised! Great décor throughout the hotel following a comprehensive re-furb. Modern but not too modern! Great bed and pillows with quality linen, nice towels, good quality toiletries (a few extra wouldn't have gone amiss - bottles a bit on the small side!), slippers and robes provided. Well stocked mini bar, plenty of tea / coffee supplied in the room, plus still and sparkling water. Iron and board provided. Very quiet room (at the back). Good TV and excellent working area with plenty of sockets etc. Good hairdryer (crucial!) I only ate breakfast (free of charge for Gold HHonors customers) which was excellent (buffet style as expected but eggs etc. cooked to order). Easy 3-4 minute walk to the tube station and straight into town. Good selection of bars and restaurants locally on the high street. Extremely helpful staff on reception, ordered a car and driver to take me into Kensington in the evening - excellent driver and a lot cheaper than a cab! Definitely stay again...in fact, already booked!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our reception staff helpful.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were able to find this hotel on a Sunday night for under £100 including b/fast. This was an exceptionally good deal.
For that price, the hotel was great. Perfect location for where we needed to be. Rooms were clean and comfy.
I noticed tonight that the lowest price was approx. £440. That is ridiculous. I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel for that price. But, for anything near the £100 mark, you're getting a good deal.
Great large telly, fabulous shower, very quiet. Wifi should be standard in all areas and not just the lobby.
We didn't have b/fast in the hotel as we had plans elsewhere, but we'd certainly stay again assuming we can get a similar rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the Hilton London islington. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I have tried other Hiltons, but this is my favorite for location. However, I have found it looking tired and needed a refresh. They have gone in and redone all the rooms and corridors and I am impressed by the new decor and the comfortable beds. Certainly on a par with american hotels with a modern comfortable look. Full marks to Hilton. Happy to go back on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am so glad that you are more than impressed with the Hilton London Islington refurbishment and that you found your stay an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here many times over the years on business and the quallity, helpfulness of staff, cleanlyness of rooms have always been very good. locally lots of restaurants, and a nice bar in the hotel to relax in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Glad to see that you enjoy the newly refurbised hotel and that you enjoy staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would probably have rated this hotel lower if it had not been for the customer care I received here. I was given a room which, on opening the door, smelled as if there was a drain problem. I returned to reception expecting a fuss and received an apology and an immediate upgrade to a better room on the second floor, which was immaculate. Great customer service. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but was in a great position for my visit to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton London Islington. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were more than accommodating.

Please remember the Hilton London Islington when you are next in London.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights. Thought the hotel was lovely and we had a newly refurbished double room which was also very nice. Location was great for us, a short walk from Angel tube station and beside lots of lovely restaurants and shops. Only downside for us that there was only free wifi in the lobby and not in the rooms.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank she_floated_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the hotel. I am happy that you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#122 of 1,067 in London
2,357 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#72 of 1,067 in London
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Property: Hilton London Angel Islington
Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Angel Islington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing