We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Ranked #530 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

From moment we arrived to check-out, everything about our one night stay was good. Warm and professional at every stage. I particularly remember Wendy at the desk, lovely lady.
Free car parking, free wifi, breakfast and dinner included in the rate, fresh, home-made biscuits in the room, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of complementary bottled water in the fridge, a little crystal decanter filled with sherry to welcome us... wow! not many London hotels offer all of these.
Keep an eye out for special offers on their website, you will not be disappointed.
The location is good whatever the weather, just make sure you pack your trainers/ walking shoes so you can take advantage of the lush parkland which surrounds the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    152
    74
    48
    34
See reviews for
133
224
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NW UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Called in with eldest daughter for food. She and her mother had afternoon tea which was a few sandwiches and cakes for £25. The surroundings were good and the place was busy with families and guests. Access is just of Wimbledon common. There is a car park but you pay unless you are using the hotel services - not unreasonable. There may have been a wedding on. I ordered sea bream (I think) which was very good. It was V expensive and only average. There seemed to be a lot of people who had booked a inclusive weekend package which was prob better value that a walk in customer. I would not rush back but I may check out the package deals. On the plus side the staff were numerous and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for our 3rd wedding anniversary - Had a wonderful time - fantastic food , great location (amazing grounds which our 18 month old daughter loved) Beautiful room and very very good service . Will be back ! - Also very child friendly !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I use Trip Advisor religiously and really do not like to leave negative reviews (and luckily it isn’t that often that I come across the need to, however last night I visited The Orangery at Cannizaro House for evening drinks with a friend and left leaving the need to provide feedback. It was my first time to Cannizaro House and it is certainly beautiful, the view from the patio off The Orangery is just gorgeous and sitting in the late afternoon sun was just beautiful. When we arrived, it wasnt busy – I would say perhaps 5 or 6 small groups of people and was a little worried to overhear someone at the next table asking the waitress why it had taken 45 minutes to deliver some drinks they ordered. We sat for around 15 minutes waiting to be served (after being told by the waitress herself that it was table service), and realised that it was probably best to order directly at the bar. Turns out this was not the case. We ordered two glasses of wine and some bread and olives – 30 minutes later we were still waiting. With dinner reservations elsewhere, after 45 minutes in total and no closer to our drinks arriving, we decided to just leave and ask for a refund. We went to the bar to ask for a refund – there was a manager standing at the bar, yet it took quite some time to acknowledge us. We explained the situation and were met with a confused look and the words “what? You haven’t got your drinks?”. There was no apology or inkling of humility. I honestly could not believe it. Its a real shame as the setting is just gorgeous, however service needs a massive improvement. I could only assume that there is no culture of true hospitality and customer service here and suggest that Cannizaro House immediately look into mobilising a training programme for staff. It may be well as good to invest money into the furnishings of Cannizaro House, but in order to retain customers you need to invest in your people too. Seems pretty simple to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JodieYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

A very disappointing afternoon tea.

On sitting down at the table, I had before me a linen napkin which was badly freyed and stained, how had none of the staff noticed when setting the table? When the tea cup was brought, the saucer too had an old tea stain on it, and although I have no doubt it had been through a washer it was clearly visable and wasn't acceptable for a 25 pounds a head establishment. I might have let this go had this been a 'greasy spoon cafe', but a 4 star hotel?

Admittedly the staff were helpful when the above problems were pointed out, but to be honest these issues should have been picked up by the staff before they were presented to the guest, and demonstrates a real lack of attention to detail, which rather spoilt the experience.

Were staff attentive? Of course they came to ask the obligatory, "Is everything okay?", but didn't raise the level of service to being attentive to our needs. So, we had ask for refills of obviously small and inadiquate portions of tea and cream.

The dreadful, out of place 'art' work highlights the management's lack of understanding of the finer details of creating an exclusive experience.

This is not a quality establishment, though they would wish that to be the impression. They just trade on the impressive building. Pretentions to luxury that they fail to achieve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Highly recommended. A great venue with friendly staff and a terrific atmosphere. Lovely dinner and breakfast. Daughter has allocated this hotel as her wedding reception venue. Just now waiting to be asked.

Room Tip: An upgrade rewards you with a caraffe of port !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday, on a “Romantic break” rate, which included dinner, bed and breakfast. We booked a Large Double room, which had a four-poster bed and overlooked the front garden of the hotel. We checked in about 6pm and the room had been turned down, with the curtains closed, tea lights burning, a heart shape of petals covering the bed, and a carafe of port. This romantic turn down was repeated each night of our stay, but unfortunately the carafe of port was not refilled ;-(

The room was a good choice, with everything we wanted, including comfy bathrobes. The only criticism I would have is that there was only one standard-sized free-standing wardrobe, a lot of the space in which was taken up with a mini-bar, safe and ironing board. Also the tea and coffee tray started off in there, but we quickly moved that to the desk. So there was insufficient hanging space for us, especially as we were staying for 3 nights and brought some smart clothes to dress for dinner.

The meals in the restaurant were really good, as you’d expect from a fine dining restaurant. Our rate included a 3-course dinner from the Simply menu in the main restaurant (all drinks and other menu choices were extra, of course), and breakfast in the restaurant too. We didn’t eat in the Orangerie or have afternoon tea, but all the food we saw others eating looked great.

Breakfast is help-yourself to fruit and cereal, with everything else cooked to order. The hot food was fresh and tasty, with a good choice including fish, which we chose on one morning. Toast and croissants were also brought to our table, with a good selection of preserves, including Marmite and Nutella, which you don’t often see.

Dinner was very good too, good combinations of flavours and great presentation, lovely fresh bread and delightful petits fours. Eating in the glass-walled porch area is great on a spring evening, looking out over the park. We had 3 courses from the Simply menu for the first 2 nights, but the menu was pretty much the same for all of our 3 nights, so we switched to the main menu on our last evening as we had exhausted all the dishes we fancied on the Simply menu. Three evenings of the same cucumber granita amuse bouche was rather unexciting too!

We were lucky that the bank holiday weather was mostly good, so we spent our days exploring the local area. We walked to the All England Club for a tour, around the common and the village, and over to Wimbledon town. The spring flowers in Cannizaro park were beautiful and it was lovely to come back to relax in our romantic room in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon Hotel
#726 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#468 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Warren House
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#332 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

Property: Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Address: Cannizaro House West Side Common, London SW19 4UE, England (Formerly Cannizaro House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#275 Business Hotel in London
#334 Luxury Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Wimbledon 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannizaro House Hotel London
Hotel Du Vin Wimbledon London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing