We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hub for seeing London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sidney Hotel London-Victoria to your Saves list
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England (Pimlico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #616 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hub for seeing London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Usually when my wife and I visit a Metropolis, we just need a place to rest our heads when the night comes. Yes the rooms are small and the best way to describe the bathroom is tiny. However, it fit our needs perfectly. Pimlico Station on the Victoria line is no more than 10 mins walk away and Victoria Rail/ Coach Station is 15 mins in the opposite direction. There is also a bus stop directly in front of the hotel (More on that later). All these factors combined with free wifi (for online reservation guests) and free breakfast (Rudimentary at best: Pastries, Bread, Cereal, Juice and Coffee) made it a perfect stay for us. We were out the door by 08:30 and didn't see the place till 22:30 again. There is no Air Conditioning in the rooms, just a ceiling fan but the nights were comfortable enough. I mentioned the bus stop earlier: We stayed in Room 215 which is overlooking Belgrave Road, on a couple of occasions there was a rowdy group waiting at bus stop and you could hear them at night.
All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ko Lanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I has been travelling on a European tour and stay a few nights at another hotel in Islington which we adore but we have one night accommodation where after our Paris trip to London and we stayed at this hotel (Sidney Hotel Victoria London).

The rooms are terrible and we had a shock. Rooms are so small without air conditioning and very everything is really past their prime. We thank our lucky stars that we are only booked for that single night.

Now for the service from the front desk. That is the most horrid experience for our holidays. Paid for a days internet as we need to catch up with some work and send some emails. was not able to send any emails and we went down to the reception to ask for assistance. We have been able to send all our emails for the last 2 weeks in all the hotels in the different countries including some in London just last week. The person in reception is a man called Mr Pri and not only was he unhelpful, but extremely rude and we nearly left the hotel right away. If not for the fact that we have an early flight the next morning and have our airport transfer booked, we would have left immediately without a care that we have paid.

London is a great city and we have fallen I love with her. We are truly and disappointed with Sidney Hotel but we try not to be too unhappy and will visit London again with smiling faces but we will be avoiding this hotel for sure.

We are sure that we can walk into any other hotel in London and receive much better service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricklye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in July for three nights. Due to an "incident", we actually stayed in three rooms - all of which were comfortable and adequate for our theatre and sightseeing stay in London. The staff on reception and the bar were polite and helpful, and we were well looked after. We go to London regularly and would definitely stay at the Sidney again as it has everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaSCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start...
-Advertised check in time of 11.30 is incorrect
-The best way to describe the bathroom is an aeroplane toilet with a shower cubicle attached
-Rooms are extremely small (the photos are very misleading)
-Rooms are dark and dingy with old,worn furniture
-Male receptionist is very rude and unhelpful
-Distance from Victoria is advertised as 5 minutes,it is actually nearer 25 minutes

The best advice I can give is not to stay here! This hotel is advertised as a 4 star,I struggled to give it above one! Definitely not worth the high price for such terrible accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissAP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ok staff friendly room basic but clean stayed in room 108 could hear noise from the kitchen early morning which woke us all, breakfast very basic, nice Italian across the road very good food good value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you like tiny rooms and toilet facilities similar to an aeroplne this is the place to stay!

If not give this this hotel a wide berth it is advertised as a 4* which i find amazing, the rooms are tiny the distance from the station is incorrect, it is further than advertised and the advertised check in time is incorrect, there were no rooms available at the advertised 11:30 check in time.

Dissapointing!!

Room Tip: If you must stay here keep clear of the basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at the Sidney Hotel this August, on a Saturday night. Not surprisingly, given its location, there was a fair amount of street noise, but most could be shut out by the double glazed windows. This meant, however, that the room was likely to get hot in the absence of air-con, so I was very pleased to find a fan already provided. I would normally have expected to ask for one, so this was a nice touch. The breakfast (continental style) was very good. The bedroom / en-suite / public areas of the hotel were all very clean. It was perhaps a little pricey for the facilities, and the lift was so slow I thought I was going to get stuck in it, so those were a couple of downsides. Check-in experience was good, but the receptionist on duty during the evening and on check-out was a bit aloof, so this was a shame. But I would, on balance, stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#646 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Victor Hotel
Victor Hotel
#659 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#372 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#596 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Hotel London-Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Hotel London-Victoria

Address: Victoria | Victoria, Westminster, London SW1V 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Hotel London-Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Sidney Hotel London-Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing