We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel in London”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #195 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times over the past 5 years. It never disappoints. It's quiet, comfortable and perfectly situated. At first, I was worried the traffic noise as it's situated on the busy Cromwell Road. It's not an issue. Soundproofing in the rooms is first class. Staff are great too. Everyone is helpful and polite. And I just love the breakfasts - continental but filling. And great coffee. All important factors for me. If you want a hotel near to the Hyde Park, the museums and the lovely streets and squares of Kensington, then this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 995 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Ashburn during our first visit to London before and during Christmas time. The hotel staff was friendly, courteous and helpful....very customer oriented. They were always interested in helping us find our way around or locate things we needed in London. The hotel is very near the Gloucester Road tube station and just down the road from the Natural History and Science museums. It offers a great home base for exploring London. Food stores, pubs and a Laundromat are close by as well. My wife thought the room was spacious and had a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evergreenrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This was the second trip my wife and I had made to London. This hotel was10x better than put previous hotel. They have you excellent treatment all the way from watching out luggage when we arrived, to booking a show for us, to giving us a glass of champagne after the champagne our was over. It is definitely the little things that make the experience worthwhile. No it wasn't the most extravagant hotel I stayed in, it was the best treatment I have ever received. They can expect a repeat customer.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Travis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

London hotels tend to be pricey and the rooms are generally tiny in the nicer neighborhoods, so the price was the main selling point. It is a cute little clean hotel, but do not expect any of the amenities of larger hotels such as a gym or room service. We arrived on New Year's day and were basically given a menu to order pizza from a nearby restaurant as there was no room service available that day. The menu for room service that was in the room ( which we never used subsequently) is very limited as to choices. The complimentary continental breakfast we had was however excellent. Also on the plus side, the hotel is clean, the beds were comfortable and the room we had was very quiet. Also, the neighborhood was nice and not overrun with tourists as other areas of London tend to be. The hotel is a block from the Gloucester Road subway stop, which is very convenient, and I for one prefer staying in the quieter London neighborhoods rather than say Picadilly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Lovely stay here..but bed was really hard and squint in room 406! Think it was twin beds joined together...not great...lovely and peaceful though despite being on a busy road..very clean room and nice touches...things that let it down would be the carpets on all staircases are a bit grubby and the breakfast area is very cramped.... And the loud classical music...not required! We would go back..but a few extra touches like a shaving mirror...comfy beds...would only enhance the already nice Hotel

Room Tip: Don't choose room 406 for a double bed....twin beds joined together and hard and sloping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JShott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a great hotel. We were upgraded to a deluxe room with 2 tvs, a lovely big bed and a great street view. Water, biscuits and welcome chocolates were a lovely bonus. The concierge could not have been more helpful. We loved the complimentary prosecco in the charming drawing room - we also got free refills! I had a lovely cocktail in this bar for 6.95 which is good for London. The bar had up to date free magazines like grazia and esquire! Breakfast is adequate - yes the room is small but it is quaint and we only had to wait for a very brief period of time on the morning of new year's eve. This is a lovely boutique hotel which employs courteous and friendly staff. An added bonus is that it is just around the corner from gloucester road tube station. We greatly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovestravel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel had a great location, near the Gloucester Road tube station and well situated for those wishing to see various London attractions. Mainly, we would agree with other recent reviews that this hotel is good (esp. for price/location in London, from what we could find -- London is so expensive!!), but not a five star experience. Our hotel room was pretty spacious by UK standards, and we found it to be pretty clean and quiet. One small thing did not work (e.g., side table lamp) but it wasn't a big deal to us. We purchased our hotel nights on Expedia with breakfast included. This ended up being the continental breakfast, which was a pretty good selection of fresh fruit, pastries/bread, cereal/milk, tea/coffee, and a few meats (salami, etc.) and cheeses. (You can add eggs, bacon, etc., individually for a small cost). The breakfast room itself is quite small and cramped, but the servers were very polite and friendly, and the selection of food was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WesternTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#114 of 1,077 in London
765 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,868 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#228 of 1,077 in London
1,424 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $148 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing