We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannizaro Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Ranked #531 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cannizaro Experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Stayed two nights to attend a wedding. Arrived at 3-30 pm and waited one hour for a room to be prepared. Despite having a room rate agreed in writing it was denied that any such rate existed. After some 'discussion' it was admitted that the rate I had was correct but no apology. A broken matress spring led to an injury which was reported to Reception and ignored by everyone until the issue was escalated.
All things considered an eventful weekend. The wedding was well run with excellent food and service.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoteluser_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    157
    74
    48
    37
See reviews for
140
233
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Arrived here for a two night stay with baited breath having seen the previous comments but was pleasantly surprised. Asked for an early check in as we had to attend a wedding at the hotel which they arranged for us. The food at the reception was outstanding and the hotel staff were very attentive. However, the room was in need of updating and minor repairs. Eg the curtain was missing a hook or two and the sealant in the bathroom looked like it had been put on with about as much expertise as I have…But it was clean and we were comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a lot of choice. Thought it was good value for money as it was marginally more expensive than the local B&B’s in the area. Having been a long term resident in Wimbledon until recently I was pleased to see that the new owners had started to make pleasing changes to what was a very knackered grand old lady who was about to keel over. They just need to follow through with these changes to their rooms.

  • Liked — The location and the food
  • Disliked — The room was a bit sad
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

After reading previous reviews, I did not have high expectations for this hotel. Our friends were having their wedding reception at Cannizaro and hence we got a cheaper room rate than normal for our one night stay. The hotel is set in wonderful grounds and looks stunning from the outside, particularly at night when the hotel is lit up. Unfortunately, the interior is somewhat disappointing - the majority of the decor is set in a classic design but there are some new modern additions which simply do not work e.g. the bar looks brand new, very white, modern, small, long & narrow - a wine/cockbar bar feel. There are some odd pieces of modern art dotted around which again does not fit in with the general classic decor. There is no formal reception area, just one desk as you enter the hotel. The main lounge area lacks atmosphere and there was a shortage of comfy seats. We were allocated a room with a four poster which on first inspection looked very spacious & romantic. However, taking a closer look, I noticed that the walls could do with new wallpaper or a new coat of paint. More noticeable was the bathroom where the sealant around the bath definately needed replacing. I was fortunate enough to see the bridal suite and a few of the other rooms. They all appeared very spacious but in need of updating, particularly the bridal suite where the carpet was grubby, in desperate need of a clean. The food & service throughout our stay was v.good and particular praise should be given to Rowan, the operations manager who was very attentive to all the guests during the stay.

I do feel that this hotel is overpriced and there is still much more room for improvement - there are some wonderful hotels in this country and unless the necessary improvements are made - I won't be back!

p.s. It was rumoured that the hotel restaurant was to be named "Common" after Wimbledon Common - what a daft name, surely they can do better than that!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of style
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MW F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I last visited the hotel some 18 months ago, and I can really say that it seems to have improved massively under the new ownership. The bar has been re done, and serves some fantastic cocktails, all prepared by the resident mixologists (a new word I learnt whilst I was there!). My girlfriend loved it. The room was nicely decorated and had some really fun things as well, like a pair of binoculars on the window sill for looking out into the park with! What I noticed the most since my last visit was the improvement of the quality of the service. From the moment we arrived and were taken to our room by the lovely receptionist, to when we ordered dinner in the 'common' restaurant, we were looked after so well by the staff at the hotel. I will be back again as soon as possible.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — try the Mojito
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NIck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Did not think much of this hotel at all. It is a great location, but overall everything about this hotel is below average. Food, rooms, service etc.! But there is not much choice if you want to stay in Wimbledon !

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We stayed at Cannizaro House over the weekend for a wedding. The hotel were very helpful and attentive. It's a great location for a weekend getaway. My only negative comment would be their lack of attention to detail - our newspaper didn't turn up and our kettle on the widely advertised hospitality tray didn't work ... and on the Sunday after a wedding you really do want a cup of tea when you wake up! Breakfast was delicious and it makes a pleasant change when a busy hotel makes it all freshly to order rather than setting out loads of hot plates. Our room itself was on the ground floor and rather small with a window that didn't actually lock which wasn't very reassuring for security. The bathroom didn't have any windows and as a result was very dark as the light bulbs were very dim. If we went again we would request a different room. However, on the whole we would recommend the hotel as the staff are just so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 25, 2006

upon arriving to Cannizaro House you are blown away by the beautiful quintessitially building. Once inside the charming staff enhance the wonderful experience.

We stayed over night for two nights and adored every minute. The food was excellent, the bar is great and they serve the most delicious cocktails.

Wimbledon is lovely to go into for some light shopping. And then back to Cannizaro for dinner and cocktails. We went to the local theatre one night which was fantastic. When we came back the staff prepared us a light snack as they were worried we'd be hungry, so sweet! There was even a night cap on the pillow..Excellent, I can't wait to go back

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon Hotel
#709 of 1,067 in London
102 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#470 of 1,067 in London
501 reviews
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#319 of 1,067 in London
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

Property: Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Address: Cannizaro House West Side Common, London SW19 4UE, England (Formerly Cannizaro House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#275 Business Hotel in London
#330 Luxury Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Wimbledon 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannizaro House Hotel London
Hotel Du Vin Wimbledon London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing