We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Ranked #522 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Anniversary trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here when visiting family in Wimbledon to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. The setting is lovely, looking out at the front to the Common and to back and side to Cannizaro Park. The hotel itself is very comfortable - good sized lounge and bar with comfortable sofas, a terrace for afternoon tea in the sun and a lovely dining room with covered terrace at the side which became quite magical as night fell.
Our room, a standard, was very comfortable - a welcoming decanter of port was a nice touch and tea/coffee making stuff and fresh biscuits were always replaced. There was lots of space both in the room and in the bathroom which had underfloor heating. We slept well and there was no noise or disturbance from other guests.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent and the service attentive but not overdone.
A minor gripe - why can't hotels do decent toast? Using a toastrack instead of heaping it up on a plate is an easy way to improve it. But we did appreciate the courtesy mini-bus which took us to Wimbledon station each morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    151
    70
    45
    35
See reviews for
132
218
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were at Cannizaro House for a wedding so it was chosen for us by locals. It was well-chosen. Rooms are delightful. The staff is most accommodating and helpful. Take the time to stroll along the extensive land behind the hotel, especially in the early morning. Just lovely.

The central lounge/bar is always full of guests and locals. The breakfast is extensive and usually included in your room charge. Just a short walk across Wimbledon Commons to the village where you can find anything you need. Several pubs nearby deserve a nod: the Dog and Fox in the Village and the two or three pubs/cafes just to the right out the driveway.

Room Tip: Our first room was on the second floor but to reach it you had to walk down a lot of steps in the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powycommodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

After an initial bad start (we arrived, only to be told there was no hot water or heating - not really their fault, but noone rang to tell us so were ended up staying somewhere else), we were offered a complementary upgrade if we booked again. We did so and were upgraded to a suite, but I think it was THE suite - an amazing room with a huge balcony, TV in the bathroom, the biggest shower you've ever seen, and were also given a free bottle of champagne for the problems with our initial booking. Breakfast was included and was nice, and they even brought it up to our room.
Had a really nice night, and they more than made up for the initial issues. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydfordJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I stayed at the Cannizaro House Hotel for six nights and had a great stay -- so much so that we will likely stay there again on return visits to London.

Our room (214) was a very good size and the staff went out of there way to ensure we were happy. Omar, in particular, was very helpful in resolving one potential problem. My daughter in 5-months old and the crib supplied wasn't suitable. Rather than dispute this Omar simply wanted to resolve the problem and did just that by having someone drive into the town and buy something more suitable. This was set up in our room a few short hours later. So nice to see someone go above and beyond.

The only reason I wouldn't rate this property as excellent is that the in-room dining is somewhat limited (with a five-month old we wanted to rely on this a couple of times and while what we ordered was fine, the selection was a bit limited). In addition, at times on the weekends it was hard to find a table to sit at due to the amazing weather we experienced -- however when we asked we were promptly seated at a reserved table held back for residents.

For people considering this hotel I would suggest you consider the location. I was born in Wimbledon so know the area well, and use it as a base to see friends and family. If you want easy access to central London this can be a bit harder as you have to get to the tube station (we parked in the shopping center in Wimbledon town) but on the plus side you can enjoy the common and Wimbledon Village, weather permitting.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for one of the larger doubles. Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjwukc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. Cannizaro House is elegant and classic but with a trendy vibe. The bar area is gorgeous. Bedroom was comfortable and well appointed. Extremely nice breakfasts in the lovely dining area set us up for the day. Staff were polite, pleasant and helpful. The gardens were lovely.The hotel is a short walk away from the Common and Wimbledon Village where there are cafes, restaurants, bars and high end shops, short ride into Wimbledon for trains into London which we took advantage of. The village is clearly Yummy Mummy, Ladies Who Lunch territory but none the worse for that. Our usual hotel in Richmond was fully booked which is why we came to stay here. Second best? Not a bit of it. We would definitely consider coming back here.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking either the hotel gardens or the Common
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

A modern day hotel with old world charm. A home away from home. From the moment I set
foot inside Canizarro House, I was in heaven. The warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff as they led me to a well furnished, large and elegantly comfortable 'Room with a View' was exceptional.
A sumptuous breakfast, all inclusive, began our day in the hotel's conservatory overlooking the expansive lawns.
Cocktails, of any mix, areadily served as we sat at the hotel's cool bar. The dinner menu is imaginative, holds a creative flair, and its content, every Gourmet's delight.
Will definitely return to Canizarro House ....... for great service, charming staff, delicious food, comfort, peaceful energy, magnificent views ....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabby311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My friend and I booked into the Cannizaro House hotel for just one night. The hotel was located in a convenient place for our shopping trip to Wimbledon and Kingston. Wimbledon village was a pleasant stroll across the common and a further stroll down the hill found us in Wimbledon town with train links to Kingston.
Back at the hotel, the welcome was genuinely friendly and we were offered help with our bags. Our room was comfortable and had all the amenities we required. There were several nice touches such as, home made biscuits with the tea/coffee facilities provided. There was also a little caraffe and glasses provided with an evening tipple supplied which I believe changes at their discretion. We had port. Amongst all the usual facilities hotels normally offer, the Cannizaro also offers to lend visitors jackets and wellingtons should their guests not come equipped for a stroll around the beautiful parkland at the back of the hotel.
Breakfast was enjoyable. There was a buffet for cereal & fruit but cooked food was freshly prepared and came to the table hot. If I was picky, I would say that I would have liked the buffet to have included a choice of pastries but that would have only added to my wastline anyway!
All in all a very enjoyable evening spent at the Cannizaro hotel and a lovely morning stroll around the park. I would definately stay again if I were to repeat my shopping trip and would certainly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon Hotel
#720 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#461 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warren House
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#328 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

Property: Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Address: Cannizaro House West Side Common, London SW19 4UE, England (Formerly Cannizaro House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#275 Business Hotel in London
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Wimbledon 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannizaro House Hotel London
Hotel Du Vin Wimbledon London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing