We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Ranked #32 of 874 Specialty Lodging in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We'd come back”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This plainly has pros and cons which the discerning traveller will know in advance. On the plus side, the location is great for London (honestly, minutes from St Pancras, British Library, British Museum, tube stations, restaurants, late shops, etc.); but in a charming and quiet crescent opposite a tennis court; economic (since it is essentially self-catering); has smart modern décor, is very clean and has adequate equipment. On the minus side, rooms are small (ours was the 11 x 11), which means you can barely turn round in the bathroom (tall people will find they can only sit on the loo sideways) and the bathroom is a bit too dimly lighted; the mini-hoover didn't work; the TV channels were limited and the picture quality poor; no lift; no air-con (but keeping the sash windows open seemed to do the trick). For those who can't live without a maid, room service, on-site restaurants, gym etc., you need to look elsewhere, but if you're budget conscious, not bothered about rip-off restaurants and staying in London for a few days, this is a very good economic option for central London (we paid £98 per night for four nights).

Room Tip: Stairs are steep and there's no lift, so think about that. Lower level rooms may be a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    991
    306
    109
    68
See reviews for
218
1,109
152
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a studio room with a patio. The room is not large however was clean and tidy and had kitchen facilities for cooking. The apartment complex has a number of self service washing machines and dryers available for use. The apartments are located within easy walking distance to supermarkets, cafes, St Pancreas train station and the British Museum. The only annoyances we experienced was the room we stayed in on the lower level had quite a bit of noise from the apartment/s above. Could hear people walking around and chairs being moved early morning and late evening each day. Also, the apartments are not serviced during a 6 night stay which is fine however, it would have been nice if management had provided additional fresh towels and toiletries in the room on arrival as I'm not sure many people enjoy having to use the same towel 6 days in a row!! Overall however we enjoyed out stay and would consider returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a larger room with patio or balcony as rooms in general a quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studios2Let, Front Office Manager at Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,


We take all feedback seriously and where possible make the necessary changes and we were deeply disappointed to hear that you found our accommodation and service below standard.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologies for any inconvenience cause during your stay and we would also like to address the issues raised.

On your first stay, as per our records you have been staying in a superior studio which is 15 square meters in size and is of an identical size to the studio that you stayed on your second booking. Due to the layout of the building the shape of the studio might not be the same but the size is. If a guest is dissatisfied with the allocated studio and this is reported to the reception we always try our best to allocate a different studio. We take great measures trying to ensure our guests satisfaction and if there has been a request on the booking form to be located on a lower floor we would have done our utmost best to accommodate your needs. We are a listed building and sadly we are not allowed to install a lift however we have a porter 24hr to help with guest’s luggage.

With regards to the maintenance visit we do regret the inconvenient timing but it was necessary in order to ensure that all our guests can enjoy the air-conditioning system especially during this unexpected heat wave. Because of the high turnover of guests we left a notice on the main door to each building as well as corridor door in every floor.


Again we would like to apologies that you had a negative experience, and hope that we would be able to accommodate you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Studios2Let Serviced Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent three nights in a "large studio". I think this means large for London. You know it's not large when the double bed sits next to the wall and one person has to exit from the foot of the bed.
The advantage of the apartment was its location - five minutes walk to St Pancras/Kings Cross and five decent pubs, coffee shops, restaurants, market and laundrette all within 5 minutes walk. A 10 minute walk to Oxford St. It was very clean and well-furnished given the limited space. The towels were a bit tired and the bathroom, whilst functional, was the smallest I've ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed for one night and we were really impressed. Well laid out and equipped Really convenient location. We had a studio with a terrace which was well worth the extra. It was much better than a standard hotel room. The average sleep rating relates to a rather uncomfortable mattress. This studio was excellent value for money and we will certainly stay on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiefan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights. Great location. Near Eurostar trains and two underground stations. Many eateries to chose from. The Brunswick is an apartment complex which boasts a variety of stores and restaurants as well as the Waitrose Supermarket. Bathroom is small (to be expected for Europe) but clean and excellent water pressure in the shower. We stayed in a room in the basement and it was very quiet and cozy. Laundry facilities a big plus. If staying less than a week, you must take your own trash out and clean your own room. Nice courtyard area. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsyS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Central London at a reasonable price and aren't too bothered about the luxuries of room service and breakfast, this is a real winner. I got a great deal on booking.com and saved about £90 choosing this place over a regular hotel, which probably wouldn't have been as nice. I had already planned a theatre trip and meal out for my other half's birthday so was looking for a decent room in Central London that wouldn't blow my budget completely.The room was a reasonable size, very clean, with a great little kitchen kitted out with all the essentials, plus good bathroom with a fantastic range of toiletries. The rooms are well furnished, not with the most expensive furniture in the world but perfectly adequate for a city break. Our only trouble was that housekeeping came into our room at about 8am by accident, but were very apologetic and it was soon forgotten about - the staff are very helpful and welcoming. A great alternative to a generic hotel.

Room Tip: Check booking.com and similar sites for a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfbayley91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the first leg of our journey to Bruges. Location was perfect for catching the eurostar early the next morning. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of our room which was located on the second floor after having read many other reviews criticizing this. There was plenty of space for our luggage but I can see that for longer stays this might become a problem. The studio was very clean and had plenty of added extras including a toothbrush and toothpaste which was a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerSharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#251 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#415 of 1,069 in London
718 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#312 of 1,069 in London
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens

Property: Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Address: 36 - 37 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 874 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments is a recently renovated and modernized property located in the heart of Bloomsbury. All apartments have en suite bathrooms. Furnished and fully fitted with flat screen TVs and DVD players, safe box, bathroom amenities, beautifully designed kitchens, fully equipped with all modern appliances including top of the range ovens, microwaves and fridge/freezer. All our studios come with double mattresses and our luxury bed linens will ensure a comfortable sleep. Other facilities welcome pack, free internet, over 30 TV channels (including selection of Sky channels) 24 hour Concierge Service and CCTV, laundry room, Fob key entry system, roof terrace and communal garden and lounge, weekly maid service. Location: Studios2Let is ideally located in the heart of Bloomsbury. • For the discerning connoisseur of fine foods there is a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. • For shoppers, Brunswick Centre, Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Rd, Marylebone High St, Covent Garden and Camden Market are all a short stroll away. • A wide selection of public gardens and gymnasium on our doorstep. • The British Museum and the British Library are both within 5 minutes walk.• Tennis enthusiasts can gain access to the tennis courts opposite the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios 2 Let Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing