We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbearably noisy on the ground floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Ranked #31 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in the smallest type of apartment which was perfectly adequate, and very intelligently designed so that it didn't feel cramped. Service was faultless, and the whole place was spotless, particularly the bathroom which gleamed! All the fittings were new and fresh, the shower was very good, and the bed was of a good standard.

However, my room was on the ground floor facing the street, the single-glazed sash windows don't fit very well, and the blinds are paper-thin. The result was that the room was flooded with light from the street, the noise from sirens and passing groups of laughing people was unbearable, and I slept no more than two hours. I realise that this is central London, but the combination of the poorly fitting windows, the awful blinds, and the fact that it was a Friday night, sadly spoiled what could have been a very pleasant stay. Obviously this place can't change its location, but it should address the noise and light problems, the latter of which could be solved easily by investing in proper blackout blinds.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side and the ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flupsybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
There are newer reviews for Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in a standard studio flat at this hotel during February 2013. Spotlessly clean studio, comfortable double bed, excellent free wi-fi service (which I made good use of when working from the flat). The bathroom was small and the shower cubicle very small - it was a tight squeeze for me at a slim 5'7 so anyone taller / bigger would have a problem fitting in - but the water was lovely and hot. If I was staying with my partner I'd probably look at a room the next size up - the standard studio was fine for one but may be a squeeze for two - though simply as a place to sleep it would be fine. The kitchen area has a good size fridge and freezer plus microwave and oven - in fact everything you need to make yourself at home. Good location, close to both St Pancras station and Russell Square tube station, lots of places to eat nearby or there's a Waitrose and Tesco Express within walking distance if you want to cook for yourself. There are no lifts but a member of staff carried my suitcase up to my studio - but if you have mobility problems then this hotel is probably not for you. When you check out they are happy to keep you baggage for the rest of the day if you want to explore London before heading on home, which is very useful. As mentioned, this is close to mainline / tube stations but if you're happy to walk then Covent Garden is just over a mile south and Camden Lock and market is 1.5 miles north. This is also a great location if you have relatives staying at any of the hospitals around Queen Square as it's only half a mile away. Only downside was that atlhough it's in a quiet location, the windows aren't double glazed and don't close completely, which means that if you're at the front of the building as I was, you can hear traffic and people walking by, including their conversations, late at night. That said, if I need to stay in London again this will be my first choice for location, cleanliness and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter. If you're a couple, you may prefer a larger room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy_Yarnell_Petts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having been shocked at the extortionate Premier Inn rates, I took a punt on these guys. No regrets! Their apartments are modern, well equipped and very reasonable. Their proximity to Euston Station and the Tube make them ideal for central London jaunts, and the delightful little Cartwright Garden crescent is charming ... so is the Lord Russell pub. Just beware that the stairs can be quite a climb if you choose the smallest appartment; oxygen may be required!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sidney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 2/8/13 - 2/10/13. I found this hotel to be an excellent value for the money.

Pros
- Location is 2 blocks from St Pancras Station. You can take the train from Heathrow to St Pancras, catch the Eurostar into France, or any number of local trains to get anywhere in London
- Quiet street with a small park directly across the street
- Excellent for a multi-night stay for a couple or 3 people
- Comes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, and even a stove. All utensils, and a small sink make this perfect for eating in
- Small bar top for work or eating
- Cozy bedding
- Free WiFi

Cons
- Might be a little small for a family
- Narrow staircases make bringing large or multiple bags to your space a bit of a task
- No idea of what the parking situation is

Cool little loft type space, very clean and cozy. Quiet! With the number of spaces they have I was worried it might be a little noisy. Its a little on the small side for more than 2 adults and 1 child but the layout for my room was functional. A traveling couple would really enjoy this room. The staff was very helpful. The area is very nice, and accessible to the rest of the city.

Room Tip: Check out Mabels Tavern around the corner. A little spendy but lots of TV's with some sort of Ru...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are arriving at Kings Cross, St Pancras or Euston Stations this is just a few minutes walk away so very handy. We opted for a larger double room and the size of it was fine. The bathroom was very small but similar size to other places we've stayed in London. Room was very clean and there were some extra little touches like tea, coffee, biscuits, shampoo, conditioner, disposable toothbrush and razor that we didn't expect. Although there were a few lumps and bumps in the bed it didn't really stop us sleeping. Apart from hearing an odd door opening and shutting the part we were in was very quiet.(we did have a room at the back). Avoided sitting beside the windows in our room as there was a big draught coming in. Also thought the staircase in the part we were in was a bit tatty. Not the best first impression but on the whole it wasn't bad. Would have maybe liked an information sheet in our room with things like how to use the safe, where to assemble in the case of a fire, shops and restaurants round about. Good place to stay for people who like to be totally independent as nobody bothers you.
We really liked the area. There were quite a lot of small shops and also a larger shopping centre (Brunswick Shopping Centre) along Marchmont Street. This had a Waitrose, cinema, shops and restaurants. We ate out each night locally (a pub called the Marquis Cornwallis, Nando's and the Gormet Burger Kitchen). Enjoyed them all.

Room Tip: Larger double rooms are fine for two people and a room at the back is quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved loved loved this place. Great location easy travel location. Russell Sq and St Pancreas stations all within walking distance. The back yard was a very nice surprise we used it to have a nitecap or two.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed 12 nights. room was small but clean,cheery, safe, staff very helpfull ! plenty of hot water great beds toaster coffee pot! blow dryer! everything u need! charming surroundings russel square station 5 mins in 1 direction st. pancrus 5 mins in the other..plenty of pubs n stores n restraunts.. cant wait to go back!!! had room 10 amd 11 no complaints.great wifi connection.. nice fridge for pops and milk and cold cuts helped keep food costs down. the staff helped us with everything they were wonderful! from directions to extra coffee in r room...lol this place gets an A plus!! its an unbelievable value!

Room Tip: u could hear a pin drop slept like babies!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen8729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
1,757 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#427 of 1,072 in London
729 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens

Address: 36 - 37 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $109 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments is a recently renovated and modernized property located in the heart of Bloomsbury. All apartments have en suite bathrooms. Furnished and fully fitted with flat screen TVs and DVD players, safe box, bathroom amenities, beautifully designed kitchens, fully equipped with all modern appliances including top of the range ovens, microwaves and fridge/freezer. All our studios come with double mattresses and our luxury bed linens will ensure a comfortable sleep. Other facilities welcome pack, free internet, over 30 TV channels (including selection of Sky channels) 24 hour Concierge Service and CCTV, laundry room, Fob key entry system, roof terrace and communal garden and lounge, weekly maid service. Location: Studios2Let is ideally located in the heart of Bloomsbury. • For the discerning connoisseur of fine foods there is a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. • For shoppers, Brunswick Centre, Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Rd, Marylebone High St, Covent Garden and Camden Market are all a short stroll away. • A wide selection of public gardens and gymnasium on our doorstep. • The British Museum and the British Library are both within 5 minutes walk.• Tennis enthusiasts can gain access to the tennis courts opposite the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios 2 Let Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing