We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value considering peak season”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #579 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Melaka
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fair value considering peak season”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel for 2 days and 1 night in September 2010. We booked the rooms through their website which certainly offered the best deal considering we were coming during London's busiest tourist month.
Rooms are very clean but those facing the street may find it rather noisy during the evening as people come out to eat and drink in pubs near the street. The room was well cleaned and fresh towels were always given.
My one tiny complaint would be breakfast. We were aware that it was continental but we could only have one serving of the croissant bread. The breakfast staff who were foreign students I believe were adamant in that each person in the party could only have one croissant.
All in all, it was a fair value considering the location and it was during peak season.
There is a lift but it is rather small and the ones built in the 1950's/1960's in which one needs to pull the gate first to the end of the wall. My advise for those who are claustrophobic: take the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    309
    113
    27
    19
See reviews for
190
174
61
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Great choice for family. Located next to Tube station that was very convenient for getting to all the tourist areas of town and coming from airport. Staff was very nice. Several pubs and restaurants close by within walking distance. Be careful if you need air conditioning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZBlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We enjoyed our 8 day staying in this cosy hotel. To begin with i`d like to draw your attention that you can believe every word written on the hotel site. The location is excellent. The staff is very friendly. The general manager Judith is extremely helpful and can solve any problem at once. Though the rooms are not so large it didn t prevent from having a nice rest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

At Amsterdam Earl’s Court Hotel, be careful with the Reservation Service, they are dishonest! For instance, if you are obliged to cancel your reservation, here your problems start.
In late December 2010, we cancelled our reservation for 2 rooms 72 hours in advance, via e-mail to reservations@amsterdamhotels.com. This service is dedicated to customer information regarding booking and procedures.
As we did not receive a confirmation of our cancellation, we sent another e-mail to the reservation service. Less than 48 hours before our arrival, when the delay was over..., the hotel answered us that they could not cancel our booking in our place and we have to do it on the hotel website.
Then we were especially upset when we discovered that the hotel charged us – on our credit card - the amount of the first night for our 2 rooms.
Later, our numerous e-mails and telephone call exchanged with the reservation manager came to nothing, showing a total breach of commercial courteousness. There so many other hotels in London!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Great little hotel a little bit older yes, the decor has dated but it all works.
PROs
We had a quiet room number 16 on the fourth floor, not too much street noise at all.
Wonderful location so close to the tube station, many cheap restaurants near by and little supermarkets if you would prefer to buy something for yourself.
Only 20 mins to most london sites located on the picadilly and central district line, which means you can catch the tube to heathrow without changes trains. Makes your life easy and less stressful allowing you to enjoy your holiday.
Free internet and printer.
Little garden out the back of the hotel to escape.
The included breakfast was an easy and cheap way to start the morning.
Cons
Older rooms
Old but comfortable bed
dated decor
no fridge
water pressure low
no airconditioning
small lift or stairs.

weighing the pro's a cons after our 3 day stay I'd stay again for sure, and if not at amsterdam hotel in earls court for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The staff was nice and very helpful. We ( 2adults+2teenagers) had suite 11 (topfloor, with lots of stairs) and it was perfect for us. Free wi-fi , 2bedrooms with doublebeds, fresh and clean bathroom, fresh kitchen with refridgerator and microwave, livingroom with sofas and TV. The breakfast was to poor for our hungry teenagers. Perfect located next to Earls Court tubestation and lots of restaurants in the area. Also easy to reach from Gatwick and Heathrow Airport. Small details like free umbrellas, free safebox in the reception, roomcleaning every day. //Magnus

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monzahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I was delighted to find a room available when I stayed at the Amsterdam but on entry found out why other travellers were absent. The first room was so cold I asked to change immediately; the second wasn't much better but by then I realised the hotel was generally shoddy. The bed was ancient, mattress worn, sheets & covers appeared to be of 1970s vintage. Luckily I had an early flight to catch & was out at 0530hrs. On the positive side the receptionist was very nice, very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_B_McIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#399 of 1,069 in London
164 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#574 of 1,069 in London
457 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#851 of 1,069 in London
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#692 of 1,069 in London
957 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,069 in London
438 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#730 of 1,069 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#325 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing