We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Earls Court tube station”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #618 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has very friendly and very helpful staff. They are very keen to help with whatever you need. The room is tiny but it is the price you pay for location. You are just 2mins from the tube station and 5mins from a 24hr TESCO. The room is very clean and bed is comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is also very good. The ony disappointing thing is the walls are very thin and you can hear the people in the room beside you. We had a room looking out onto the street and it was very quiet. We had a balcony but you could not sit outside.

Room Tip: You do not hear the road traffic in the upstairs rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 654 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was a little disappointed for the price we paid for this hotel. While it is in a good location and very close to the tube and on the quieter side of the tube station - the room we had was just too close to the street and next to the front reception area and you could hear everything. We stayed in Room #4 which is a family room. The rooms are very dated, but are clean. Carpet in the rooms look very old and worn. Bathrooms are dated, but clean and has good water pressure and lots of hot water. The loft had two twin beds and it was very hot up there. When we opened the windows, we could smell the cigarette smoke from people smoking outside, since the windows are right by the area where people will smoke.

Pros
*clean rooms
*bathroom clean - plenty of hot water and good water pressure
*location
*staff friendly
*lots of restaurants to choose from in the area
*English breakfast provided every morning
*free wifi
*has a lift

Cons
*room 4 shares wall with front reception so you can hear EVERYTHING
*luggage holding area is by room 4 so there was luggage in the hall or near our door, every day
*rooms are very dated
*carpet old and worn
*if you want eggs and bacon with your breakfast, they want you to pay an additional five pounds - you can find a hotel that will provide the full English Breakfast without charging you

You can find a better hotel for the cost; I understand that this is in a prime location, but the place is surrounded by so many other hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't take Room #4 - you share a wall with the front reception area, you can hear luggage rollin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Amsterdam the night before going to Chelsea Flower Show, we wanted a hotel that was within easy access to the show without costing a fortune. Bingo ! The hotel is 300 yards from Earls Court tube station, as we walked into the hotel we were greeted with big smiles from the receptionist, the room was on the first floor front with a balcony, very clean and comfortable, continental breakfast was included - fresh coffee, toast, fruit, cereal, etc - ideal for the start of a busy day ahead. A really good find for future London trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan-Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Amsterdam hotel is in a great location near to Earls Court Road and tube station. We were greeted by friendly staff. The hotel and room was very clean and the room had a balcony overlooking the garden at the rear - no access available to garden.
However the walls are very thin, to the extent that we could hear the light switch for the bathroom in the room next door being turned on. The double beds were on the small side and the room itself very cramped.
Breakfast was basic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MairGravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a small three star hotel just beside Earls Court underground station. It is bright and clean and the staff particularly Barbara and Kamran are excellent, so polite, friendly and helpful. For a short stay in London this hotel offers good value for money and was a very pleasurable stay.

Mary

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnneClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

In my rush to make an appointment at the Embassy, having driven 250 miles from outside of London, it was great to find the Amsterdam Hotel so very close to Earls Court tube station. Barbara, the hotel receptionist was VERY friendly and very accomodating. She kindly held our luggage for our check-in later in the day and directed us to the closest car park in the area. When we came back later in the day, Barbara made sure that the room was ready for us. It was very clean and nicely designed in a colourful and feminine style. The room size was adequate as was the bathroom. Unfortunately the bathroom smelled like years of cigarette butts. As I was tired from waking up and driving from 4am, I needed to sleep by 10pm. There were no carpets in the room, just hardwood flooring, which was ok by me, but soon I found out why most hotels use carpets: The room or apartment upstairs was being bounced upon by a herd of rampaging elephants, non-stop. I was going to call reception but with my earplugs in, I fell asleep from exhaustion and didn't get the chance. Breakfast was poor considering the cost of the stay. (Typical Continental with toast, cereal and coffee) The pound cake was nice, but not exactly a healthy morning meal.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the third floor as I'm guessing that loud bouncing children in tapshoes...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElioSegeloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A very nice hotel.Great location just a few steps away from Earl's Court. The rooms are standard size for London, nicely decorated, clean and quiet.The receptionist Barbara is the best receptionist ever, even five stars hotel don't have such receptionist as Barbara!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#387 of 1,072 in London
175 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#582 of 1,072 in London
461 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,072 in London
445 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#461 of 1,072 in London
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#325 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $97 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing