We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #181 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and location”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Was in town for a 3 day work trip. I chose this property because I'd stayed here some years before and remembered its location.

It's been updated since my last stay. The bedrooms are peaceful and the bathrooms clean and modern.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good and hot!

The only mild comment is that the heating in the rooms didn't work, but it was a minor niggle.

The location is fsntastic, with the subway station just across the street, and a huge choice of restaurants and bars very close by.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your very warm, kind review following your stay with us at the Hilton Islington. I am so pleased that you loved our staff, our newly refurbished room, breakfast was very good and that our location was perfect for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Petra Cappannari
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    553
    125
    42
    28
See reviews for
319
542
86
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is brilliant right in Islington but set back by the Design Centre so that it feels tucked away. Reception was great on arrival. Stayed for two nights. The room was great. I have stayed here several times in the past and always enjoyed it. The bar service wasn't great but there wasn't that many people about. Given that there are some good pubs over the road this is not much of an issue. Didn't eat at the hotel this time so can't comment. I also got a good deal by booking early. Very happy with my stay and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Hilton Islington and for posting this lovely review. We are glad that you found our Reception team great as well as our newly refurbished rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Petra Cappannari
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A good hotel convenient to Sadlers Wells Theatre and some very good restaurants. Tube station local so that central London can be reached easily. Highly recommend this Hilton Hotel Islington as it has comfortable rooms, very good breakfast and good services. Will definitely stay again 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank DanceLisa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I am glad to hear that you have had such a pleasant experience at the Hilton Islington. From your review it sounds like you had a perfect stay with us, and we are very glad to hear it!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Petra Cappannari
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First time at this hotel, and this area of London, and very impressive it was. The hotel was very well decorated and beautifully clean. We were able to check in even though we arrived at 11 am, both rooms were ready for us. The staff were very helpful, giving us advice on buses etc and organising a taxi for us on Saturday evening. There was an excellent choice for breakfast both mornings and the staff were always on hand to help with anything extra we needed. We chose this area as we were going to the Sadlers Wells theatre and were delighted to realise how close it was. The area around the hotel has plenty of eating establishments for evening meals, and on the Sunday we spent a pleasant time looking around the local farmers market and little vintage/second hand shops. We would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back of the building and it was exceptionally quiet, no traffic noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit. I am thrilled that you like all aspects of your stay, the location, the early check in, the staff and the breakfast.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your experience at the Hilton Islington and I do hope that you will consider staying with us when you next visit London.

Warm regards,

Petra Cappannari
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly id like to start by saying how friendly the hotel staff were from beginning to end, they were polite and extremely helpful throughout our stay.
We were only at this hotel for 2 nights after our civil partnership and were firstly given a room upgrade to a suite followed by a breakfast upgrade, which was a complimentary breakfast in bed for both days, which was lovely and came plentiful.
On entering our room there was a path way of red rose petals which lead to the bed which was covered in a huge heart shape made of more red rose petals. There was also a bottle of champagne on ice for us to enjoy accompanied by a personal note from the manager. It was the prefect ending to a beautiful day and evening and we cant thank the hotel enough for their efforts.
we would strongly suggest this hotel to anyone who needed somewhere to stay no matter what the occasion may be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent visit. I would like to pass on my congratulations to you both once again; I am thrilled that we had the opportunity to assist you with your pre-honeymoon and make your stay memorable. I am also delighted you had a plentiful breakfast and that you found our staff great and helpful.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Petra Cappannari
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was looking for a hotel close to the 02 in Islington as I was going to a concert there, so the Hilton was ideal. I booked it through AVIOS so can't really comment on the value for money but I would recommend it if you need somewhere near the 02 venue or Kings Cross station. The hotel was clean, friendly and secure at night. The bed was amazing, big tv, shower big enough for two...and buffet breakfast was delicious with helpful staff on hand. The area is ideal, one stop on the tube from Euston, short walk from Kings Cross and Angel tube station. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants..overall an great hotel in a great location. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Willow127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Islington. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such positive feedback following your recent stay, and we're delighted that our location, facilities and service are well-suited to your needs.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Petra Cappannari
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here many times I was looking forward to my first visit back since renovation. The rooms are very nice, however don't clean your teeth when you are fully clothed as you will get soaked from the badly designed bathroom sink & tap. Looks lovely, but totally useless. Also, on this trip very disappointed & disgusted when I have had to request (not yet complained) to have blood cleaned off the bathroom door. It wasn't my blood and wouldn't know how long it had been on the door!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I understand our General Manager Stefanie Hardy had been in contact with you directly.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#122 of 1,067 in London
2,356 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#72 of 1,067 in London
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Property: Hilton London Angel Islington
Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Angel Islington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing