We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed-Bugs and Big Queues for Breakfast!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Ranked #598 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Guernsey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bed-Bugs and Big Queues for Breakfast!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

I have never stayed at the Sidney Hotel before and I won't be going back. Our room was in the basement and smelled of damp and was dark and dingy, with peeling paint on the wall by the window. Also the bus stop was directly outside our window, so every night we were kept awake until very late by people talking at the bus-stop right outside our window, which didn't close properly either, making the noise even worse.

The worst bit however was waking up in the morning and realising that all three of us were covered in tiny red bites. Yuck!!! Absolutely disgusting.

Finally, breakfast is chaos. People from the downstairs and upstairs rooms converge grumpily in the tiny corridor outside the dining room, with everyone pushing and shoving and vying to stop others pushing in front. Eventually a grumpy waitress demands to know what room you are in and takes you into the minute breakfast room and then you sit there for 20 minutes before somebody bothers to bring you a cup of ghastly undrinkable dishwater (I think they called it tea).

My advice: Spend a few more quid and stay elsewhere (that's what I'll be doing in future).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget_Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    465
    351
    129
    107
See reviews for
294
430
98
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Location was why I chose the hotel...10 minute walk from Victoria Station and Victoria Apollo where I went to see the musical "Wicked".
Arrived at about 12:30pm...we were allowed to leave our cases in our rooms despite them not being ready. Lady on reception was not overly pleasant, but efficient enough to do her job.
If you don't have a credit card (I only have a debit card) then be prepared to pay a returnable deposit of £25 on check-in.
Rooms we got were 211 and 215. Very well decorated rooms...looks like they have been refurbished quite recently!!! They were tiny...BUT when you book a basic hotel like this you shouldn't intend to spend much time in your room...otherwise book The Ritz!!!
We were wondering why they had a fan on the ceiling....then we discovered at night-time...the room was sweltering....like being in the Costa Del Sol or Algarve!!! THey really do need aircon!!!
Noise -wise...our room was facing the front of the hotel...from 7am onwards there seemed to be quite a lot of traffic noise...even though there wasn't that much traffic!!! Maybe it was because we had to keep the window open because of the heat!!!
Breakfast wasn't that stressful an experience...no queues...although we did stay midweek!!! You are warned to expect delays from 8:30am onwards...and are told to take necessary steps...why do they only do breakfast up to 9am??? Surely stretching it to 10am isn't that costly!!!
My only gripe with the breakfast was waiting for toast...they cook it fresh, but they only seem to toast 8 slices in the kitchen at a time...no sooner are they put out in the basket they are gone!!!
I would return here for the location and cleanliness!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4As
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Rooms are VERY small - we asked to be moved because there was no floor space to stand our suitcases, let alone open them! Breakfast basic and big queues (one-in/one-out system so get there early). The lift doors were dangerous - could crush someone so take the stairs as it's safer. Staff were okay.

Worth £129? Not a chance - try the Dolphin Apartments a little further down the road where my parents were staying - MUCH BETTER VALUE!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahgoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
ipswich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Family of 4 staying for 1 night.This hotel done everything we wanted it to do,it was close to the underground(plimico 5 min walk,Victoria 10 mins),close to all the attractions,a nice walk to Westminster,about 30-45 mins,or you could jump on the number 24 bus which stopped right outside the hotel which would take you there.The hotel itself was clean,the rooms were not huge but what do you want,it was clean the kids had their own bed not a sofa bed like alot of places and the bathroom was tiny but had a good shower and was clean,so i was happy.Like someone else said the breakfast is very busy so be prepared to queue,especially if you want toast.The breakfast is ok.For what we paid through Booking.com i was happy enough,considering what some of the other hotels in London were charging.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluen0se69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Location is very good, close to Victoria station. We were 9 persons on a 3 days trip to London, and the hotel was quite close to the main attractions. However the hotel itself was a bit disapointing. The rooms were very very small and storing luggage was a problem. Bed were really hard and small, and only one blanket in the "double" bed. Breakfast was advertised as "Full english breakfast"...wich was exaggerated, and there was 15 minutes queue every morning outside the breakfast room, so we couldn´t eat breakfast together, but at different tables.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rask46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

My Husband booked this hotel in a package for a theatre trip for us. We looked at their website and thought it looked nice.

We looked at some of the reviews on this site and were a little worried as some people had said rooms very very small, uncomfortable bed etc.

However, on arrival to the hotel, the lobby area is really nice, marble effect floor, very clean.

Our room was not massive and was fairly small, but it was modern and had lots of storage for clothes (if needed) and had a modern bathroom, with shower cubicle. The main thing for me was that it was very clean and the bedlinen was lovely and white.

The breakfast in the morning was a choice of cereals, and cooked full english, which was included in the price. There was also fresh juice and tea and coffee available. It was good.

All in all I would stay here again, it was in a good location and only a 10 min walk to and from Victoria Station. I think that it is more of a hotel for short stays as, the rooms are quite small, we only stayed one night, not sure if I would have wanted to have stayed for a week (but only due to size of room).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busymumof2-lib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Extremely high priced for what I got which was basically a very small room with a single bed and a shower smaller than a man is wide. I had to walk sideways between the bed and the dresser just to get to the 'closet' which really wasn't even that. The front of house staff were unhelpful and somewhat arrogant.
Location and nearby restaurants as well as Victoria Station made this hotel stay somewhat palatable but I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepage250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#614 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#374 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#533 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#606 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#520 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#259 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Hotel London-Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Property: Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Address: Victoria | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Hotel London-Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sidney Hotel London-Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing