We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Inn
Ranked #688 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
2 reviews
“gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Victoria Inn for 5 nights (29/11/2013)From the moment of our arrival at the hotel until our departure the staff were helpful and friendly. It is a pleasure to be greeted with a smile and a few words .The room was fine very, clean and the bathroom also perfect. The breakfast was good with a choice of cereals ,fruit ,eggs, sausages ,toast ect ;
Ideal for giving you energy for your days out .I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast as I had read in other reports that breakfast was scarce (made me wonder what they eat at home)The situation is ideal ,A short walk to Victoria (ideal for the Gatwick express) You can easily walk to the city centre taking in many sights on the way. I can highly recommend this hotel and want to thank the staff for making our visit enjoyable.We wish them all a Merry Christmas and a healthy New Year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie2926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and I have most certainly passed your good wishes to the staff.

We very much hope you will be able to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    286
    237
    75
    79
See reviews for
178
240
64
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the Victoria Inn Hotel for 5 nights in November. Location of hotel is excellent, its a 15 minute walk to Victoria Station and 5 mins walk from Pimlico Tube Station so very central. Also bus no. 24 goes by every couple of minutes, even in the evening.

Breakfast in the morning was basic. The room were it is served was quite small and the quality of the food basic. Food supplies were not lacking, however I was disappointed to see that for example with the toast, no ham/salami were offered and cheese slices were only available during the weekend so one had to contend with either plain toast just with butter or jam.

I had a single room, which was on the small side, but adequate if you only use the hotel as a base to change/shower/sleep. It was very clean. I asked for a room at the back of the hotel and on a higher floor after reading previous reviews. Only glitch was that like all properties in London, walls and doors are paper thin, so I could hear fellow guests coming and going all night as well as my neighbour snoring to his heart's content at night. I would also suggest you avoid the rooms on the same level as the breakfast room (-1 floor) as it does get very noisy in the morning.

The shower in the room was a nightmare. One has to spend 5 minutes cowering in the corner until the running cold water warms up a bit. There was no in-between setting on the weird tap either, which meant that you either had to shower with freezing water or scalding water. Also the shower head/water pressure meant that the first thing that happened on opening the water was water spraying all over your face/hair. This may sound petty at face value, but was the most frustrating aspect of my stay and I ended up with blotches on my skin where I got scalded as well as soaking hair each day.

On the whole, receptionists were very courteous and helpful, especially the older gentleman who went out of his way to be nice and offer his assistance. He is an asset to the hotel.

After reading reviews of other hotels. some of which verged on the very worrying, I would probably stay at the Victoria Inn again, by which time they would hopefully have settled their shower issue.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel and on higher floors, preferably from the 1st floor upwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
On receipt of your review I arranged for the maintenance department to look at the shower in your room.

It is a great pity you did not mention this during your stay as the shower head just needed a clean through, as, especially in hard water areas the heads can become blocked.

We clean them all periodically but some block up more frequently than others. The shower is now fine.

We have now included sausages and scrambled eggs to our continental breakfast menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good location, easy to get to Buckingham Palace, Westminster area by foot, close to Victoria station so very convenient for Gatwick express. Hotel is clean and tidy and staff pleasent. Rooms are on the small side, even the tripple room we booked, but if your going to be out and about most of the time, this shouldn't be an issue. A lot of amenities (shops, restaurants etc) close by. Best for couples & singles, would advise against families with young children ( as we were) due to lack of space and other faciltiies. Wasn't cheap however.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Very pleased you liked the location and trust you enjoyed your sightseeing of London.

The prices are very reasonable taking into account where Victoria Inn is situated.

We do also have family rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our room was behind reception so a little noisy when people were checking in as the walls are very thin. The room was clean but very basic considering we paid over a hundred pounds for the night. Our biggest disappointment is we only had one pillow each and when I asked reception they told me there were no more!!! I'm glad we were there for one night only.

Room Tip: Not behind reception and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
The price of the room was for a double and also included breakfast. Considering the location this is actually a very good price.

I am not sure whether there was a misunderstanding regarding spare pillows. All spare bedding is kept in the room in a vacuum pack bag. Reception may have thought you had already used these but your review does not specifiy this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Not having been in London for over a year we were somewhat anxious having read some terrible reviews re various hotels. Booked the Victoria Inn because of its proximity to Whitehall - we were mixing business and pleasure. The reception staff were extremely helpful and our room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate and the next time we are back we will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLoverofItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I trust the business aspect of your trip was as good as you describe your stay at Victoria Inn?

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place betrays its guests by overcharging them systematically. How? If you come from the Eurozone and pay by Credit Card, they force you to pay in Euros, not in British Pounds - and they charge an extra commission for that.

When I arrived at the hotel on 11 november at 11pm, I was asked to confirm the Credit Card payment in Euros. There are a lot of hotels in Great Britain that are offering this kind of payment - but they give you the choice to pay in (Credit Card) Euros or (Credit Card) Pounds. As it is always more expensive to pay in Euros, I always pay in Pounds (as the payment is automatically converted into Euros anyway, but then. at a lower rate).

I told the reception that I wanted to pay in (Credit Card) Pounds. But they did not let me do so. The receptionist told me I had no choice but to pay in Euros - and that all of their Eurozone guests had to pay in Euros.

Why that? As you will see on your receipt they Charge you and "Exchange Rate Mark-Up of 3,50 %" for the "Currency Conversion Provided by Elavon Merchant Services". This may not sound like a lot (8 Euros in my case) - but if the hotel does this with hundreds of customers, they make some Extra Thousand Pounds.

The place itself is not worth it, either. It is worn, rooms are smallish, breakfast is poor. There are lots of better places in London. If you have any choice, avoid this place by all means.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WonderfulWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
With regard to the general review, all guests are entitled to their opinion but you only have to look at the vast amount of reviews to determine that this opinion is very much at kilter with them.

With regard to the payment saga. There is a set procedure - The banking machine gives the guest the option as to which currency they wish to pay. When the guest has made this decision, he/she then verifies the transaction themselves with a PIN. This procedure was followed in this guest's case.

I can catergorically confirm that the hotel does NOT get a commission, and it is wrong for the guest to suggest otherwise.

We have also responded to the guest's agent that was used for the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Braine L'alleud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

As soon as you walk in the Victoria Inn, you are warmly greeted and the cheerfulness of the reception staff continued throughout our stay.

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and, although the rooms are quite small, everything is clean and comfortable. It would be better, however, if they gave milk in little pots on the hospitality tray instead of creamer as this really does not go with tea.

The hotel is just a short walk from Pimlico Tube station - 20 minutes on the Victoria Line to Kings Cross/St Pancras with plenty of connections to other lines. Pimlico is much less of a scrum than Victoria which is currently a bit of a building site outside.

The breakfast room in the basement is small and easily gets crowded but the breakfast itself (juice, croissants, bread rolls, do-it-yourself toast, hard-boiled eggs, cheese slices, scrambled eggs, baked beans and assorted cereals) is perfectly adequate.

There are loads of restaurants in the neighbourhood. This time we ate in Grumbles, Pimlico Tandoori and The Marquis of Westminster - all just a few minutes' walk away and all good.

Next time we go to London, we will not be spending hours on the Internet looking for a hotel - the Victoria Inn will do just fine!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#533 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#520 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#259 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#614 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#606 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: 65-67 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff, set in elegant building dating from 1850 in a conservation area; located near Victoria Station.Welcome to the Victoria Inn London. This B&B in London offers cheap accommodation in Central London with the right combination of quality and affordability. When selecting hotels in Central London, location is important. Our hotel offers cheap accommodation situated close to Victoria Underground Railway and Coach Stations. British Airways Terminal and Gatwick Express are both at Victoria. From Victoria Station, all of London is within easy reach. If searching for hotels in Paddington, it is ideal to be near the attractions you plan to visit. Whether you want to see Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, Albert Hall or shop at Harrods and on Oxford Street, our Bed and Breakfast in London Victoria is the perfect choice. Our hotel is near Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Tate Modern, Tate Gallery and famous theatres and restaurants are all within walking distance. The famous shopping destinations of Oxford Street and Harrods are located a short distance away, which makes our hotel one of the most convenient London hotels for holiday travellers.Our hotel has 43 well furnished rooms with WiFi facility. We offer more options than many other hotels in Paddington, from cheap rooms to comfortable luxurious rooms to provide accommodations to fit every budget. The rooms have amenities such as comfortable beds, hair dryer, colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities, as well as ensuite facilities in each room and elevator lifts to every floor of the hotel.Guests of Victoria Inn London enjoy a complimentary breakfast served each morning that is included in the price of the room. The many nearby restaurants offer lunch and dinner at reasonable charges compared to other locations and hotels in Central London. You can visit all London attractions easily when staying in our hotel.Our rates are affordable all year. Seasonal offers are available at various times of year. When you choose Victoria Inn, you will enjoy the convenience and amenities that are unique for budget hotels in Central London. The friendly staff at Victoria Inn is committed to offering the best service of any cheap accommodation in Central London. Contact us for assistance in booking your reservation at our bed and breakfast in London Victoria, or with any questions or inquiries. We look forward to welcoming you to London and helping you have a memorable stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel London
Victoria Inn London, England
London Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing