We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at Cannizaro House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Ranked #597 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got married on the 8th September this year and had our wedding reception at our much loved Cannizaro House.  We and our guests had a truly amazing day and were so delighted with not only the beautiful venue but 1st class service from the staff.  

The customer service was top notch and all of our guests felt very looked after. The team at Cannizaro House have a lot of experience at running weddings and that showed in their advice when we were planning the wedding through to their performance on the day. 

I must say that the food was just delicious and beautifully presented.  Our guests were amazed by the quality of the food at the wedding breakfast, especially given the numbers that were being catered for. The following morning, we were all equally impressed with the breakfast we had. 

Also, our guests were mentioning how gorgeous their rooms were and we think some of them will be back very soon! The new marble bathrooms were a real talking point amongst our guests the morning after the wedding - I wanted to take the bath home!  I must also mention the convenience of having a lift to all floors in a period building, as we had a few guests who could not take the stairs.

We would recommend Cannizaro House to anyone who wants an event to be really special. We cannot thank the staff enough!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 667 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Aaaah ... Cannizaro House ... one of my favourite new finds, a very beautifully refurbished country house set in 34 acres of parkland, with beautiful rooms, beds you just want to stay in, bathrooms you could spend hours in, breakfast fit for a King and one which could give any top chef in the world a very good run for their money and staff who just go that extra mile to make you happy and who seem to really enjoy working there! The restaurant is also superb as is the lighter menu offered in the bar. We also enjoyed afternoon tea there and I have to say that having had afternoon tea at numerous very well known establishments, this left me, rather unusually, lost for words!!!!! I have to give a special mention to Emma on reception, the girl in the know if you want a room with a view ;) ;) This hotel really is a special little gem! Very close to the beautiful shops at Wimbledon Village and not forgetting the lovely New Wimbledon Theatre. Its also a great base if you want to come to London for a weekend and spend some time in the West End or Knightbridge as its so easy on the tubes and great to get back to the calm of Cannizaro House after a hard day's shopping :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy7366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have been going to Canizzaro house for a few years now (staying, eating and drinking) and really have only good things to say.
The accomadation is second to none with lovely touches in the room and are always clean and furnished to a great standerd.
The Hotel itself though not to big is again very elegently furnished and has a homely feel.
The staff are always very welcoming and helpful and always happy to attend to you.
The quality of the food is second to none, when i was last there for my wifes birthday they were actually celbrating a fine dining award(Well done them!!)
The wine list is extensive and you can always find something to your liking.
The grounds are really magical and on a nice day are very worth walking around, even if you do not frequent the Hotel the grounds are open to the public.
On a nice day sat outside on the terrace with a light bite and a coctail nothing is better.
I am planning to visit Cannizaro House on Xmas day for luch with the family and am confident that this will also be magical.
Overall can not reccomend highly enough, if you want to trat someone they will be very happy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service level at Cannizaro House has exceeded that of any place my wife and I have visited in ANY country to date. It exceeded any and all expectations by a huge margin and the Management's key to success seems to be in a unique ability to hire those who truly enjoy being in the service industry. The facilities and grounds are top-notch and surpass most offerings. We could easily walk to the village and town, and the train to downtown London was only a short 15min ride and quite inexpensive. After living in England twice now, and visiting London countless times, we've finally found a place to hang our hat for future visits. We would highly recommend Cannizaro House as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very pleasant overnight stay at the Cannizaro House. Peaceful surroundings and beautiful garden.The room was very comfortable and lovely decor. The food was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast plentiful and a variety to choose from. We will definitely visit again.

Halcy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcyion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is set on the edge of Wimbledon Common, but is also on a huge and beautiful back garden park, so it is an ideal way of getting some much needed peace and quiet for a few days in London.
The room was excellent - very well turned out, comfy bed etc.
Breakfast was also very good - I'd recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
Beware, it is not cheap (especially the bar), but it is a luxury and a great way to treat yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed a few times at Cannizaro House. It has a wonderful ambience. It next to the common. Great for early morning runs. The Wimbledon village is only 5 minutes walk and has lovely restaurants, coffee shops and shops. Wimbledon station is only 5 minutes drive away and great links into centre of London. Only 30 minutes. The staff are very friendly always willing to help. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is extensive. It feels like a big house and not hotel. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Close to everything. Nothing feels to far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keentraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon Hotel
#703 of 1,077 in London
106 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#330 of 1,077 in London
581 reviews
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#292 of 1,077 in London
1,370 reviews
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
726 reviews
Hendon Hall Hotel
#482 of 1,077 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

Address: Cannizaro House West Side Common, London SW19 4UE, England (Formerly Cannizaro House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Romantic Hotel in London
#275 Business Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
#364 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $155 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Wimbledon 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannizaro House Hotel London
Hotel Du Vin Wimbledon London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing