We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location. Just.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New England Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New England Hotel
Ranked #976 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Just.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at the New England Hotel in Victoria for 4 nights, and overall it was a pleasant stay.

Pros:

- The location. Situated just off Eccleston Square, its a 10 minute walk to Victoria station, which is pretty much central to everywhere in London.
- The beds in the room are quite comfortable.
- LOCATION LOCATION.

Cons:

- NO FREE Wi-Fi. The cost of one hour of Wi-Fi is 4 GBP, quite pricey.
- Breakfast is quite poor. No variation whatsoever.

Overall: A recommended stay if you're not looking for pampering. Just a solo traveler looking for a decent stay,

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    60
    56
    61
See reviews for
56
70
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

n a nutshell, prefer to be homeless than staying in this hotel. We went there for two days, we left the place on the first day. The service was awful. We could not even sleep. The bad smell of insecticide, the broken bed and else. We asked for a bed for my pregnant wife and I myself had to bring it to my room. They even haven't help my wife with her bags. In one sentence "DO not waste your money, prefer to sleep in SUBWAY"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saman2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Reykjavik
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I guess we got what we paid for in a cheap hotel, neither clean nor dirty, Quite small room, too small for 3 beds... Beds were OK, clean sheets each day, service fairly amicable, everything barebones really. The breakfast was the disappointing part. We went shopping for breakfast after the first morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olafur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a nicely located run down, dirty cheap hotel. Rooms were worn out and unmaintained but but in fairness the linen was clean. Staff were friendly enough but the breakfast was awful in every way - food, venue and ware. Would have been worth paying a few quid extra for a better hotel. Suitable for a cheap stag party only.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The outside of the hotel is acceptable, the location of the hotel to all the transport links at Victoria is very good, the area very pleasant and moderately quiet. I might add the beds were comfortable and the bedclothes clean and fresh as were the towels provided.

Well that's the good bit. We were introduced to the reception staff, who explained about signing in, how to use the door key on the room doors and the front door. There was also explanation of the breakfast times, and that the breakfast was continental and by observation not bad, it was a shame that the breakfast room was not large enough when the hotel became populated.

However, it was immediately noticeable that a visit from the hotel inspector as seen on the TV would not go amiss. The carpets were threadbare on the edges of the stair carpet, which would eventually cause is health hazard. All of the paintwork seen was chipped, scratched and damaged, the stair hand rail was loose, and on entering the room it was noted that there was a thick layer of dust all over the place, high up on the picture rail and on top of the skirting boards, windowsills etc. The radiator in the bathroom was very rusty and the furniture and fittings had seen better days. It was also noted that one of the light switches on the headboard had a gap around it which a child might explore and suffer an electric shock.

I understand that the lower end of the hotel market are not always up to the standards of a three star rating, but this was disgusting. We did not bother to complain direct to reception as it was obvious from previous customers that the situation we encountered was the norm for this establishment.

Never again. Not recommended. Lesson learnt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Only a 2 night stay thankfully in this run down, very dirty "hotel"

Most surfaces covered in a layer of dust, picture rails the worst with probably about 10 years worth.

The net curtain was a slightly lighter shade of black with part of it missing.

The Yellow Pages in the room dated back to 2006, the same time the room was properly cleaned I reckon.

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

stayed here October was my first time to London, it isn't the greatest hotel in the world and you will definatley get better value for the facilities you get but location wise cant fault it at all, 10 mins walk from Victoria station and just a short walk from Buckingham palace. Stayed in a double room on 2nd floor looking out onto the road, was a bit dated but have stayed in worse, there was a nice flat screen tv in room and towels were changed daily, didnt avail of the breakfast as was on a bit early, would stay in again, but could do with a bit of investment to make it a top class hotel.

Room Tip: Double room on 2nd floor looking out to main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simondub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#511 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#742 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#642 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Pimlico
St George's Inn Victoria
St George's Inn Victoria
#673 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Pimlico
Bakers Hotel
Bakers Hotel
#939 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Hotel

Property: New England Hotel
Address: 20 St. Georges Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #976 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run for over 25 years, fully refurbished Georgian townhouse offering cozy, clean, comfortable, secure accommodation at an affordable price, Non smoking establishment with elevator. Fantastic central location, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, a myriad of Museums, Galleries, West End Theatres are all within easy reach. Only 10 minutes walk from Victoria Rail, Tube & Coach Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England London
Hotel New England
New England Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing