We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being with family.”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like being with family.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to London 11 times and have never felt as welcome as we were at the Ashburn. Over the course of 5 days the staff treated us like family, going out of their way to make us feel welcome in their hotel and city. This is a small, boutique-style hotel with rooms slightly larger than most in London. The cleaning staff was so effient the shower glass looked like it had been replaced with new glass each cleaning. They offer a nice selection at breakfast, even their continental offerings are more than enough for a great start to your day. We found the street noise no different that anywhere else you would stay in central London. If you want to feel like you are staying with caring family during your UK visit at a great location, with clean, exceptional service, the Ashburn is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scheskiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    356
    86
    25
    12
See reviews for
125
552
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The road traffic noise at this hotel is at an unacceptable level, so much so that we had to plug our ears with cotton wool to try and get some sleep. Despite having emailed a week earlier to request a top floor room & the hotel confirming this had been allocated, this was not granted on our arrival due to 'maintenance issues'...We were then 'upgraded' to the noisiest room in the hotel (107 nice room with 2 TV's but sleep being our priority, this was no compensation!) The hotel was apparently full & we were refused another room.
Management were elusive with regard to our complaint and request for a reduction in the price as our one nights stay was spoilt due to lack of sleep. The (pleasant) reception staff were powerless to deal with the problem, so we paid what we thought was more than a fair price and requested that the manager phone us to discuss - we still await his call.
On a lesser note - the pillows were uncomfortably hard & stained and the 'turn down gift' never materialised. Room Service sandwich served with dried up bread. We were told that the complimentary glass of champagne would be served between 7-8pm, no good to us as we had a concert to go to (apparently we could have had it earlier but no one told us until check out). Bathroom sink cracked and an overall 'tired' feeling to the whole building all sadly lacking in attention to detail.
This hotel also claims to be in a quiet side street - be warned, it is on the corner of the very busy Cromwell Road with (in our experience) constant 24/7 traffic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rustybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel with 38 rooms. It was quite and just the right size. Steven, the gentleman assisting guests was wonderful!!! He was very friendly and helped us to find our way.
The room was clean and very presentable. We would stay again any time. Breakfast game included with our package and was decent. Area was near. The train metro area. Within three minutes.

Room Tip: Stay here! This is a very nice small hotel with a great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibitybobityboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel for a short stay in London especially if driving in from the west or Heathrow. Excellent service, spacious and comfortable room with free wifi, good continental breakfast. Easy to walk to the Museums and Harrods, and a short hop to the West End theatres. Take a bike - there's a rack a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and they cost £2 for an hour. Leave your bike at any rack in the City. We cycled to Portobello Road through Kensington Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very good service, excellent location with a supermarket less than 100 meters. Good restaurants and pubs around the hotel. Clean room, excellent bed and always good maid service. Chin care and exceptionally good concierge service. By email, before arriving at the hotel I had already scheduled tours and during the stay I received every attention and got reservations at restaurants with great efficiency. The breakfast is a small Salon but becomes a good time to be a very peaceful and pleasant environment. No complaints, only praise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for one night for the Olympic opening ceremony.
On check-in we found the staff to be courteous,helpful and extremely welcoming.Our room (104) first floor was light,spacious(for inner London)and clean.With a fridge,tea/coffee making facilities, ample wardrobe space and gowns and slippers. It also has aircon although the windows/doors open out onto a Juliette balcony.As other reviewers have said it was close to Gloucester Street tube, so served our requirements perfectly.There are many eateries/restaurants close by and 2 pubs 5 minutes walk away,with Waitrose supermarket within spitting distance and a Tesco express around the corner.
I have to be honest here and say that we used the Hotel for a nights sleep predominantly so cannot give a review based on a long stay.
We arrived back from the ceremony @ 2am after eating our snacks that we left in the fridge and calming down from the excitement of the evening we retired at about 3am.Waking up @ 10am we realised what a good nights sleep we had and how comfy the bed was.After a quick (tremendous) shower we went for breakfast that is served in the basement,with our room rate came a complimentary buffet breakfast,but we paid extra for a full English.The food was very nice with everything hot and well cooked.The coffee was "proper" filter coffee and the tea a known make of breakfast variety,the cold buffet(Continental) had an ample selection and was quite varied.The orange juice was fresh squeezed and not concentrate and once again the staff were very friendly.
This hotel is very good and booking on Booking.com represented very good value for money.
Other positives with this hotel are ;- A lift to all floors,ground floor rooms for Disabled,a bar open 24hours and museums/Hyde park within walking distance.On leaving we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel (in a locked room) until we were ready to depart London.

Room Tip: We stayed in 104.This looked down the road although with double glazing we had no traffic noise.If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a very good time in a very comfortable room at Ashburn Hotel. This independent hotel lives up to our expectations of a proper British hotel with polite and helpful staff. Location is only a couple block away from the underground tube station. Took the Picadilly route directly from the St Pancreas train station after a trip from Paris. The Hotel is also close to Kennsington Palace and lots of good restaurants and pubs off Glossier Road. Also good to have a Laundry mat and grocery store down on Cromwell Road. But back to the Hotel, good amenities with breakfast included every morning. Like that we could buy tour tickets from concierge and they even offered to hold out luggage after check out until we were ready to pick them up later.
Room was clean and very roomy for this price range. Very affordable for a neighborhood that includes a Crowne Plaza hotel and Marriott and Hilton mid rise hotels. Would recommend and look forward to next visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#143 of 1,069 in London
631 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,698 reviews
South Kensington
The Rembrandt
The Rembrandt
#221 of 1,069 in London
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Property: Ashburn Hotel
Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing