We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ok for a single traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New England Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New England Hotel
Ranked #961 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok for a single traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

In London, location is everything. The New England is close to Victoria Station which is a real plus. It's also close to Wilton Rd., which has some good restaurants. I was travelling by myself and so it was ok. For a hotel that was recommended by Rick Steve's, I was disappointed. There was nowhere in the room to hang any clothes and no countertops to put things on. The continental breakfast that was included was the same each day - toast, coffee, tea or juice, and cold cereal, served in a depressing little basement room. I want to end on a positive note so I have to say that the hotel was quiet, the bed was comfortable. For a couple of nights, it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    59
    53
    60
See reviews for
54
68
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is near Victoria Station. The hotel was dirty: dirty rooms, stained and dirty covers and carpet. The room was small and there was no place to hang our clothes. Breakfast was standard, served only from 8 to 9, and the croissants were not fresh (probably from the previous day). The man at the reception was disagreeable and not very willing to help and the use of wi fi cost 4 pounds. The hotel even charged to keep you bags for a few hours! I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The walk and location would have been acceptable if the welcome, service, amenities and breakfast were up to basics!! Unfortunately, there are NO redeeming features. The website does not mention the breakfast is 'continental' but even this misnomer doesn't cover it. You get a cup of tea/coffee with milk and sugar to taste, toast and jam and/or cereal and milk and a pastry!!! Couldn't digest the bread it was too pulpy - didn't bother on 2nd morning - went elsewhere. Not much evidence of cleaning- lots of DNA samples from previous visitors in evidence!! Yuch!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - we asked for a quiet room and were put in a room with the only window faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the New England Hotel in Victoria for 4 nights, and overall it was a pleasant stay.

Pros:

- The location. Situated just off Eccleston Square, its a 10 minute walk to Victoria station, which is pretty much central to everywhere in London.
- The beds in the room are quite comfortable.
- LOCATION LOCATION.

Cons:

- NO FREE Wi-Fi. The cost of one hour of Wi-Fi is 4 GBP, quite pricey.
- Breakfast is quite poor. No variation whatsoever.

Overall: A recommended stay if you're not looking for pampering. Just a solo traveler looking for a decent stay,

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

n a nutshell, prefer to be homeless than staying in this hotel. We went there for two days, we left the place on the first day. The service was awful. We could not even sleep. The bad smell of insecticide, the broken bed and else. We asked for a bed for my pregnant wife and I myself had to bring it to my room. They even haven't help my wife with her bags. In one sentence "DO not waste your money, prefer to sleep in SUBWAY"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saman2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I guess we got what we paid for in a cheap hotel, neither clean nor dirty, Quite small room, too small for 3 beds... Beds were OK, clean sheets each day, service fairly amicable, everything barebones really. The breakfast was the disappointing part. We went shopping for breakfast after the first morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olafur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a nicely located run down, dirty cheap hotel. Rooms were worn out and unmaintained but but in fairness the linen was clean. Staff were friendly enough but the breakfast was awful in every way - food, venue and ware. Would have been worth paying a few quid extra for a better hotel. Suitable for a cheap stag party only.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#607 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Pimlico
Bakers Hotel
Bakers Hotel
#869 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#570 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Pimlico
St George's Inn Victoria
St George's Inn Victoria
#792 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Hotel

Property: New England Hotel
Address: 20 St. George's Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run for over 25 years, fully refurbished Georgian townhouse offering cozy, clean, comfortable, secure accommodation at an affordable price, Non smoking establishment with elevator. Fantastic central location, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, a myriad of Museums, Galleries, West End Theatres are all within easy reach. Only 10 minutes walk from Victoria Rail, Tube & Coach Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England London
Hotel New England
New England Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing