We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've stayed in”
Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Inn
Ranked #682 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels of this calibre in London and I am therefore used to having small rooms and few amenities, which is fine for a couple of nights.

However, this one was more than a disappointment. Firstly, where they got 3 stars from is beyond me. I usually stay in similar hotels that are 2 star properties and they are much nicer than this.

Reason for poor review:
- walls so thin that you could here the person in the next room snoring
- breakfast was awful - instant coffee and not much else
- but what took the biscuit for me was that the toilet was so close to the wall in the bathroom that it was only suitable for children under 10. Adults have to use it sideways - a first for me...

Avoid. There are much better places on this street for the same cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We welcome all reviews! However, for a guest to complain as you have and not to mention any concerns during your stay is quite unbelievable.

Most of our reviews are very complimentary. Not advising us of your concerns you denied us an opportunity to address and rectify them.

We offer a comprehensive continental breakfast, this is available throughout the breakfast opening hours. Our prices are extremely reasonable, the hotel has recently been refurbished and in a marvelous location.

We would sincerely like to know why you chose not to advise us and would welcome you to contact us to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 825 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is situated along belgrave road in pimlico about 5 mins walk from pimlico tube station. When myself and husband arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant male receptionist. Whilst busy he told us to take a seat and relax..he called me up and asked for our hotel reservation details he said he wasn't sure if the room was ready just then, but he did go and enquire and said that it was, so we both went to our room situated through a near by door.ideal for my husband as he has mobility issues..never the less the hotel does have a lift. when entering the room it was quite small with very small ensuite bathroom...but very clean with adequate supplies of tea and coffee and tv and towels for two nights. The room seemed to be cleaned every day and all staff are very helpful and very polite..in the morning it was a little noisy as people start to vacate the rooms and cleaners are doing their work..but our room was based behind the main reception floor..breakfast is continental based and plenty of it....tea coffee machine, fresh juice, toast, croissants, cereals, boiled eggs, food is always being topped up and staff very attentive. The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained...all staff very pleasant and helpful..if I went to London again I would definetely stay here again..

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room on the reception floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy4142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to London for a 3 day break in April for my mum's birthday. The price of the hotel was really good, the rooms were clean and foyer staff pleasant.
The one thing which let is down was the breakfast. The room was too small for all the visitors and even though it was only continental there was limited choice. Also, we went down for breakfast at 8.00am on the Saturday and the retaurant staff and cleaner got their breakfast sorted before they let us go in, even though it was past 8.00am. These two members of staff were also very rude and unpleasant. I feel in the morning you need someone bright and chirpy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a single room for a job interview. First impressions was that the hotel was on a nice street and looked impressive from the outside. Only a short walk from Victoria and Pimlico tube stations. The room itself was very small but very comfortable and had all of the necessities. Everything was very clean and overall good value for money. I spoke to another candidate at the interview who was also staying there and he said his room was a good size so I could possibly have just had one of the smallest rooms but it wasn't a problem for me. The room was very quiet and I had a good quality of sleep. It's also close to a few pubs and shopping centres so plenty of amenities nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca_toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

If we overbook our single rooms and have a double vacant we will always allocate a double room instead. that is probably why your colleagues room was larger. However, our single rooms, whilst on the smallish size are adequate. Unfortunately older bvuildings such as Victoria Inn did not have built in en-suites so the rooms have been adapted to accommodate these.

I do hope your interview was successful and that we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were there for 2 nights in March. We wanted to stay another night but they were booked so we stayed a few doors down at the Central House--also budget and very nice. The hotel staff was VERY friendly and very helpful. The room was very small, but clean and everything in working order. Coffee maker provided in room. Also, free breakfast was nice. Basic, but enough to keep you full until lunch. Best thing about this hotel is price and location. It is a very easy walk to both Victoria Station and Pimlico station. There are also a lot of pubs and restaurants closeby. The CASK Pub serves great Cask beers and is a few blocks away. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmazur57722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is spotlessly clean and after trying different ones in the Victoria/Pimlico area regularly over the past few weeks, this one is by far the best for the price.

Professional and helpful reception staff, a lift (a rarity in cheaper hotels.) I paid £44 for a single room and it was small, but as expected for the price. At the back of the hotel, it was very quiet and overlooked houses/gardens - you could hear Big Ben chiming which was nice. The room was spotlessly clean and had a proper bathroom (shower not bath) which again seems a rarity in cheaper hotels where they have enclosed plastic toilet/shower spaces.

Any hotels in this area, are in a great location - very close to tube/bus and walkable to most London landmarks. This hotel was very, very good value for money considering how well kept it was, how clean everything was and the professional staff. Breakfast was included but I didn't have any, so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: I had room 31 - small single room at the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLovingBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

A very pleasing review.

It is encouraging that you found the Victoria Inn to be very good value for money. Pity you did not have breakfast but perhaps next time?

Also pleased you liked the presence of Big Ben.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Check in efficient, although I booked a single room I was allocated a large room with double & single bed on the top floor
Bathroom and bedroom basic but clean, bed comfortable with two pillows per bed
Sufficient tea & coffee in the room
Breakfast room in basement, very hot in room, breakfast basic, service a little slow as room was full, tables placed too close together with insufficient room to be seated
Overall a good basic hotel in Victoria, to avoid the crush at Victoria tube, go one stop further and get off at Pimlico station which is the same difference to walk as From Victoria

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you found the dining room crowded. We would all like more space particularly if lots of guests wish to eat at the same time. When the weather allows we do also have a lovely terraced area "Alfresco Dining". In the summer months guests really enjoy eating breakfast on the terrace allowing more space for other guests to eat in the dining room..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#201 of 1,076 in London
634 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#605 of 1,076 in London
464 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#551 of 1,076 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Westminster
Pimlico
Holiday Inn Express London - Victoria
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Address: 65-67 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $62 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Victoria Inn B&B. Conveniently situated in central London, within few minutes walk from Victoria Underground, Rail and Coach Stations and also Pimlico Underground station. A local bus 24 goes to central Trafalgar Square. All the popular tourist spots, London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Harrods, Oxford Street, Tate Gallery, Trafalgar square, Theatres and Parks are easily reached from the hotel. Our hotel was recently refurbished to provide for the modern looks and comfort whilst retaining “Victoria” theme and history. All rooms are air conditioned to provide comfort at all times. We also offer free, fast Wifi in all areas and bedrooms. Our showers provide a thunderstorm of pressure! Enjoy it! Our rooms are clean and comfortable. Our lounge is airy and beautiful to sit and enjoy the world go past! We offer a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for Professional, Businessman and also tourists. You are most welcome to Victoria Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel London
Victoria Inn London, England
London Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing