We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 4 nights”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #557 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic 4 nights”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in June 2009. We arrived the hotel in the morning, but it wasn't a problem to leave our luggages there until we can get our room. The staff was really nice during our 4 days, and the room was more than expected. It was very clean and modern.
The hotel has a good location, the Earl's Court tube station (zone 1) is only 1 minute walk.
They have internet access and wi-fi in the hotel. The breakfast is continental.
We recommend the hotel for everyone. It's a nice hotel with nice staff, good price and location. Next time we travel to London, I definitely will stay here.
A family from Hungary

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    308
    113
    26
    18
See reviews for
189
173
61
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

The Amsterdam Hotel is, as many have said here, a delightful surprise. I have stayed in many London hotels and rarely have I found one as clean (THE top priority for me), friendly and accommodating. My room was handy for the garden and, since it was a sunny day, I was able to take my cup of tea and sit under the shade of the trees, working on my laptop. Shower, bed, TV, kettle etc all perfect. Will certainly try to stay next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusticHedgeRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylQ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed in suite 7 and found it clean and very comfortable. The only disappointment was the chairs in the lounge - the springs were broken and the seats were very uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast room staff equally friendly and efficient. The breakfast was adequate and we never had to wait for a table. The location to the tube and the buses was perfect as well access to restaurants and shops. I will definately stay there again as our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylQCapetonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Chose the Amsterdam Hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, as required a hotel at a reasonable price that was in close proximity to the Chelsea Flower Show and were not disappointed.

Having arrived at Heathrow, it was a simple matter of just catching the Tube, as the hotel is ideally situated on the Picadilly line, hence did not necessitate any train changes. The room was of a good size, nicely furnished and was extremely clean with the only issue being at times the water pressure (toilet / shower) was intermittantly lacking but was not a major concern. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

A continental breakfast was provided which was basic but adequate, with the option to request a cooked breakfast the night before, if so desired (Note: Breakfast room is on the small side and at times there was a slight wait, although hotel was totally booked out at time of our visit). Hotel also offers free internet service with printer access which was quite beneficial.

All in all, the Amsterdam Hotel offers good value for money and would certainly stay there when next visiting London.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much and are due to stay again this weekend. I was fascinated that both of the bad reviewers didn't even stay at the Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenearring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ach139
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

While the Amsterdam Hotel is not in an ideal neighborhood for tourists visiting London, there's not a lot to see in Earl's Court aside from a couple decent bars in the immediate area...It's location puts it at literally a minute's walk to the Earl's Court Tube Station, so using Hotel Amsterdam as a "base" for exploring London via the Underground is perfect.

The hotel staff is pleasant enough, though I have to question their general competancy as the desk person had no idea how their laundry service worked, and could not for the life of him manage to connect an inbound call to my room...And the clerk who checked me out wound up missing the phone charges on the first attempt at billing (BTW, make sure you have them bill you in Pounds and not dollars to avoid losing money on the coversion rate).

The "rooms" are actually suites that have an apartment like feel to them, my suite had a bedroom, bathroom, and little kitchen with a sink and a mini-fridge that I stocked up from the local Tesco down the block. It's quite spacious and the windows look out onto the street.

The cleaning staff do a very thorough job of keeping the rooms clean, though their insistence on getting into the room to clean it, even if you're dead tired and sleeping off a hangover is a bit of a nuisance. :)

The Internet access speeds are decent via the hotel's wireless service, but I found it a bit of a nuisance that I was continuously prompted to authenticate by their proxy server.

The only real complaints I have about the Hotel Amsterdam are related to the plumbing and telephones...

The hotel apparently doesn't have sufficient water pressure to all the rooms, so they've installed a pump that kicks in whenever you turn the water on...This pump is fairly quiet, but can be heard distinctly from anywhere in the suite...To compound this, I found that the toilet needed to be "primed" before it would flush...Basically I had to repeatedly push the handle down until enough pressure had been built up to allow a proper flush...Very weird experience for me. And lastly there was a phantom water puddle that would appear in the bathroom after I took a shower or used the sink for any length of time...This wasn't a matter of me spilling water, as it would appear, as if by magic, about 30 minutes after I was done and out of the room. I can only conclude that there was a leak in the connection between the pump used to provide pressure and the room's water heater, and that as the heater tank was refilled, the water would seep up through the floor...This would explain the slight smell of mildew I encountered when entering the stairwell up to the room. i dealt with the issue by using one of the towels the cleaning staff provide each morning (they're VERY generous with towels which is a big plus) to be on permanent mop-up duty during my stay, and it really had no major impact on my opinion of the room.

The telephones won't be an issue for anyone with a GSM phone who's bought a local SIM card, or who has International Roaming enabled through their service provider, but it was a pain for me...The call quality was terrible. The big problem was a great deal of background hiss on the line, which was probably a problem with the handset itself, as playing with the wires yeilded varying degrees of enhanced clarity.

The complimentary breakfasts are nice, if a bit spartan (croissant, toast, yogurt, milk, and juice), and you'll need to fight for space at a table in dinig room, as they fill up fairly quickly.

The hotel also gives you complimentary access to a printer attached to one of their two guest computers, but you may find yourself waiting to get access.

All in all, this was an interesting hotel, it would be ideal for business travelers on a medium length trip, a small family traveling on a budget, a group of travelers who don't mind sharing accomodations and splitting the bill, but it's probably not ideal for single travelers looking for a place to crash (too big and expensive) or a couple looking for a bit of romance (service is lacking and the location isn't ideal).

As I said, the hotel staff seem a bit iffy to me, they were pleasant and helpful, they just didn't seem well trained or fully interested in their work.

All that having been said, I would recommend the Hotel Amsterdam to anyone looking for a fairly comfortable room on a budget in London. The location, space provided, and cleanliness of the rooms all combine to make it a good value in spite of the odd shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ach139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Good location, literally one minute walk from Earl's Court Underground station, reasonably priced by London standards (£84 for a single room), friendly staff, room very tight but very clean and well maintained, couldn't get breakfast as the breakfast room was full, overall a good hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishManinNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#590 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#685 of 1,067 in London
951 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#534 of 1,067 in London
435 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,067 in London
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#325 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing